We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the end of the world!”
Review of Hotel Club Kawama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Club Kawama
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Second attempt by SUNWING to have a good time, FAIL! First the room, the bed is 18 inches off the floor to the top of the mattress.,one short sheet and one full. No blanket, two pillows when put on top of each other would equal half a normal pillow, when asked they brought an extra sheet and pillow. We should have asked for a mosquito coil as I have bites all over my body and I do not react well to them, I look like I have measles. I don't know if bathtubs are in short supply in CUBA because in both resorts the tubs look horrible will post pictures latter. We were in room 1401. Air conditioning in the room worked great unfortunately the room is the only place with working air conditioning, the ones in buffet coll the musicians but not much else. The buffet food again lacked taste or variety. When we went to the a la carte restaurant was surprised to see the exact same food as was being served in buffet, accept for thr pizza which was great. Communication with 99.5% of the staff was a waste of time, not their fault I don't speak Spanish they don't speak English. Overall as the saying goes you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Go down th road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geomac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Finally got round to giving a review of Hotel Kawama.

Booked this hotel on a B&B basis with partner who is Cuban

We booked due to price for a 3 week stay ... went with an open mind and low expectations ... after staying at Tuxpan July 2016 for 25 nights !

After arriving and eventually getting booked in and given our room by very Surly uninterested reception staff ( more lot follow )

We were taken transported to our room by porter on buggy to get end of Hotel!... As B& B guests he informed us that as B&B guests that we were not permitted to access to majority of the resort !

Room .. I will a honestly never forget the smell ... when we entered !... smelt of Urine !
Anyway tried to be positive as I knew I had paid for what we got !!!

After getting over the smell in our room ... started to try to look on the positives ... not many at that point though ...lol

After going to kiki's restaurant that night (Friday 25TH August ) service was terrible and food not that good ! ... we settled down to our new environment for next 21 nights !

First morning went to breakfast not expecting much ... but OMG ... was totally shocked .... fruit juice Eggs or Ham sandwich ... eventually I got toast every morning ..on request !

So looked around our surroundings on our first day ... area of Hotel we were in looked very run down and pool looked disgusting colour .... lots of Cuban people in the pool.until.late at night drinking ... ( Yes im in Cuba ) and my Fiancee is Cuban ... no problem !

Anyway we settled down to our new environment and got to say definitely grew into hotel Kawama ... !

We ate on a few occasions at the ( can't remember name of restaurant on B& B side of Hotel and got to say food was great ..and cheap ... we paid on average 13cuc for 2 course meal with drinks .!

Beach was amazing at B&B side of Hotel , with a bar in which you could get a beer for 1cuc , coffee for 00.25 cuc .A burger or hotdog 1cuc ... and staff amazing !

Or room was basic .. but with a view over Kawama canal and also the beach !

Staff were great on B& B side of Hotel ... and after we upgraded .. we're great apart from the Reception staff !! ...Honestly they were aggressive unhelpful and arrogant !

In A/inclusive side of Hotel was really good .. pool was amazing and staff at 24 hour bar great ...

We were evacuated from Kawama to Los cactus on 8th September due to hurricane Imra ... got to say that the staff were amazing in getting everyone evacuated especially as there was a lot of frightened tourists that night .. well done for your care and professional that night !

Would I go back to Kawama ... definitely !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Hi Everyone,
Last winter we spent two weeks at Club Kawama. It was a great experience and I would recommend this place to anyone. The only downfall was the food in the main cafeteria, it was awful at best but the ala carte's made up for that. There is tons of local restaurants within walking distance that we ate at and all were amazing. No one came home with any weight loss....so we sure did survive.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fritzy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

This is our third time to Cuba. Great place with so much rich history. I am also a person who loves to give people, places, resorts the benefit of the doubt; and therefore was shocked to know that this hotel unfortunately lived up to the comments left on this site.

This hotel is one of the oldest hotel in Varadero I wasn't aware of this, until I was told by a former resident of Cuba who now resides in Germany.

The staff @ reception can be exceptional rude and disrespectful and if they don't like you, will speak about you in Spanish. DO NOT CHANGE YOUR MONEY @ the hotel there is a surcharge of 5% to change your money. The bank is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

The hotel could do a with a lick of paint and is quite dated. I had severe back pain, because the bed was so uncomfortable and springy ...

The hotel, is very, very, very, popular with the Cuban locals - when it came to meal time, there was a stampede with overloaded food on plates ....

On a positive note - the hotel did move me to another room, because of the bed; but the fridge in the room smelt "incredibly fishy" - the beach was lovely & Ivan (bar man) made great tequila sunrises

Would I go this hotel again ..... no

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Balham1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We chose Kawama as we got a very good price for a 2 week vacation and we wanted to be close to Varadero. We enjoy going out for dinner, and this place was a great location for that. It was in walking distance or a taxi/horse&cart or a cool ride in and egg shaped vehicle. This place has a lot of good and not so good things about it. Not so good first, if you want an up to date room, do not go here, the beds are older, and the place is rustic. The front desk ladies are unbelievably unhelpful. It took me 2 days to get the bottle water for my room. The food, well I have nothing to compare to other resorts as first time in Cuba, but I thought it was better than expected, but.... have to not be picky, yes food is reused in different dishes, but every other AI is the same I have been to. The beach chairs are also a bit gross on the beach torn and moldy. Now for the good things, and yes I think there was a lot of good things. We were in bulding 3 superior room, it was close to everything, the maids did a very good job of cleaning everyday, and we always had hot water, the tv worked and so did the air conditioning, we did have a mini fridge in our room also, no gross bugs either in our room. The main pool area was lots of fun, although people are rude about throwing towel on chairs then off to the beach for half a day then back to the pool chair they have saved all day. The pool was clean, they have bathroom right there and they always had toilet paper. The grounds of the place were also fairly clean. Also pool bar and entertainment are right here by the pool. I enjoyed the daily bingo in the afternoon, so much fun. They made one lady jump in pool with cloths on when she called bingo when it wasn't. The beach here is beautiful, lots of palapas, chairs are a bit grungy, we brought cheap airmatresses and put them on top of chairs and then good. Swimming was sooo nice. I thought the nightly entertainment was realy good, live rock band, dancers, better than some I have seen at other resorts that are nicer.The food in the buffet was fairly good, it was always busy, service was good and waiters were very nice. always found something to eat. They also had a coffee bar which was nice and quiet and had great coffee. The al la cartes, well being there for 2 weeks we went to the 3 of them, and they were o.k. the one beside the buffet had good food. They had a foam party once a week at pool. loud music and lots of foam, it was fun to see. They also had a bbq luncheon on the grounds outside buffett which was also nice. There are some people who come back to this resort year after year after year. We were fortunate to meet a very nice couple, who gave us a few tips on lots of things. We also had a nice special dinner with them in the al la carte, the repeaters are well known to the staff, but they are good to each other in return. So

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank charker2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.3 km away
Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga
0.5 km away
Hotel Roc Barlovento
Hotel Roc Barlovento
#20 of 64 in Varadero
1,982 reviews
2.1 km away
Islazul Mar del Sur Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Club Tropical
Hotel Club Tropical
#45 of 64 in Varadero
513 reviews
0 km away
Starfish Las Palmas
Starfish Las Palmas
#55 of 64 in Varadero
13 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Acuazul
Hotel Acuazul
#54 of 64 in Varadero
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Kawama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Kawama

Address: Primera Avenida y Calle 1 | Reparto Kawama, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: €70 - €170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Club Kawama 3*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Club Kawama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawama Hotel Varadero
Resort All Inclusive Kawama
Kawama Varadero
Club Kawama Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing