We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“First Vacation in Cuba...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Las Americas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melia Las Americas
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“First Vacation in Cuba...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort from May 5th-12th 2012. We have vacationed many times in the Caribbean including Mexico, Domincian Republic and Jamaica and decided to give Cuba a try. Since we were celebrating our anniversary I contacted the resort prior to departure. They upgraded our room to a bungalow suite and had chocolates and champagne in the room upon our arrival. Although our room was very spacious and clean the decor and amenities were definitely not at a 5 star standard compared to other resorts we have stayed at.

The ocean was beautiful. If you are not an early riser you can definitely find a nice spot on the beach in the afternoon. The pools were also very nice and clean. There are pool mats you can use at no charge. If you are used to service by the pool and beach do not expect it at this resort, however the bars are nearby!

For the most part we were disappointed in the friendliness of staff at the resort. We definitely tip well to those who provide friendly service however many staff did not seem to enjoy their jobs. In our observation we noticed guests who spoke Spanish received better service. There were however a few staff who left a positive impression...Rahul at the pool bar provided exceptional service. He was friendly, made lovely cocktails and was very sociable. Irmina also provided great service. The "show man" Julio always had a smile on his face and gave us a good laugh! Frankie, the entertainment assistant manager, was a pleasure to be around. Frankie went out of his way to make sure we were happy with all aspects of the resort. He was genuinely interested in us and shared lots of Cuban history with us. Anabel at the beach bar was also very happy to serve us.

My husband and I took at day trip into Havana and would definitely recommend making the trip there!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hansmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Hello

Thank you for your review.

Regarding your comments about our personnel, we analysed it with their Heads of Department and corrective actions have been taken to guarantee that the quality of their service excels the first-rated one provided by our Hotel chain.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Melia Las Americas in the future when we will do our utmost to ensure that you have a very enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Meliá Las Américas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,868
    1,401
    398
    145
    60
See reviews for
586
2,662
325
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (929)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We arrived back from Cuba May 14. This was our first time in Cuba, but we have stayed in many all inclusives in Mexico and once in Dominican. We stay in 4.5 or 5 star resorts , so we will be comparing this one to those. Overall, the resort is great and we would go back.

The beach is beautiful, the nicest we have been to. Calm , clear water, nice white sand, and lots of palapas with chairs. You do have to go early if you want a palapa on the beach. There are plenty of chairs, just the palapas fill up quickly.

The food was very good. The buffet always had a good selection of tasty food, the lunch grill restuarant on the beach was very good, the bar/burger place was good (all we had was burgers and potato chips there), and the 24 hour cafe/bar had the same menu as room service, so you'd never starve. The A la cartes were good as well. . We tried all the a la cartes but the Seafood one, and they were all good. The International was our favourite, with the quartet playing music, but all of them were good.

The rooms were nice. Ours had a balcony facing the pool and the ocean. The room was always cleaned during the day.The stocking of the room fridge was poor. The first day we had 2 beer, 1 pop , and 1 juice ...no water. We went down to the desk and asked for water and they told us to go to the 24 hour cafe/bar to get some. which we did . Every day after that we got 1 juice , 1 pop, and 1 water. Near the end of our stay , they didn't give us water again , so we went to the bar/cafe and they said they only gave water to the golfers, that we had to call room service for water. We went back to the room, and called room service, and they told us to go the cafe for water. We explained what the cafe had told us, and they said they couldn't bring us water until later in the day, and go back to the cafe. So , down we went to the cafe again, who yes, once again, told us to go through room service for water. We told the girl at the cafe that this was our fourth try to get a bottle of water , so she called someone, and shortly after gave us one small individual bottle, not the bigger ones that they leave in the room. It kept us going until they delivered some to the room later in the day. During the hours when the restaurants are open you always can get a glass of water to drink, its just the mornings when you want to brush your teeth, or have some water in your room. We did ask at the desk and told the fellow there about our water dilema, and that we didn't want to complain or get anyone in trouble, we just wanted to know where to get water. He was apologetic about it, and said he would call room service himself and make sure there was a bottle in our room. The person who stocks the fridge did leave us a bottle later the day, so we did have water later that day.

The staff at the Melia were very friendly. We especially enjoyed Yania and Mercy at the buffet, and Abel at the bar lounge. They went out of their way to serve us, and always remembered us, and came and chatted. Ariel of the animation staff was also great. We tipped a lot there, and the staff was very appreciative, but we noticed many other people did not tip at all, and the staff still served them and were always pleasant. Some of the service is pretty slow but you're on vacation, so no biggy.

The lobby lounge always had piano music at night, the 24 hours bar had live music at night, and there were shows in the theatre at night, so there was always entertainment. There was also a band who played on the beach in the afternoon for bit. They were really good.

Comparing to Mexico..the property wasn't as nice as the ones in Mexico, the service is slower, and the food wasn't quite as good, but it was still really nice, and we felt very safe at all times, whether at the resort, or in the town of Varadero. The beach is the nicest we have been to. We would go back without hesitation.

One tip- do not call home from the hotel phones. If you call from your room, or from the phones by the lobby, its a rip off. They said it was 2.10 a minute to Canada. The first time I phoned they charged me 6.00 for a one minute call. The 2nd time they charged me 21.00 for under 3 minutes. If you go next door to the Plaza Americas, and go to the phone store on the 2nd floor, you can buy a calling card - 20 minutes for 20.00. There are phones right there for you to use it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CanadaVacationer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Hello

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our Hotel because its beautiful beach, our food, rooms, but above all our friendly staff specially Yania and Mercy at the buffet, Abel at the bar lounge, Ariel of the animation staff

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Meliá Las Américas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Was at Melia Las Americas from May 1 - May 8
Prior to our first trip we constantly read other reviews of Melia Las Americas, noting all the good details and not so good details - especially the negative comments on the food. Since food is a individual preference we were not going to bother commenting but after the visit we changed our mind. Again its an individual thing but we found the buffet quite good - just pick out what you like and go from there. There was plenty to choose from but with typical buffets, was quite repetitive for each of the meals. The a la carte restaurants were bad to good. We found the Italian restaurant had very good service and excellent food. The seafood restaurant had the same good service but the food, to our taste, was disappointing, lobster very "mushy" (compared to east coast lobster). The International Restaurant was another story - extremely good service with excellent food and a fantastic atmosphere with the string music throughout the meal. Would recommend that one to everyone.
SERVICE - we found the service friendly, fast and very efficient at all venues - bars, grounds, front desks and the room maid. Special thanks to front bar: Annie, Emillio. Leslie. Pool Bar: Niuvis; Beach Bar: Amanda and the room maid room 2314 (sorry misplaced the name), Dining room - Mary who brightened our day with her big smile and welcome
ROOM: Not a bad room (Ocean View - 2nd floor) lots of room and a balcony. Water/beer replaced in fridge each day, room was very clean and all ready by 11am daily. Only one complaint was the two single beds together but not a big deal.
BEACH: Fantastic white powder sand and very well cared for. Enjoyed the few minute walk from the lobby to the beach. We enjoyed sitting on the veranda and just soaking up the view of the beach.
We did not take any side trips off the resort this year but will probably do that next year. Just wanted to relax and unwind which we succeeded in doing. Will we go back? Already planning next years trip

Room Tip: Book a Ocean View with balcony - well worth the little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jim475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our Hotel because the service provided by our friendly staff : at front bar: Annie, Emillio. Leslie. Pool Bar: Niuvis; Beach Bar: Amanda and the room maid( Yoleima) room 2314, Dining room - Mary

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Meliá Las Américas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Great beach. The main pool was closed but there three other pools. Standard room was a large suite. Beautiful landscape. Excellent ``a la carte``restaurants. Buffet restaurant was one of the best we have eaten to. No problems to find chairs under a pallappa. Beautiful golf course included. Live music in the lobby after dinner. Staff very helpful and always smiling. We will go back!

Room Tip: chose a room in the bungalos
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Hello

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our Hotel, its restaurants and the golf course neraby to the hotel

Concerning the pool, last summer, 2012 we renovated the main pool and nowadays it looks fantastic

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Meliá Las Américas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

My aunt and I visited MLA April 27 to May 4 and it was just as we remembered if not better. This is the place i will be visiting for years to come. The staff are always so friendly and so helpful I couldn't imagine finding a better place to stay then here. Thank you to our friends at the lobby bar who always kept a smile on my face and a drink in my hand Annie, Yusie, Leslie, and Emilio.

Last year we did the a La Carte Restuarants but this year we decided that the buffet had everything we wanted. Thank you to Enrique, Cecilio, Valdin, Rosa, Aldo and a special thank you to Juan Calos and Charlie. I must recommend at the buffet that if they are cooking the fried bananas to try them they are delicious (thank you to the nice woman that cooked me one unfortunatly I never got her name). Thank you to everyone we had an amazing trip again and can not wait to go back next year or earlier!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Day101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
0.0 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 km away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 km away
A Peace of Paradise
A Peace of Paradise
#1 of 1 in Praslin Quarter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Americas

Property: Melia Las Americas
Address: | Playa de Las Américas, Varadero, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#4 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#4 Family Hotel in Varadero
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Las Americas 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Las Américas is the premier Golf Resort in Cuba and it is also the only one with direct access to The Varadero Golf Club. Located on The Varadero Peninsula, a tropical paradise jutting into the clear waters of the Caribbean on Cuba’s northern coats. Poised between the beach and championship golf course, the 5-star hotel is an upscale all inclusive adults only (over 18 years). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Las Americas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Americas
Melia Las Americas Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing