We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,737)
Filter reviews
7,737 results
Traveller rating
4,321
2,571
609
151
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,321
2,571
609
151
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piano bar the palma real restaurant fish international restaurant plenty of sunbeds pizza string quartet ocean view main bar a la carte restaurants great holiday lunch buffet towel art sun loungers per week thomas cook open top bus
Filter
Updating list...
1,149 - 1,154 of 7,737 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The building doesn't look inviting from the outside, but has the loveliest interior! Very friendly staff, good food, nice rooms, lots of activities and entertainment. Oh, not to forget a variety of cocktails... Absolutely recommendable!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Seat Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N, General Manager at Blau Varadero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Dear Seat Leon S,

Warmest regards from Varadero!

I feel very happy to learn that your overall experience in our hotel has been memorable and I sincerely appreciate the time you have dedicated to write this review about our Blau Varadero Hotel. I will share your nice comments with all the staff and encourage them to keep up with the good work.

We will be proud to welcome you again and become part of our big family.

Cordially,

David Nuñez Alvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Yet again Cuba was our Destination for our Winter Hols in 2016.

Again we chose to share it with the very friendly, very passionate Team at The Blau, Varadero and again It did not disappoint.

You cannot fault any of the facilities, New for 2017 are the Blau beds, four poster beds with Butler service service in the gardens .
This is a special touch with a small charge.

The ocean view from the beach bar is still magnificent, along with all the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Ocean view/pool view rooms are great in the day, but the seaview rooms are great all the time.
Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Bill1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N, General Manager at Blau Varadero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Dear Bill1161,

Thank you for your nice review about our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our facilities and services. The greatest motivation for us is to know that you were pleased with our service and recommend our hotel. We do look forward to welcome you back in the future and providing you with another great holiday experience.

Best regards from Blau Varadero,

David Nuñez Alvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

All the staff were informative and professional at their jobs. The facility was clean. The music was excellent. The grounds were tidy, a work in process. All our questions were answered in regards to sites to see outside Varadero. The food could show some improvement but was generally good.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank shelley650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N, Director General at Blau Varadero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear shelley650,

Thank you for your nice review about our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our facilities and services. The greatest motivation for us is to know that you were pleased with our service and recommend our hotel. We do look forward to welcome you back in the future and providing you with another great holiday experience.

Best regards from Blau Varadero,

David Nuñez Alvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

So good to see all our friends again with such a warm genuine welcome. We have never been to another hotel where the majority of staff have remained since first opening this was our 10th visit & we are not the only ones who keep returning, we meet up with many returning guests from all over the world at the Blau. You don`t expect to come to the finest of food this is Cuba but there is always something you will like. They are refurbishing many rooms gradually, we always stay on the second floor usually in the same room, our floor has not yet been done it`s still the same old furniture but it is always clean with fresh linen-towels etc.daily. No other hotel could have the team of staff throughout all departments as the staff at the Blau, that is why we return.

I have to say one thing & that is I think they are making a big mistake turning it into adults only, only time will tell. It doesn`t bother us because the November & some times again in late January there are very few children.

I don`t know where these bad reviews come from they are very rare & not the Blau ourselves & thousands of other guests think of this hotel. Looking forward to another visit.

Carol & Gwilym

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welshnames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N, Director General at Blau Varadero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear welshnames,

We are very grateful for your comments on the hotel but more so for your comments on the staff and service, I’ll make sure they receive them. We want to thank you as well for recommending us with other travelers.

We also appreciate your constructive opinion about some of our services.
We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

David Nuñez Alvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Our initial experience when checking in was extremely disappointing. We had booked the best accommodation possible, including an ocean view, through Sunwing. Upon opening the door of our assigned room, we were overcome by the musty, stale smell of the room. My partner reacted immediately and his entire face turned red. We returned to reception, requesting another room. A manager then proceeded to take him from room to room, all having the same, terrible smell. He could not tolerate the smell so, after an hour and a half, he told the manger we would go for a bite to eat while she found us a more suitable room. When we returned, she had not bothered to check any further and continued, for at least another half hour, to show us more of the same. He then inquired about recent renovations. With that, the manager explained that we could upgrade for another 200 pesos. This was extremely frustrating as we had booked the best accommodation possible through Sunwing. Amazingly, when we checked out this room there was no smell and we found the room appropriate. After complaining to our travel representative, management at Blau Varedero offered us an insulting 20 minute massage - 10 minutes for each of us, for the inconvenience.

We were also extremely disappointed with the food at Blau Varadero. The International Dining Room was the only restaurant we found relatively reasonable. However, even here, the vegetables were overcooked and soggy and the meat dishes loaded with sauce or gravy, detracting entirely from the taste of the meat. Even the beautiful fruit (papaya, watermelon, pineapple) that was served each day was flavourless.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N, Director General at Blau Varadero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Joey S,

First of all we would like to apologize for not being able to fulfill your expectations. We realize that there is always room for improvement and we are constantly working to enhance our guests' experiences taking action on the matter based on your review.
We really hope you give yourself and us a second chance to show you why we truly are a very good hotel in Varadero.

With best regards from Cuba

David Nuñez Alvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews