We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
165
94
35
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
94
35
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance glass windows restaurant ginger split level apartment nice studio bars and restaurants small pool dipping pool soap and shampoo safe area emma bridge never felt unsafe kura hulanda museum stayed days nice beaches night life fantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018

My husband and I recently spend 6 nights in a two-bedroom ocean front apartment at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel. Check-in was easy and quick. The unit was incredible. Modern high quality furnishings and finishes and the most amazing view of the water. We spent many mornings having coffee on our well appointment balcony and several evenings watching the sunset. We have rented apartments and villas all over the Caribbean so it's hard to be impressed sometimes, but this apartment made us go "wow." There are air conditioners in the bedrooms but not the main space. The unique aspect of this apartment are the huge doors that open on opposite sides of the unit, allowing an amazing breeze that quickly cools the space. Unfortunately given the size of these doors, there are no screens so the only minor issue is that if you have the lights on in the evening, you are likely to get some mosquitos. We tended to keep the lights off after dark and bedroom doors closed so no mosquitos ever got in there. Other details that were very helpful were daily maid service, fresh beach towels each day, and secure gated parking. Overall, we couldn't have been happier with our stay! On a final note, most of the top ten restaurants in Curacao are within walking distance. Our favourite was Kome for tapas night!

Room Tip: Ocean view!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabrrregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M, General Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear guest, How wonderful to see that you have enjoyed your experience in our hotel. We are very proud to run a hotel in this beautiful neighbourhood. If you decide to visit the hotel again, feel free to contact us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

I needed a stay for only one night and I found this place. It was amazing. Service from reception staff was great. I was able to check in late as they left me the key and instructions on how to find appartment. Appartment was same like in the picture. Clean, nice and cozy. All what you need was there. It was a bit noisy by the cleaning staff in the morning but not much. Location is perfect to rnjoy night life. Love it. Real way to experience Curacao.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Rada77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M, General Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Hi Rada, Thank you for this beautiful review! Feel free to visit us again some time. We are very happy to host you again. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

We stayed in the loft being offered by this hotel. It is located in a parallel street in the first floor right between 2 bars/restaurants. Our loft consisted of one big living/dining/kitchen/bath room and the bedroom located underneath the gable. Both floors are accessible over steep stairs, the one to the bedroom quite challenging to navigate if you are not the youngest.
Only the bedroom has aircondition (very noisy). The other room has a fan. As the loft has no glass panes in the windows only wooden shutters (this is typical for Curaçao houses) the aircondition is pretty useless. What‘s more is that all street noises are part of your nightly sleeping attempts.
The pool as shown on the hotel‘s web side must have been taken with a super wide angle. Nevertheless, a dip is quite refreshing.
Other than that the place was clean, well maintained and excellently located for walks to downtown Willemstad.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ecumsecum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M, Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. All our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, that's the reason why we advertise it that way. The reason we have shutters instead of windows is due to the fact that almost all our apartments are proudly located in the historic quarter of Willemstad which is part of the UNESCO world monument fund, this makes it extremely hard to get permits and change anything about the in- and exterior. The pool is exactly how is shown on the pictures. We do have two pools, perhaps you did not went to the other pool. We still hope that you enjoyed your time her, and we would really like to host you again, perhaps in an apartment more suitable. Kind regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

I was supposed to stay here in early February for a work trip. I booked through hotels.com and prepaid. The night before my arrival, the hotel manager emailed instructions to access the room which involved opening a lockbox in an alleyway. From the hotel website, I did not realize that is was not in fact a proper hotel.

Anyways, I had a medical emergency and had to go to the emergency room just before I was supposed to leave for Curacao. I obviously never made my flight and therefore never stayed in the hotel. I emailed and called the hotel explaining what happened. I offered to send my medical records (I was in the hospital for 1 week). They said they have a zero tolerance policy and would not refund me or offer anything. I understand, but when I do go to Curacao, I will DEFINITELY not be staying here.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank MuMo_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M, Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear "MuMo_travelers, it is a pity that you wrote a negative review even though you never stayed in our hotel and experienced our services. We would still like to thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding our cancelation policy. We understand that the situation was very unfortunately for you, however we do have a strict cancelation policy of cancelation up to two weeks. If you have to cancel due to the reasons you are mentioning in your review, you can contact your travel insurance, who are possible able to cover the cost. We would like to wish you a pleasant day, and perhaps we can welcome you in our hotel in the future. Kind regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed in apartment 30.4 right on the water. The space was stylish and comfortable. Great value for money. Highly recommended.

The service was prompt and efficient and the hotel is in easy walking distance from many restaurants and shops

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Krista Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M, Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Krista, thank you very much for this kind review. We are very glad to read that you had such a pleasant time in our lovely ocean front apartment. If you ever plan on visiting Curacao again we would be more than happy to host you again. Kind regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews