We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what ya pay for.”
Review of Hotel Club Kawama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Club Kawama
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Expectations weren't high going here, was about as good as we thought it would be. We mainly came here for a place to sleep and eat. Great beach and the staff were very polite, not to mention it probably helped that the wife's first language is Spanish.

Room Tip: closer to the beach look a bit nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 1Sun_Lover78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked Kawama knowing it was a budget hotel and the oldest in Varadero because we wanted beachfront and to be close to town. I can't understand the people that have such negative things to say when they pay for the cheapest hotel.

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful week. We had booked a superior room to make sure that we had a fridge and a balcony or terrace. I didn't accept the first room they wanted to give us because it was right across from where the entertainment was and I could hear the loud music. With a bit of discussion, and yes, the front desk clerk was smiling and kind (Alena I think her name was) we got an ocean front room with a great balcony. The air worked, there was lots of hot water with a very good amount of pressure and the sheets and towels were all clean. What more can you ask of a budget hotel? The pillows do need to be changed as they are almost flat but our mattress was reasonably comfortable.

Breakfasts were good but don't expect bacon. For lunch everyday I ate salad bar (no lettuce or tomatoes but his is because of the recent hurricane) and a piece of fish. It was always fine. We only ate a couple of evening meals at the hotel as our plan had always been to eat out in town. The evening meals were not fabulous but nobody would starve. Remember, they have to accommodate tourists from all over the world and we don't all eat the same way. Meals we had in local restaurants were all very good.

I tried one mixed drink which was way too sweet for me and then stuck with beer or wine at meals. Once in a while I'd have a rum (yes, I was able to get premium Legendero) and it was always good.

We did not attend any of the nightly entertainment as it started at 9h30 and after a day in the sun we were usually 'resting' by then.

We were invited to the repeaters diner as a way of celebrating our 30th Anniversary and it was a lovely meal with lots of fun people. We were also given a bottle of rum and some other drinks for our fridge.

The pools were always clean and well cared for, the staff friendly (almost all of them) and the price is certainly right.

We arrived at the hotel at around 2pm, and I saw the big sign, ' check in at 4pm'. Oh no they said, that's only during high season when we need more time to get rooms ready. You can have a room now.

The best part of Kawama is the length of beachfront that belongs to the hotel, it means that you are never crowded at the beach and don't have to listen to music or conversations of others.

The things that certainly could use some improvement are the pillows and the food. With the same ingredients but by adding some spices and seasonings I think better food could be prepared.

Will we go back? Yes, as long as the pricing keeps it at the budget level, leaves lots of extra cash to go out to eat, drink and sightseeing. We did a full day tour to Havana in a 1952 White Cadillac Convertible with the owner/guide Alexander. He was kind, knowledgeable, and I would highly recommend his services. He is a licensed taxi and tour guide.

A special shout out to Leyda, the public relations person there. She works hard to satisfy requests and keep her loyal guests coming back!

As far as hurricane damage, most of it was to plants and trees. They have done a good job of cleaning up. The roof of the pool bar had to be taken down but is being repaired. Many of the beachfront rooms were damaged but they were all being repaired while we were there. We saw much worse damage at some of the other hotels.

Lastly, my only pet peeve is having to pay for the safe. I don't mind paying a refundable deposit for a key as I have done at many other hotels but here they wanted 20 CUC. We chose not to pay it and just kept our valuables with us.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank monicajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Bad points _
The pictures of the rooms are SUPERIOR ROOMS do not get confused with standard rooms. We booked a standard room and it was filthy.!! A single lamp for entire room lighting, damp smell, mouldy, In need of painting and flies in the room. Had a look under the mattress where there were stains and all sorts! The room was terrible and depressing
After complaining about it's dirty state we managed to get upgraded to a superior room. However the front door kept on getting stuck, there was only 2 lamps so you constantly feel as you are on a dingy room. There were 2 powercuts during our stay and the fridge was sooo loud. Again there were flies getting into the room.. the pillows gave us both neckaches as they are literally non existent. Normally we laugh off bad rooms but they were so bad it actually frustrated us.

The restaurant the food was awful and more flies landing on all the buffet options. We had come directly from hotel blau in varadero and notices the difference. The table cloths were all stained and the roof leaked onside the restaurant when it started raining. It is just generally dirty with the flies and stains. It makes you think how dirty it is out back as none of the other restaurants had the same problem.
The all inclusive drinks are served in kids small plastic cups and all the alcohol selections are cheaper unbranded versions.

Generally around the hotel also is litter and mouldy unpainted concrete. The hotel has so much potential but nobody has maintained it for 20+ years.

The only good thing about this hotel is that there is a pool and clean beach. It is not worth half the nightly asking price. There are so many other better hotels in varadero !!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank adam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Hi. I visited Club Kawama Varadero in October. The check in is at 4:00pm but the staff is nove enough to let you enjoy all the services but the room as soon as you arrive. The Beach is beautiful and cleaned, well is Varadero so nothing less could be expected. The chairs at the room stained and dirty looking and the majority of them broken. The restaurant is not a a five star one but the food is decent, there is a great live band playing Cuban classics and adding to the atmosphere a Tropical vibe. The Rooms, at least the standard ones are incredibly badly kept. The beds are from the 80s maybe and the mattress very thin and uncomfortable, forget the pilows. The room are small and lack space. The AC is controlled by the Hotel and you are lucky if their ever guess your comfort temperature. When the finally gave us the room 1h late the bed and floor was full of sand and despite the fact that we went in person to tell the receptionist it was not cleaned till the next day. After 3 days of being in this room we managed to get an upgrade for 20 cuc more per night. The bed was still not better but we improved in space. Same poor housekeeping service. Overall the staff was nice and managed to have a good time when out of the room.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lipesa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Second attempt by SUNWING to have a good time, FAIL! First the room, the bed is 18 inches off the floor to the top of the mattress.,one short sheet and one full. No blanket, two pillows when put on top of each other would equal half a normal pillow, when asked they brought an extra sheet and pillow. We should have asked for a mosquito coil as I have bites all over my body and I do not react well to them, I look like I have measles. I don't know if bathtubs are in short supply in CUBA because in both resorts the tubs look horrible will post pictures latter. We were in room 1401. Air conditioning in the room worked great unfortunately the room is the only place with working air conditioning, the ones in buffet coll the musicians but not much else. The buffet food again lacked taste or variety. When we went to the a la carte restaurant was surprised to see the exact same food as was being served in buffet, accept for thr pizza which was great. Communication with 99.5% of the staff was a waste of time, not their fault I don't speak Spanish they don't speak English. Overall as the saying goes you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Go down th road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geomac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.3 km away
Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga
0.5 km away
Hotel Roc Barlovento
Hotel Roc Barlovento
#20 of 64 in Varadero
1,981 reviews
2.1 km away
Islazul Mar del Sur Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Club Tropical
Hotel Club Tropical
#45 of 64 in Varadero
513 reviews
0 km away
Starfish Las Palmas
Starfish Las Palmas
#55 of 64 in Varadero
13 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Acuazul
Hotel Acuazul
#54 of 64 in Varadero
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Kawama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Kawama

Address: Primera Avenida y Calle 1 | Reparto Kawama, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: €70 - €170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Club Kawama 3*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Club Kawama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawama Hotel Varadero
Resort All Inclusive Kawama
Kawama Varadero
Club Kawama Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing