We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (979)
Filter reviews
979 results
Traveller rating
500
343
85
35
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
343
85
35
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lions dive ocean encounters sea aquarium dive shop chill grill ocean front free shuttle fish great beach grocery store dive operator skewers two bedroom apartment on premises beach chairs rented a car within easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 979 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Lions dive resort has a fantastic location along Mambo Beach and is near shops, restaurants, and nightlife.
It also has a nice wave-sheltered beach; but that is where the positives end. We had a beachfront suite, which had a wonderful view but a fatal problem as well. The tile in the suites always becomes covered in water (condensation). The hotel offered nothing helpful to resolve this issue. Furthermore there are only 220v outlets in the rooms and no washcloths available. To add insult to injury their staff was not helpful with resolving any of these issues. The icing is the reprehensible treatment of guests by the night-shift security staff; who threatened bodily harm via their german-shepherd dog to guests who had lost their room key card. Would not recommend this hotel for Americans.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TripMember03242017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoL8, Management at LionsDive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear TripMember03242017

We thank you for you stay at LionsDive Beach Resort Curacao and for your feedback.
First of all we are glad that you liked our beach and location.
At second we would like to apologize for the disappointment in you recent stay with us.
Guests feedback are extremely important to us. Please be assured that we have passed over your feedback to the Management team.
We hope that you will give us another chance in the future to right the wrongs.

Sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

I didn't realize that being close to Mambo Beach meant that the bars had the freedom to blast their music at night into separate establishments, in this case our hotel... Lions Dive Beach Resort. We didn't come this far to party into the night but have no choice but to listen to their bass all evening which means that we can't enjoy the room that we're paying for. I specifically asked for a quiet room when I booked it but that's not what I got. I think we're in "off season" but the bar's interests seem to outweigh those of us in a nearby hotel.

Room Tip: Beware before you book!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoL8, Manager at LionsDive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Brad S,

We appreciate you took the time to write this review.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the noise disturbance you experienced during your stay.
Please be assured that your feedback will be used to help improve our guest satisfaction.
We fully understand your feedback and hope you had a great stay in Curacao nevertheless.

Sunny Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Let's start by saying that we are used to having more than general luxure in hotels so when entering the room we felt quite disappointed. Basic furniture and old looking, bathroom had no airco and the half open window which could not be closed was a bummer. Afterwards we acknowledged that this is standard in all rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpfull, food was perfect and the beaches were fenomenal! So overall great hotel to book!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank slouke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoL8, Manager at LionsDive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Slouke,

Thank you for sharing your LionsDive experience with us and for your stay.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our fenomenal beaches, the restaurants and that you experienced our staff as friendly and helpful.
At the same time we are sorry that our hotel rooms did not meet your expectations ,we take our guests observation serious and have shared it with the Management team.
We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sunny Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a oceanfront cabana.

Original building rooms are small and dated. Shared terrace is ok unless you have chain smoking neighbors - which we did.

Bathrooms are tiny and limited. Shower heads don't adjust. Water spills out onto the floor from the shower stall. There is no ventilation so its constantly wet and uncomfortable.

Breakfast at Hemmingways isn't good. Limited selection for the price. Fruit is not in good shape and the meat is soggy and luke warm. You'll get more for your money at the starbucks on mondo beach.

The beach is very nice. There are plenty of chairs but doesn't feel crowded. Lap pool is also a great place to go.

Fairly remote location. You will need a car to get places, but that's easily taken care of with rentals on site.

So overall it was OK, but not the definately not the high end resort its advertised to be.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank jeffb_msn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info L, Manager at LionsDive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear Jeff b,

Thank you for sharing your LionsDive experience with us and for your stay.
We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations .
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.
We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sunny regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

When compared to other resorts I've stayed at, I think the LionsDive is a solid 3½ considering price and amenities. I had a ground-level apartment facing the pool, and the room was a good size for three of us. The beds were comfy and the A/C worked well. Our only complaint in the room would be the noise from outside, though this wasn't an issue in the bedrooms if the bathroom door was closed. There were a lot of children playing in the pool during the day, but we understood that this is a family friendly resort. There is a gated parking lot reserved for the apartment guests.

This resort covers a large area on a beautiful strip of Mambo beach, and caters mostly to Dutch tourists. We found no language barrier whatsoever, though due to it's size it was sometimes confusing to get around. The staff at Hemingway and Chill were great at lunch time, but we didn't try the other restaurants on the property.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the beach if you can
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al_d555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info L, Manager at LionsDive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear Al_d55,

Thank you for sharing your LionsDive experience with us and for your stay.
We are sorry to read that our resort did not meet all your expectations .
Your kind words in regards to our restaurant staff will be shared with the team and also your complaint of the noise outside.
We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews