We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Las Americas
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$113
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$388
US$252
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
US$221
US$191
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
US$143
US$100
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$450
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$236
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,901)
Filter reviews
5,901 results
Traveller rating
3,408
1,704
513
193
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,408
1,704
513
193
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbernard meyerla arcadail limoncellothe general managercascada barana rosalobby barstring quartettee timesa la carte restaurantsinternational restaurantfishdupont mansionocean viewspecial thanksbeautiful beachmain building
Filter
Updating list...
2,485 - 2,490 of 5,901 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We arrived back from Cuba May 14. This was our first time in Cuba, but we have stayed in many all inclusives in Mexico and once in Dominican. We stay in 4.5 or 5 star resorts , so we will be comparing this one to those. Overall, the resort is great and we would go back.

The beach is beautiful, the nicest we have been to. Calm , clear water, nice white sand, and lots of palapas with chairs. You do have to go early if you want a palapa on the beach. There are plenty of chairs, just the palapas fill up quickly.

The food was very good. The buffet always had a good selection of tasty food, the lunch grill restuarant on the beach was very good, the bar/burger place was good (all we had was burgers and potato chips there), and the 24 hour cafe/bar had the same menu as room service, so you'd never starve. The A la cartes were good as well. . We tried all the a la cartes but the Seafood one, and they were all good. The International was our favourite, with the quartet playing music, but all of them were good.

The rooms were nice. Ours had a balcony facing the pool and the ocean. The room was always cleaned during the day.The stocking of the room fridge was poor. The first day we had 2 beer, 1 pop , and 1 juice ...no water. We went down to the desk and asked for water and they told us to go to the 24 hour cafe/bar to get some. which we did . Every day after that we got 1 juice , 1 pop, and 1 water. Near the end of our stay , they didn't give us water again , so we went to the bar/cafe and they said they only gave water to the golfers, that we had to call room service for water. We went back to the room, and called room service, and they told us to go the cafe for water. We explained what the cafe had told us, and they said they couldn't bring us water until later in the day, and go back to the cafe. So , down we went to the cafe again, who yes, once again, told us to go through room service for water. We told the girl at the cafe that this was our fourth try to get a bottle of water , so she called someone, and shortly after gave us one small individual bottle, not the bigger ones that they leave in the room. It kept us going until they delivered some to the room later in the day. During the hours when the restaurants are open you always can get a glass of water to drink, its just the mornings when you want to brush your teeth, or have some water in your room. We did ask at the desk and told the fellow there about our water dilema, and that we didn't want to complain or get anyone in trouble, we just wanted to know where to get water. He was apologetic about it, and said he would call room service himself and make sure there was a bottle in our room. The person who stocks the fridge did leave us a bottle later the day, so we did have water later that day.

The staff at the Melia were very friendly. We especially enjoyed Yania and Mercy at the buffet, and Abel at the bar lounge. They went out of their way to serve us, and always remembered us, and came and chatted. Ariel of the animation staff was also great. We tipped a lot there, and the staff was very appreciative, but we noticed many other people did not tip at all, and the staff still served them and were always pleasant. Some of the service is pretty slow but you're on vacation, so no biggy.

The lobby lounge always had piano music at night, the 24 hours bar had live music at night, and there were shows in the theatre at night, so there was always entertainment. There was also a band who played on the beach in the afternoon for bit. They were really good.

Comparing to Mexico..the property wasn't as nice as the ones in Mexico, the service is slower, and the food wasn't quite as good, but it was still really nice, and we felt very safe at all times, whether at the resort, or in the town of Varadero. The beach is the nicest we have been to. We would go back without hesitation.

One tip- do not call home from the hotel phones. If you call from your room, or from the phones by the lobby, its a rip off. They said it was 2.10 a minute to Canada. The first time I phoned they charged me 6.00 for a one minute call. The 2nd time they charged me 21.00 for under 3 minutes. If you go next door to the Plaza Americas, and go to the phone store on the 2nd floor, you can buy a calling card - 20 minutes for 20.00. There are phones right there for you to use it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CanadaVacationer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Hello

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our Hotel because its beautiful beach, our food, rooms, but above all our friendly staff specially Yania and Mercy at the buffet, Abel at the bar lounge, Ariel of the animation staff

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Meliá Las Américas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Was at Melia Las Americas from May 1 - May 8
Prior to our first trip we constantly read other reviews of Melia Las Americas, noting all the good details and not so good details - especially the negative comments on the food. Since food is a individual preference we were not going to bother commenting but after the visit we changed our mind. Again its an individual thing but we found the buffet quite good - just pick out what you like and go from there. There was plenty to choose from but with typical buffets, was quite repetitive for each of the meals. The a la carte restaurants were bad to good. We found the Italian restaurant had very good service and excellent food. The seafood restaurant had the same good service but the food, to our taste, was disappointing, lobster very "mushy" (compared to east coast lobster). The International Restaurant was another story - extremely good service with excellent food and a fantastic atmosphere with the string music throughout the meal. Would recommend that one to everyone.
SERVICE - we found the service friendly, fast and very efficient at all venues - bars, grounds, front desks and the room maid. Special thanks to front bar: Annie, Emillio. Leslie. Pool Bar: Niuvis; Beach Bar: Amanda and the room maid room 2314 (sorry misplaced the name), Dining room - Mary who brightened our day with her big smile and welcome
ROOM: Not a bad room (Ocean View - 2nd floor) lots of room and a balcony. Water/beer replaced in fridge each day, room was very clean and all ready by 11am daily. Only one complaint was the two single beds together but not a big deal.
BEACH: Fantastic white powder sand and very well cared for. Enjoyed the few minute walk from the lobby to the beach. We enjoyed sitting on the veranda and just soaking up the view of the beach.
We did not take any side trips off the resort this year but will probably do that next year. Just wanted to relax and unwind which we succeeded in doing. Will we go back? Already planning next years trip

Room Tip: Book a Ocean View with balcony - well worth the little bit extra
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jim475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Hello:

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our Hotel because the service provided by our friendly staff : at front bar: Annie, Emillio. Leslie. Pool Bar: Niuvis; Beach Bar: Amanda and the room maid( Yoleima) room 2314, Dining room - Mary

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Meliá Las Américas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Great beach. The main pool was closed but there three other pools. Standard room was a large suite. Beautiful landscape. Excellent ``a la carte``restaurants. Buffet restaurant was one of the best we have eaten to. No problems to find chairs under a pallappa. Beautiful golf course included. Live music in the lobby after dinner. Staff very helpful and always smiling. We will go back!

Room Tip: chose a room in the bungalos
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pierre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Hello

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our Hotel, its restaurants and the golf course neraby to the hotel

Concerning the pool, last summer, 2012 we renovated the main pool and nowadays it looks fantastic

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Meliá Las Américas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My aunt and I visited MLA April 27 to May 4 and it was just as we remembered if not better. This is the place i will be visiting for years to come. The staff are always so friendly and so helpful I couldn't imagine finding a better place to stay then here. Thank you to our friends at the lobby bar who always kept a smile on my face and a drink in my hand Annie, Yusie, Leslie, and Emilio.

Last year we did the a La Carte Restuarants but this year we decided that the buffet had everything we wanted. Thank you to Enrique, Cecilio, Valdin, Rosa, Aldo and a special thank you to Juan Calos and Charlie. I must recommend at the buffet that if they are cooking the fried bananas to try them they are delicious (thank you to the nice woman that cooked me one unfortunatly I never got her name). Thank you to everyone we had an amazing trip again and can not wait to go back next year or earlier!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Day101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We spent 2 weeks there in April 2012. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, the beach and pools equally great. We had an oceanview room and loved it. Some of the a la cartes were great, but the food at the seafood place was largely inedible. The buffet was not good overall. The resort's proximity to the Varadero Golf Club was wonderful and what a great course and clubhouse. Service was pretty much awful. The front desk didn't care about us or our stay; the bartenders were often rude (one of the mocked me in Spanish because I wanted less sugar in my Mohito), although the wait staff in the restaurants were better. This was our first time in Cuba and our first time in an adults only resort, and we were very uncomfortable by the sex tourism. It's unfortunate that a 5 star hotel would allow, even endorse such behavior. The number of old European men with young Cuban women was bad enough, but when a group of 7 old Germans checked in with 3 15-16 year-olds, I felt like checking out.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the oceanview.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Roxanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to bring to our attention the problems you experienced and the deficiencies in the quality of our services.

In our regular Quality and Guest Service Meetings we analysed carefully all remarks received from the guest questionnaires, emails and the TripAdvisor. Your comments have been of great value and we have taken the necessary measures to avoid the occurrence of similar situations in the future.

Regarding your comments about our personnel, we analysed it with their Heads of Department and corrective actions have been taken to guarantee that the quality of their service excels the first-rated one provided by our Hotel chain.

We are really surprised by your comments regarding the persons you mentioned stayed in our hotel, We guarantee you that as our hotel is adult only( 18 years an over). for this reason, we do not have any client staying with us under 18 years old, in other hand we do not have any report of any bad behaviour of any of our clients during the month you stayed with us, if that had happened, We would applied the permission of admission´s principle.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Melia Las Americas in the future when we will do our utmost to ensure that you have a very enjoyable stay.

Regards

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Melia Las Americas
Varadero, Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews