We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We did not think Lions Dive & Beach Resort would be our kind of place. Thought it would be too big and touristy, but we were wrong. We loved it. It is big and it is close to all the touristy places, but it does not feel like it.
The staff was great, from the front desk, wait staff, girls on the beach and the security people. We ate at Hemmingways, Chill and Grill and Piazza. the food was good every time. There are many places at Mambo Beach to eat so you will not get bored, but Lions dive has good food. The breakfast buffet is the same everyday, but I eat the same thing everyday at home. It is nice to eat at 7 and be on the beach the rest of the day!
The beds are very comfortable, but the pillows are hard. Rooms are kept very clean and towels changed when you want. Beach towels are available at the front desk. Just return them and get new ones, very easy.
We have already booked our next stay for March! I look at the webcam everyday, just waiting!
Thanks to all the staff for such a great time!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank hornman1usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionsDive, Management at Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Hornman1usa

Thank you for taking the time to share your Lions Dive experience with us.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed multiple aspects of your stay the location, our restaurants and comfy beds to the great hotel team which exceeded your expectations.
We have also noted your feedback regarding the pillows and please be assured that your feedback is well received.
We are pleased to read that you already booked your next stay at Lions Dive , we thank you and looking forward to provide you with the same good service.

Sunny Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 875 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

We had a very good week-long stay at Lion's Dive, primarily selected as a great place to stay while scuba diving each day. We went out around the island for shore dives two different days, but did four days on the Boat going right out of the Lion's Dive scuba location, Ocean Encounters. I'll write them up separately, but we definitely recommend the shop.

Regarding restaurants, we ate at Hemmingway's for several breakfasts and dinners, which were all good. I did not like that the only option for breakfast was a $20 buffet, as my wife and her friend typically only eat a piece of toast with a bannana. Cost for them? $20 each... pretty much a rip off if you are eating light. But, omelettes and dinner burgers with great.

We also ate at Piazza three time, loving the caesar salads, bolognese entree, and pizza.

Rooms: we did NOT think the beds were comfortable, that's a personal thing. We also didn't like that we could hear music pounding 'till past 1am on the first night, which I guess was the night before their independence day... on October 10th.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diveman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionsDive, Management at Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017


Dear Diveman9

Thank you for taking the time to share your Lions Dive experience on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your kind words regarding our dive shop , and that you enjoyed your diving experience with us.
Please accept our apologies that you encountered some noise disturbance the first night.
We value our guests comments and we ensure you that we pass over your comments regarding our breakfast to our F&B department.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sunny Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

I cannot tell anything bad about the hotel itself !!! all Good
HOWEVER 2 things are visible and disturbing just from a visual and auditive point of view. The really UGLY crane (in front of beach) from the Substation next to the Sea Royal Resort is really a shame in this wounderfull panorama, plus the sound it makes when pulling the submarine out of the water is not nice.
But the most annoying thing is the karakoa session on the beach on Fridays with a really poor sound system and subsequently poor sound, not mentionning the horrible voice of some amateurs karaoke singers...To me it is a real NO GO in that premium environment !!!
PLEASE stop this (talk to your hotel neighboor) in order to leave this to spring break places line cancun or ballerman in Mallorca !!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stephane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionsDive, Management at Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Dear Stephane M

Thank you for your review and for staying at Lions Dive & Beach Resort.
We have noted your observations and will report it to Royal Resort .
We really appreciate your concern and advise.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sunny Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel has beautiful cove and beach. Lots of private shaded areas on the beach as well as a bar on the beach. The snorkeling in the cove is incredible. There are fish everywhere you look. It is a man made cove that keeps the water calm and beautiful. It is next to the aquarium which is a awesome. You can swim with the dolphins as well as watch dolphin shows and it is directly next to hotel. About a 300 foot walk. The hotel rooms are not big and they do not provide soap, shampoo, conditioner etc. The room is basically empty when you walk in. I was pissed at first as there was nothing to bathe with. But there is a drug store 200 yards away. Just beware that when you get in the room there is nothing for you but two little towels. But other than that the beach area is second to none. I've been to Turks and Caicos, Dominican, Nassau, Aruba, Cancun and the beach area here and the proximity of your room make this one of the best. It's not a five star hotel so if you are used to all the amenities from a big hotel this is not the place for you. I was one of those people but all of the other things made up for the lack of soap and shampoo. There are two pools that are beautiful but the ocean is like a pool so really no need to use the pool unless you hate salt water. The restaurants at the hotel are ok but there are many other places within walking distance. The cabs are a total ripoff on the island. They have a union and charge exorbitant amounts to go anywhere. A five minute cab ride is $20-30 dollars. In Aruba the same ride is $6. The snorkeling in this area is of the best of any island I have ever been too. Love this place. Will definitely return

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Panic1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionsDive, Management at Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Panic1522

Thank you for staying at Lions Dive & Beach Resort and for taking the time to write this review.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay including our wonderful underwater.
We are sorry you missed the traditional soaps and shampoo but instead we have the eco friendly 2 in 1 body wash/shampoo.
What nice that you categorized our snorkeling area as one of the best of any island you have been.
We work hard to preserve our underwater and your comments give us the strength to keep on doing this.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Sunny Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We had an OCEANVIEW CABANA ROOM which has its own terrace right on the sand. The two queen size beds were extremely comfortable (if you love firm mattresses like I do). The A/C worked well and was easy to set.We got two beach towels each which we could exchange daily. We had problems with the room key-card and the refrigerator which were promptly taken care of by maintenance. The internet was fairly fast and accommodating all of our needs. We did not use the NEMO Restaurant but the others were good. The Service at HEMINGWAY was slow but the food was good. CHILL AND GRILL was my favorite and we enjoyed eating there with our feed in the sand. The staff all speak English and Dutch and are friendly.
There are no 'hotel' toiletries in the room but there is a dispenser for soap. The coffee in the room is delicious but it comes from a cup-capsule system which is terribly environmentally challenging.
The dive shop, OCEAN ENCOUNTERS, is not really part of the hotel. I tried to rent two 1 kilo weight block for which they would charge me the same price as a weight belt with weights, namely $ 8.00 per day. They said that the shipping costs for weights to the island is exorbitant which is the reason the would charge exorbitantly.
The snorkeling outside the breakwater is more than fantastic. The Sea Aquarium take their dolphins out into the ocean so we swam with them. This puts the crown on the word 'Dive" in Lions Dive. There is little underwater that we did not see snorkeling.
We did not use the pools but they looked beautiful.

Room Tip: I would recommend an Oceanside Cabana. Extemely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CraneMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionsDive, Management at Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear CraneMountain.

We thank you for sharing your Lions Dive experience on Tripadvisor.
What nice that you enjoyed your stay and you left with a Caribbean Paradise experience.
We appreciate your obeservations and will pass it over to the team and Management.
It was for us a pleasure to have you as guest and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sunny Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
0.6 km away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
3.7 km away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
688 reviews
2.3 km away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in Willemstad
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 km away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
451 reviews
3.1 km away
Avila Beach Hotel
Avila Beach Hotel
#7 of 32 in Willemstad
1,290 reviews
5.4 km away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao

Address: Bapor Kibra, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: €151 - €429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the longest white sandy beach of Curacao, just minutes away from the picturesque Dutch colonial city of Willemstad, is sportive 4* Lions Dive & Beach Resort. The resort offers every desired accommodation; a stay in a comfortable hotel room, with your family in a large apartment or a romantic stay in a suite or penthouse. For the sportive guest, the resort has a lot of opportunities: train in the 50 meter sports pool, discover the underwater world with diving school Ocean Encounters or a workout at Body Beach Wellness Club. Of course Lions Dive is also the place for a sun, sea and beachy holiday. Have a massage on our private beach or relax in the Santai Spa. Enjoy our culinary features at the 4 bars and restaurants in the resort. Or just walk to the next-door boulevard with various shops and restaurants. With the personal touch of management and staff, we will give you a real Caribbean Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Lions Dive And Beach Resort Curacao
Lions Dive Beach Hotel Curacao
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing