We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort & beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Lions Dive

There’s so much to say about this amazing hotel. First of all it has a fair price for the beauty it is offering. Arriving in the hotel we have been warmly welcomed. We didn’t want to wait for the bellboy so we decided to carry our luggage to the second floor, which was of course not a very good idea. But we were so eager to see the beach that we didn’t want to wait.

Arrived in the room we saw that we had a beautiful view to the beach, although we booked a room without view. So I would say it was luck =))

Our room number was 1305 which was located above the lobby. Before arriving we read a lot about the noises, but I have to say that we haven’t heard anything. Our room was clean, no bed bugs or something.

Our vacation started at the Heminway bar, which belongs to the hotel. I wouldn’t say it was the best cocktail I’ve ever had, but they were good.

Jet lagged as I was I woke up very early the next day and went to the beach to see what’s going on. The staff was preparing the breakfast buffet and some others were cleaning the beach.

The breakfast, which we decided to have the first day, was a little expensive for that buffet, therefor we decided to go to the supermarket. The shuttle of the supermarket is picking up the people from the hotel twice a day. We bought all we need and had our breakfasts in our room.

Heminway is open the whole day, so we found some snacks that supported our breakfast. The frites (French fries) are really good and for dinner I had the homemade chicken skewer with peanut sauce twice. They were really delicious.

The Piazza restaurant which is open for lunch offers some Pizzas which wasn’t that good. And is located at the big pool without a view to the beach, so it wasn’t really interesting for us.

The resort is located at the sea aquarium so you have a pretty good snorkeling experience here. The Sea Aquarium & Dolphin Academy is located in 3 min. walking distance. The dive shop of the resort the Ocean Encounters was also very helpful, but this is another review ;))

I would say the resort is a family friendly place, not really interesting for single travellers ;)

There is only one thing to mention negatively; the service at the Hemingway is really slow, it seems like they are much more interested in chatting with their friends than serve you something. We recognized this especially when a trainee starting working at the beach. She was running up and down to serve people their needs, I think her name was Lissi. The days before the service was sitting at the beach and was playing on her phone. But this is only for the restaurant side. The bar is fast and the guys behind the bar are really kind. Especially John =)

Finally I would highly recommend the Lions Dive & Beach Resort =)

Room Tip: Higher floors have a view to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebnem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 333 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

This resort will teach you how to slow down and relax. Dining takes a long time, from ordering your food to paying your bill no one is in a hurry. In fact many times I thought I'd put on my "can't see me suit" and had to check that indeed I was wearing a t-shirt and shorts.

Room Tip: Ask not to be anywhere near the Pelican Boat.. drunks come and go all hours of the night and no one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMachead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Even though we don't dive, the Lions Dive Resort was a fantastic place to stay. Booked an ocean view room and we are overlooking the pool and the ocean. Staff were very helpful and friendly, and the room was kept very clean. The beach was well equipped with chairs and lots of shade from palm trees. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramonthepoolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Excellent service-staff is very friendly. Dalies and CJ are excellent workers at d reception. Highly recommended for divers who wants to dive, tour n relax. D divemasters in Ocean Encounters are very good-especially Danko.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubamasterdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This was our second stay at the Lions Dive and our third trip to Curacao. The Lions Dive is a good location if you want to stay at an ocean front hotel in Curacao but still be close to Wilemstaad. Generally we had a very nice stay. The rooms were clean and the view was terrific. The staff was nice and we had some great meals at both on site restaurants. They do play music until later into the night and it is definitely a family resort so there are a fair number of children. They are still doing more construction (this time next to the hotel) which is good for the economy but not so great for guests trying to relax. The new pool looks great and the hotel has been kept up very well.

The only thing that was disappointing was the quality of the water and reef. It was clear that the man-made reef had trapped years of swimming residue which had polluted the water. On our first stay approximately 4 years ago the water was nearly clear but this time I could not see anything until I left the blockade. There was a thick layer of sunscreen residue on top of the water. It still looked pretty from a distance but up close the damage was clear.

The beach and water bothered me so much that we decided to go visit other beaches in the area. That's a great thing about this resort - it's close to a lot of stuff yet you don't need to leave if you don't want to.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chelseagrrlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
3.7 km away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
716 reviews
0.6 km away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
2.3 km away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in Willemstad
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
382 reviews
3.1 km away
Avila Beach Hotel
Avila Beach Hotel
#7 of 32 in Willemstad
1,356 reviews
5.5 km away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao

Address: Bapor Kibra, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: €140 - €422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the longest white sandy beach of Curacao, just minutes away from the picturesque Dutch colonial city of Willemstad, is sportive 4* Lions Dive & Beach Resort. The resort offers every desired accommodation; a stay in a comfortable hotel room, with your family in a large apartment or a romantic stay in a suite or penthouse. For the sportive guest, the resort has a lot of opportunities: train in the 50 meter sports pool, discover the underwater world with diving school Ocean Encounters or a workout at Body Beach Wellness Club. Of course Lions Dive is also the place for a sun, sea and beachy holiday. Have a massage on our private beach or relax in the Santai Spa. Enjoy our culinary features at the 4 bars and restaurants in the resort. Or just walk to the next-door boulevard with various shops and restaurants. With the personal touch of management and staff, we will give you a real Caribbean Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Dive And Beach Resort Curacao
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Lions Dive Beach Hotel Curacao
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing