We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,761)
Filter reviews
4,761 results
Traveller rating
1,667
1,828
745
331
190
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,667
1,828
745
331
190
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el conuco don peperone lobby bar the concierge lounge a la carte restaurants fish concierge service main building italian restaurant mojito bar fifth floor food and beverage manager the grill pasta other resorts pool restaurant melia las
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 4,761 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall this hotel definitely needs upgrades made to it's rooms, lobby bar, buffet restaurant, and most other facilities, to bring it up to a 4 star rating. As it, I would not give the facilities higher than a 3 star rating.

We arrived at the hotel around 9:30 pm, and when we checked in, we were given a room on the 4th floor of the main building, facing the front entrance of the building (away from the pool and gardens). Considering the hotel was at about 50% occupancy (according to the lady at the desk), we found it strange that they didn't provide a better view right off.

The room we were given was disgusting - the bathtub had no porcelain left, the facet and shower head were rusty and disgusting. The room was worn and definitely in need of an upgrade.

We went back down to the main lobby and the lady at the desk was very helpful in getting us a new room, in one of the separate 2 and 3 story buildings they have on site. The new room layout was about the same as the first, but slight updates to the bathroom and room itself had been made.

We found the food at this resort was very good in all of the a la carte restaurants, buffet restaurant and the snack bars. We never had trouble with the quality of the food, nor quantity given. The wait staff are exceptional - pleasant, friendly and try their best to please.

Bar staff at all locations are friendly and courteous.

Of course, the beach in Varadero is extremely beautiful, and this hotel has one of the largest (wide) beaches I have seen in Varadero. Magnificent beach!

Due to the poor accommodations, we would not go back to this hotel, but the grounds are exceptionally nice, and the staff are so pleasant and friendly, it makes me want to move them elsewhere so I can see them again.

  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, Gerente at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Russ B,
We always read well all of our customers comments because they are of paramount importance to us. We need them in order to improve and become better for your future enjoyment, so thank you very much for taking the time to post your experience. Receive our deepest apologies for not fulfilling your requirements as for the room. We are pleased to tell you that rooms update is our main task for next refurbishment project. Thanks for your praises concerning other aspects of the hotel such as food, staff, beach and other facilities. It is our hope that you decide to come back so that we can provide you with the true and enjoyable experience our customers are used to.
Sincerely
Juan Subirats Pons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is a little older, but we came for the the heat and the beach. The staff were very nice and our rooms were clean and comfortable. We have visited Cuba more than 6 times and this hotel was one of the better ones.

Room Tip: be kind to your staff and they go above and beyond
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, Gerente at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jayne M,
We are so grateful for your positive review; it has been such a huge pleasure to receive your compliments. Thanks for staying with us and thanks for those stays to come. It will be such a huge pleasure to welcome you back my friend, so we could share more wonderful moments. Make sure you send us your booking details and preferences for your next year stay, we will be very glad to look after your second time with us.
Sincerely,
Juan Subirats Pons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

The resort looked promising when we were greeted with a drink and a smile on check in. The lobby was sunny with a nice view. However, our room was a terrible disappointment. The first room had mold & mildew covering the bathroom ceiling, the tub was dirty and the whole room smelled of mildew. We were moved and the second room was a bit better, but still shabby, chipped tub and mildew on the ceiling. Food buffet was mediocre and drinks were dilute and poorly made. The beach and pool were nice.

Room Tip: Pool side room was very noisy due to music below.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank taylor52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, Gerente at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear taylor52,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on this important website since your opinion is of paramount importance to us. Receive please my deepest apologies for not meeting your expectations during your visit to Cuba. We appreciate your honest opinion because we need it in order to improve and become better. We are aware of the importance of first impressions, which is why we have been carrying out a refurbishment project in several areas of the hotel that include pool area, concierge lounge, a la carte restaurants, front desk and others. Rooms are our top priority for next project, which is a major task that must be completed step by step. However, as I told you, we are going to discuss your comments for we are very interested in becoming better. It’s still our hope that you decide to return to our hotel so we can provide you with the very much enjoyable experience all our guests have. Email us your booking details and preferences as we will be just too happy to look after them.
Sincerely
Juan Subirats Pons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

This was our first trip to Cuba...the hotel looked wonderful as we arrived... although the reception area was under construction, we were greeted with warm smiles and a glass of sparkling wine. The employees were wonderful, and cheerful. However our room was disappointing... Mold on the patio, and the bathroom. broken bathtub faucet, noisy air conditioner, and sticking doors, and the early morning stench of sulphur from the pond, but the view was stunning.. After 3 days of complaining they moved us from the Cabannas' to the main hotel... A lot better, this time only one of the 4 elevators worked, and the poor bellhop insisted on taking your luggage up the stairs himself..but still far from a 4 1/2 star rating, we read about and believed. The restaurant (buffet), was fair... many of the dishes to select from, that you found wonderful the first time, the next time you had it, it tasted totally different...the food in the buffet trays was rarely hot, at best cool side of warm. The furniture in the buffet was usually broken or badly worn. If you are not sure what kind of meat it looks like, you better ask. We thought they were joking but, many time we asked about the hamburgers there, it was the same answer, " it depend sir! most times it is beef, but most likely a beef and horse mix." And apon asking a few of the other guests, their answer "Yeah!! That's why we don't have the hamburgers!!!"
We bumped in to the new Hotel Manager, and said the hotel hadn't been upgraded for over 20 years, and he was there to over see it. He was always seen hurrying from on place to another.
Good Luck, Sir

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are usually the Cabannas, or the right side of the hotel looking from the beach
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, Gerente at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear Jamie A,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on this important website. Our customers' opinions are of paramount importance to us because we need them in order to improve our services and facilities. We are very sorry to know we did not meet your expectations. You clearly did not experience the enjoyable time most of our customers have. It is a huge pleasure to let you know that the front desk refurbishment has already been completed and that both lifts are properly operating. The issue at the buffet restaurant was an unfortunate misunderstanding. However, we will discuss it with the area manager, so that staff can properly inform guests about their different choices. Receive our apologies for the problems you found, we will have for sure your comments into account. It is our hope that you decide to come back so that we can provide you with the true and enjoyable experience our customers are used to.
Sincerely
Juan Subirats Pons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

An older resort in need of some monetary and managerial investment. Having visited Cuba more than a dozen times and staying many resorts, it is below average.

The main building is 20 years old, the infrastructure is good but in need of some refurbishment and updating. We stayed on the 5th floor and the room had been partially renovated. The bathroom tile, fixtures and plumbing need updating. The mattress was fine, but the night tables wooden srfaces had split open and not at all level.

Food is a surprising disappointment. Variety and quality were sub par. I enjoy good Cuban food, but it was surprisingly missing most nights. A la carte restaurants were hit and bmiss, with the exception of the Romantic restaurant. Good management would solve these issues, as this hotel would have access to the same food that most Cuban resorts have.

I feel the shortcomings of the this resort make it fall well below the 4+ star ranking, that it currently has. Considering this a Melia hotel (With many hotels and many banners), there is no good reason for the lack of investment that would make this hotel a more attractive destination.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, Gerente at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear Ray B,
Receive please my deepest apologies for not meeting your expectations during your visit to Cuba. We appreciate your honest opinion because we need it in order to improve and become better. Don’t worry my friend because your comments will be taken into account for upcoming improvements. It’s still our hope that you decide to return to our hotel so we can provide you with the very much enjoyable experience all our guests have. Email us your booking details and preferences as we will be just too happy to look after them.
Sincerely
Juan Subirats Pons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews