We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,718)
Filter reviews
5,718 results
Traveller rating
3,626
1,499
442
104
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,626
1,499
442
104
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jazz bar diamond club el caribe butler service seafood big alex a la carte restaurants tex mex hour bistro buffet restaurant the caribbean restaurant cuban sandwich ice cream parlour beach restaurant personal butler main bar foam party
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 5,718 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a 6 night stay. At the suggestion of many of the reviews on here, we did the diamond club. Upon arrival we were greeted by Rene who took us on a tour of the resort. Resort is an old Sandals and still looks very much like a Sandals resort. Positives of the sort- diamond club beach area is peaceful and quiet. Water is gorgeous. I do wish that there were towels for diamond club members on the beach as the walk to get fresh ones is near the pool. The bar near the beach is drinks only but they were tasty!
The food was nothing to rave about. If you’re a foodie then this isn’t the place for you. We did go to a few of the restaurants and the only one I had a decent meal at was the Italian restaurant. As far as the reservations- they were made for us for the week but each day we received a slip under our door indicating a new reservation- not sure why it kept changing but it did. Room service menu for diamond club was terrible. Not many choices.
One perk to the diamond club which made it worth it was the snorkeling excursion, lunch on a private island and dolphin experience. Such a great day minus the poor people on our boat that were so seasick.
We met a ton of great people and staff was very friendly. Room was perfect location to the beach and was very clean. Wifi is not included in diamond club.
The diamond club reception and dinner around the pool was nice.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank 433denised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_General2018, Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Denise,

We really appreciate to receive your feedback about your stay at Royalton Hicacos for us is really important our guests opinions we will improve the excellence in our service in order to provide the best quality to you.

It would be a pleasure to show you how we can change our facilities and offer you a more enjoyable holidays. If you give us the chance on your next visit to Varadero.

With my best greetings and regards,
Ernesto Andrades,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The fillet Mignon was very disappointing - It was just too tough to eat but the Mexican restaurant was 5 star. the last time we stayed here the fillet was good - Something changed, but overall, other than the fillet we enjoyed our stay and will plan to return some time in the future, depending on price.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Adventure05390199090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_General2018, Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

On behalf of the Royalton Hicacos team we would like to thank you for your super nice comments.

It is really gratifying to know that you enjoyed your holidays with us.

Our staff has received your comments and appreciates your effort, one more time thanks for providing part of your precious time to share your experience.

We are looking forward to see you again at your home away from home.

Best regards,
Ernesto Andrades,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks in October
On arrival we were impressed with look of reception and champagne on arrival was lovely

We were shown around hotel but it was getting dark but looked impressive
Room was quite dated but that didn’t spoil things
We waited ages for suitcases so headed to bar to meet friends
Next day everywhere looked good
Apart from lazy river on many photos I saw before arriving were nice blue water running
But everyday they were scooping water out
On our 3rd night we asked to move as we kept getting an awful sewage smell in our room
And it was done without a problem
Pool was quite shallow and u couldn’t really swim in it
And often we got the odd smell of sewage
And both jacuzzis didn’t work in pool area for the duration of our 2 week stay although they did know
Now all staff I found pleasant and never once did we feel the need to tip
But we did as they did a grand job so did gardeners and maids
Now hit and miss
To me the food was not good
Most times it was cold and it was very bland
All al a carts were ok not the best but ok
Would we return prob not
But we met some fab friends
I just think it had to many teething problems
But that’s only my opinion
X

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank paula1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto A, General Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear paula1968,

We really appreciate to receive your feedback about your stay at Royalton Hicacos for us is really important our guests opinions we will improve the excellence in our service in order to provide the best quality to you.

It would be a pleasure to show you how we can change our facilities and offer you a more enjoyable holidays. If you give us the chance on your next visit to Varadero.

With my best greetings and regards,

Ernesto Andrades
General Manager at Royalton Hicacos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a great stay at Royalton Hicacos Varadero. ALL the staff in this hotel cant do enough for you and are extremely friendly. The bar men and ladies in the lobby bar and Jazz bar were great expecially Sammy. Would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank EssexJoesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto A, General Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear EssexJoesmith,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your super nice review and the time that you spent to write it.

Nice comments make us very happy because that means that you had a great time during your holidays with us, we work every day in order to improve our service and your suggestions are always welcome.

Our staff has received your comments and appreciates your effort, one more time thanks for providing part of your precious time to share your experience.

We are looking forward to see you soon at your second home, Royalton Hicacos.

Best regards,

Ernesto Andrades
General Manager at Royalton Hicacos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beach was amazing , shallow sandy water ,, rooms great, best bed I’ve ever had , food amazing ( which most tourist think food in Cuba is not ...stayed at wrong resort). Lobster, steak , calamari , shrimp , chicken anything u want , buffet good but best ala cartel was Grazi, beef tenderloin , and lamb dishes as good as home . Pool bar , good times with bartenders Janet and Ari , always happy and smiling and ready with our drinks , foam pool party was fun ,,,, don’t upgrade to diamond service , not needed , our butler showed us the room and would accommodate any of our needs , extra wine or champagne in our room , overall absolutely the only resort we would ever stay at in all of Cuba ,,and been to many others , second time here and not disappointed , can’t waiit to go back

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto A, General Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Debbie B,

Please receive warm greetings from all of our staff at Royalton Hicacos.

Allow me to thank you for your kind review. This is highly important to us.

I am happy to know you are satisfied with the fantastic service provided. Please know that our goal is to exceed your expectations by providing you an outstanding service and pleasing your needs by being very attentive towards them.

I will be sure to recognize Janet and Ari for an outstanding service. I am sure they will be proud to know that their hard work is appreciated. Please know this will surely encourage all the Royalton Hicacos team to keep working hard and keep improving in every aspect.

We all look forward to welcome you, once again, to create more unforgettable experiences.

Best Regards,

Ernesto Andrades
General Manager at Royalton Hicacos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews