We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$102
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$64
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Adonai Hotel Boutique(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avila Beach Hotel(Willemstad)
US$241
US$203
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
US$138
BestDay.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Curacao(Willemstad)
US$191
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
ABC Apartments(Willemstad)
US$167
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveller rating
493
334
83
33
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
493
334
83
33
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean encounterssea aquariumchill grillmeter lap poolocean frontfishfree shuttlegreat beachgrocery storeopen waterskewerstwo bedroom apartmenton premisesrented a carbeach chairssmall fridgebreakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 958 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We had a very good week-long stay at Lion's Dive, primarily selected as a great place to stay while scuba diving each day. We went out around the island for shore dives two different days, but did four days on the Boat going right out of the Lion's Dive scuba location, Ocean Encounters. I'll write them up separately, but we definitely recommend the shop.

Regarding restaurants, we ate at Hemmingway's for several breakfasts and dinners, which were all good. I did not like that the only option for breakfast was a $20 buffet, as my wife and her friend typically only eat a piece of toast with a bannana. Cost for them? $20 each... pretty much a rip off if you are eating light. But, omelettes and dinner burgers with great.

We also ate at Piazza three time, loving the caesar salads, bolognese entree, and pizza.

Rooms: we did NOT think the beds were comfortable, that's a personal thing. We also didn't like that we could hear music pounding 'till past 1am on the first night, which I guess was the night before their independence day... on October 10th.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diveman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionsDive, Management at LionsDive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017


Dear Diveman9

Thank you for taking the time to share your Lions Dive experience on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your kind words regarding our dive shop , and that you enjoyed your diving experience with us.
Please accept our apologies that you encountered some noise disturbance the first night.
We value our guests comments and we ensure you that we pass over your comments regarding our breakfast to our F&B department.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sunny Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

I cannot tell anything bad about the hotel itself !!! all Good
HOWEVER 2 things are visible and disturbing just from a visual and auditive point of view. The really UGLY crane (in front of beach) from the Substation next to the Sea Royal Resort is really a shame in this wounderfull panorama, plus the sound it makes when pulling the submarine out of the water is not nice.
But the most annoying thing is the karakoa session on the beach on Fridays with a really poor sound system and subsequently poor sound, not mentionning the horrible voice of some amateurs karaoke singers...To me it is a real NO GO in that premium environment !!!
PLEASE stop this (talk to your hotel neighboor) in order to leave this to spring break places line cancun or ballerman in Mallorca !!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stephane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionsDive, Management at LionsDive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Dear Stephane M

Thank you for your review and for staying at Lions Dive & Beach Resort.
We have noted your observations and will report it to Royal Resort .
We really appreciate your concern and advise.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sunny Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel has beautiful cove and beach. Lots of private shaded areas on the beach as well as a bar on the beach. The snorkeling in the cove is incredible. There are fish everywhere you look. It is a man made cove that keeps the water calm and beautiful. It is next to the aquarium which is a awesome. You can swim with the dolphins as well as watch dolphin shows and it is directly next to hotel. About a 300 foot walk. The hotel rooms are not big and they do not provide soap, shampoo, conditioner etc. The room is basically empty when you walk in. I was pissed at first as there was nothing to bathe with. But there is a drug store 200 yards away. Just beware that when you get in the room there is nothing for you but two little towels. But other than that the beach area is second to none. I've been to Turks and Caicos, Dominican, Nassau, Aruba, Cancun and the beach area here and the proximity of your room make this one of the best. It's not a five star hotel so if you are used to all the amenities from a big hotel this is not the place for you. I was one of those people but all of the other things made up for the lack of soap and shampoo. There are two pools that are beautiful but the ocean is like a pool so really no need to use the pool unless you hate salt water. The restaurants at the hotel are ok but there are many other places within walking distance. The cabs are a total ripoff on the island. They have a union and charge exorbitant amounts to go anywhere. A five minute cab ride is $20-30 dollars. In Aruba the same ride is $6. The snorkeling in this area is of the best of any island I have ever been too. Love this place. Will definitely return

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Panic1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionsDive, Management at LionsDive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Panic1522

Thank you for staying at Lions Dive & Beach Resort and for taking the time to write this review.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay including our wonderful underwater.
We are sorry you missed the traditional soaps and shampoo but instead we have the eco friendly 2 in 1 body wash/shampoo.
What nice that you categorized our snorkeling area as one of the best of any island you have been.
We work hard to preserve our underwater and your comments give us the strength to keep on doing this.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Sunny Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We had an OCEANVIEW CABANA ROOM which has its own terrace right on the sand. The two queen size beds were extremely comfortable (if you love firm mattresses like I do). The A/C worked well and was easy to set.We got two beach towels each which we could exchange daily. We had problems with the room key-card and the refrigerator which were promptly taken care of by maintenance. The internet was fairly fast and accommodating all of our needs. We did not use the NEMO Restaurant but the others were good. The Service at HEMINGWAY was slow but the food was good. CHILL AND GRILL was my favorite and we enjoyed eating there with our feed in the sand. The staff all speak English and Dutch and are friendly.
There are no 'hotel' toiletries in the room but there is a dispenser for soap. The coffee in the room is delicious but it comes from a cup-capsule system which is terribly environmentally challenging.
The dive shop, OCEAN ENCOUNTERS, is not really part of the hotel. I tried to rent two 1 kilo weight block for which they would charge me the same price as a weight belt with weights, namely $ 8.00 per day. They said that the shipping costs for weights to the island is exorbitant which is the reason the would charge exorbitantly.
The snorkeling outside the breakwater is more than fantastic. The Sea Aquarium take their dolphins out into the ocean so we swam with them. This puts the crown on the word 'Dive" in Lions Dive. There is little underwater that we did not see snorkeling.
We did not use the pools but they looked beautiful.

Room Tip: I would recommend an Oceanside Cabana. Extemely comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CraneMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionsDive, Management at LionsDive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear CraneMountain.

We thank you for sharing your Lions Dive experience on Tripadvisor.
What nice that you enjoyed your stay and you left with a Caribbean Paradise experience.
We appreciate your obeservations and will pass it over to the team and Management.
It was for us a pleasure to have you as guest and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sunny Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

This hotel is wonderful. Great staff. Great location. Nice beach. Great restaurants on property and next door on Mambo Beach. Car rental office on site. Daily shuttle to the Supermarket to get supplies. We rented a car for a couple days and drove around. Went on the glass bottom boat, visited the Ostrich Farm and the slavery museum. Went downtown Willemstad and got some good food. My kids had multiple fruit smoothies daily(real fruit).

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marlon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LionsDive, Management at LionsDive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Marlon P,

Thank you for choosing Lions Dive & Beach Resort and for this nice review.
With great pleasure we are reading this review which fills us with proud because you had a great family vacation.
Also that you enjoyed our lovely island of Curacao.
We would be more than happy to welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Sunny Regads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews