We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (952)
Filter reviews
952 results
Traveller rating
360
351
147
55
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
351
147
55
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pirate bay straight couples gay friendly hotel lgbt friendly pool bar pool view steam room centrum supermarket piscadera bay hotel restaurant tropical garden highly recommend renting a car full kitchen bring bug spray small kitchen rented a car living room
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 952 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

I stayed at Floris Suites for a five night stay in Curaçao. Overall, I had a very lovely experience at this hotel. The setting is wonderfully private and feels almost liked you are tucked away in a jungle treehouse. The common areas and pool are well kept which I imagine is a challenge in a humid environment full of foliage. The best part by far was the lovely staff. The airline lost my luggage upon arrival, and the staff at Floris Suites made all sorts of calls to ensure my suitcase was delivered to the hotel as soon as it made it to the island. I didn't eat at the restaurant, but everything looked tasty (although expensive). I did utilize the fitness center. It is small but adequately supplied for a quick workout. The hotel location is nice as well. Piscadera Bay is just outside of the chaos and hustle of Willemstad but is a quick taxi or shuttle ride to get there. I used the 9 am shuttle to get into the city. I do believe the hotel would benefit from one more additional shuttle time since the return trip is not until 4 pm which is a long day in the Curaçao heat. The only thing I would have changed about my stay is that I would have upgraded to a room on a higher floor. Mine was on the ground level so it felt a little damp and dark. Also, the prices are the 'Convenience Store' were completely absurd. A travel sized shampoo was being sold for $9 (and I'm not exaggerating). Overall, Floris Suites is a perfect spot for a low key, quiet environment to recharge.

Room Tip: Select a room that is on a higher floor
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sjk52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlous M, Public Relations Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear sjk52,

Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear you had a very lovely experience in our hotel. We are happy that your suitcase was delivered back to the hotel. Our staff is always doing their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible and to help you the best way they can.

Our fitness center has indeed everything you need for a quick workout. All groceries are more expensive on the island because everything needs to be imported. You can always go to a bigger convenience store for your groceries. Since they have a bigger assortment and customers it is most likely cheaper than the smaller stores.

We hope to see you in return!

Kind regards,

Marlous Molendijk
Hotel Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Floris Suite Hotel is simply beautiful. The main building, incorporating the reception, upper bar and lower restaurant is stunning. Set in a tropical jungle, it is very well maintained and the gardens are lush and glorious. Be aware that consequently, mosquitoes abound, but whatelse do you expect. Take or buy some spray for the room and some jungle formula for yourself and you should keep the worst of them at bay. The room (we had a royal suite) was by far the biggest hotel suite I have ever seen. In an entrance vestibule were four wardrobes, one of which housed the safe. Its a pity that four wardrobes only contained 7 coathangers between them! There was however an iron, although we didn't need to use it.
Passing through the vestibule you enter the bedroom. Large and cool thanks to the first of two airco units. Although simply furnished, it had an enormous bed, large tv with multiple english speaking channels and sufficient sockets to charge the inevitable plethora of electrical necessities that all need charging. Do take the appropriate adaptors if your travelling from Europe. On the plus side, the maid service was great. They seemed to change the beddng almost daily and kept the place clean and tidy.
The toilet was smallish, but provided everything you need, including an endless supply of hot water, fresh towels daily and free toiletries - oh, and a hairdryer.
Glazed doors separate the bedroom from the kitchenette, dining area and livingroom. This combined area was enormous and contained the second airco unit and another tv.
The fridge freezer was huge and very effective, but the cooker rings never heated up sufficiently to do anything. I tried to boil water in a pot (there isn't a kettle) and gave up after two and a half hours? Seriously, 150 minutes and I could have washed my hands in the water without scalding myself. Fear not, just boil a cup of water in the microwave. The kitchenette also has a dishwasher! A nice touch I hear you cry. Yes we thought. You can imagine our surprise and dismay as to why it should have one when we only had one plate and one bowl. Dispite requesting more crockery on day 2, it never materialised, not that we were downhearted since the cooker precluded cooking anyway.
Yes we had unwelcome visitors, in the form of a few cockroaches, but what do you expect in a tropical climate. They don't take well to the sole of a flip flop hitting them at great speed. Word must have spread, 'cos we weren't bothered again after that.
At the back of the livingroom is a patio with table and chairs. Ours was a garden view and some very impressive plants to be seen, most of which harboured a variety of beautful wild birds and the occasional wild/hotel cat.
Each evening, between 5 and 6, its happy hour where you can enjoy nibbles and two free drinks.
Although the pool is in need of refurbishment, it is very well laid out and kept remarkably clear of fallen foliage - quite impressive given it surrounded by a tropical jungle.
The restaurant is open air and very clean. The food is very good, but the menu somewhat limited. Fine if you are there for a long weekend or a short week, but repetitive if you are staying for two weeks.
Our biggest gripe was the staff - and I'm being quite general here. The guys who worked the pool bar, one of the receptionists and a lovely waitress in the restaurant were keen, enthusiastic and helpful. They smiled. They demonstrated a "service" mindset. They were in the minority. The rest of the staff exuded an air of "couldn't be bothered". Frequently they would take an enquiry or drinks order and then just walk away to do something else, with no acknowledgement that your needs were even being considered let alone acted upon. I do find it quite rude when they turn their attention to somethign else whilst dealing with you, don't smile and generally give the impression that they would rather be somewhere else, doing anything other than dealing with customers. However, this was not unique to Floris Suite Hotel. It was commonplace across the island, like the majority of workers in shops, bars and other forward facing service industries hadn't yet grasped the concept of providing a service ( at least a good one). Most of the staff wore t-shirt with the words "Let me spoil you" emblazoned across the chest. We reckoned it should have read "Let me spoil your day". Sad but true.
Would I recommend the hotel? - yes. Aside from the staff shortcomings, it is a stunning hotel and great value for money. Would I go back? - no. It's back to Aruba for us where the "one happy island" slogan pervades everyday culture and the service is second to none.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlous M, Public Relations Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Gordon,

Thank you for your extensive review. We are very glad to hear about your nice stay in our beautifull large suites. We are happy you enjoyed the housekeeping and the two airco’s. The garden has indeed impressive plants and a lot of beautiful wild birds so you can relax in a tropical area. It is nice to hear you enjoyed the two free drinks at the happy hour every day.

We're sorry that there was an unpleasant experience with the staff. We are doing our best to please all our guests.

We hope to see you soon at Floris Suite Hotel.

Kind regards,

Marlous Molendijk
Hotel Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I will start off by letting you all know that we rented a car while in Curacao so we were rarely at the hotel from the moment we arrived. I can't review every detail (especially restaurant and bar) as we did not eat or drink here. We left out early, got back to shower and get dressed, then went out every night except the last night when the car was picked up.

Pros
1. Very friendly staff! All of them really attentive and helpful. The male who does the transfers in the golf cart was also quite helpful and friendly and great to have conversations with (bon bon, dushi dushi haha). It was pretty late on our last night and his shift was over but he still walked us to Hilton and helped us find a restaurant there to eat. Also staff helped us find excursions/events etc.

2. Clean, beautiful grounds, surrounded by tons of nature (many trees)

3. Spa! Very clean and relaxing. Please note, the spa is males only after 6pm for whatever reason. Pool, not amazing but clean and still a pretty pool area to sit and relax.

Cons
1. Wifi, although wifi is free throughout hotel (including rooms) it was very slow and unreliable in our room until it just stopped working for the entire last 5 days we were there. We were only able to enjoy wifi in our room for 2 days. If we did not have a car, I would complain a lot more. They just kept telling us it's being worked on. I feel they could have provided something for the inconvenience, it is annoying having to walk to the lobby just to plan our days (included our routes and excursion addresses). They lost stars for this and how they dealt with it.

2. Entertainment. Besides their daily happy hour at 5pm, there was no entertainment provided, very boring. They offer 2 complimentary drinks at happy hour but we were never at the hotel at that time so we missed it. I thought they could have still offered us our free drinks due to our wifi not working, that would have been a nice gesture. Our last night when the car was returned we couldn't find anything at the hotel to do, just sitting around in the lobby getting eaten by mosquitos lol.

3. The room, well just the smell. They smell was horrible. We bought air fresheners at the grocery store, but it didn't help much. It may have to do with the plumbing because the smell from the bathroom was worst.

I just want to touch on someone saying their car was broken into in their review, just a note, almost everywhere we went in Curacao warned us about locking our car or not leaving valuables inside. I think they have a serious problem with theft (although we didn't have that experience) but be careful. The hotel also has signs saying "park at your own risk" and staff warned us to be careful. I mean, at that point, it's your responsibility.

Room Tip: I say choose the higher floors
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank OriginalMissTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlous M, Public Relations Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Original Miss Tee,

Thank you for your extensive review. It is nice to hear your enjoyed our spa and our beautiful grounds. Our staff is always there to help you as best they can.
We are very sorry the Wi-Fi didn’t work in the last days. We had indeed some technical difficulties that took a while to resolve. If we knew you didn’t go to the happy hour and we could make you happy with a drink outside this timeframe we would be more than happy to provide you with your favourite drink. You owe this one from us next time!

We have the Rainbow lounge at Fridays and there is a Happy Hour every day! It is very unfortunate that we didn’t hear about the smell in the bathroom. When there is a problem with your room you can always inform the reception. They shall ensure that the problem will be solved. Unfortunately, we can’t do anything about it after your stay.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Marlous Molendijk
Hotel Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The staff are great - they truly try to make your stay better. We stayed in a 1 bedroom with a pool view - very worth the upgrade. We did cook in several meals - note everything is expensive here. The are 2 beach clubs a short 5 minutes walk away - but they will also drop and pick you up with a golf cart. We used the golf cart the first day to get our bearings. Highly recommended renting a car - since there isn't much within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlous M, Public Relations Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Marlene,

Thanks for sharing your experiences with us. We are very happy to hear our staff made you feel very welcome. Island prices are indeed more expensive than you are used to, because everything has to be imported. I recommend everybody to rent a car if you want to explore the island. Curacao has amazing spots and by car you can visit these treasures much easier.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Marlous Molendijk
Hotel Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Our rent-a-car was broken into on the hotel grounds. Knowing that there are thefts in the country, we actually did not leave anything in the car. We never thought that a car at the hotel is at risk for thefts. This is more surprising because the hotel is surrounded by a barbed-wire covered fence and the only way in and out is a security gate, manned 24-hours. More surprising, the break-in occurred on the only day that we left the car alone for an all-day excursion that the hotel set up and it occurred right next to a building that staff go in and out of all day. Worst, at least 1 other car was also broken into (see picture). We learned of the break-in when we headed out for dinner. Starving and frustrated, we alerted the hotel. The man at the desk did not offer consolation, did not ask us if we lost anything or if we needed anything, and did not offer to provide us with food. He just kept saying we had to go to the police station to fill out a report. He did not offer us a way to the police station, nor directions. As it turned out, the police station had already closed.

Long story short, after three hours on the phone that night (Friday) with Alamo and American Express and dealing with Infosys (the adjuster) and the tow company, we were starving and still received no support from the hotel. The next day (Saturday), we spent three hours at the police station to get the police report that we needed for the insurance claim. We could not get a rent-a-car for the rest of the trip because we could not trust that it would be safe. Also, if it was broken into on our last night, we would have to delay our flight home to get the police report.

The hotel never offered any support and never asked us if we were ok. Instead, when we checked out, they tried to charge us $8 for the phone calls to Alamo.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you like to feel safe.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank LOVETRAVELLING999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Lovetraveling999,

We are very sorry this unfortunate event happened to you while visiting. Sorry that you feel that the hotel did not do enough to support you during this ordeal. Our hotel and grounds are very safe. However crimes like this cannot be prevented for 100% The hotel indeed has 24 hours security at the entry gate and we make our rounds. Parking however remains at own risk as indicated. We fully understand that no one wants to experience a situation like this during a vacation and we are truly sorry that we did not do more to comfort and assist you more with the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews