We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,240)
Filter reviews
2,240 results
Traveller rating
382
848
565
256
189
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
848
565
256
189
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza quiet resort three bars beach bar mojito bar fries italian restaurant magic show pork smaller resort lots of hot water a la carte great beach cleaned daily great weather peanut butter resort staff
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,240 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just got back....beach....weather....ocean was amazing. The resort itself was ok. We never travelled to this part of Cuba so my review was just comparing where we have been through the years. We didnt care for the food...it was always warm...had some bad experience with meat being not cooked...tge food u seen at lunch was warmed up at supper...we had some issues with birds yes birds in the buffet...they would fly around and poo yes poo on the chairs...eat off peoples plates...it was not great...turned me right off. But the staff were friendly...nice but the birds....The lacartes were impossible to book....we were there a week...always booked solid every day so I cant comment on them. The pool was not available for the first two days...out of service. Now Im a big wine person...love wine...lots of nights the wine was just not there....drank wine out of plastic because we were told they needed the glasses for the buffet?? Rooms were dated but ok...our lady did a great job cleaning...So would I visit this resort again no..was not impressed

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dianne50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeLiveTurquesa1, Manager at Be Live Experience Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We regret to know in a belated way your inquires during the stay in the hotel, of having done it before our collective action in order to propitiate a vacation to your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yesterday, my cousin and I returned from a very pleasant stay at the "Be Live Experience Turquesa" in Varadero, Cuba. I would like to thank Jenny, Carlos and Javier (buffet staff) for their "over the top" service, and Margueritta (house cleaning) for her welcoming and thoughtful attitude. In fact, all staff members we encountered did their best to meet our needs.

The wonderful staff helped to compensate for the much needed renovations at the Turquesa; however, our room was large, the toilet usually worked and with an effort, we were able to lock the balcony door.

Suggestions to future visitors: Bring your own facecloths. Relax and Enjoy!

Room tip: Ask for a room near the beach.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMC025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeLiveTurquesa1, Manager at Be Live Experience Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It is a pleasure to have fulfilled the expectations of your trip. Thank you for choosing us. We wait for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Very good stay from Oct.27-29, 2018. Surprisingly good food in the buffet resto, excellent beach, but crappy Mexican ala carte dinner. Our rooms were clean, yet very dated and run-down. I believe the only good and decent rooms were the blue colored buildings by the courtyard passed the reception area. Don't buy the CUC1 wifi, waste of time and money. Very good rock band for Saturday entertainment.
Special mention to Renier, Yenier, and Yaina for being our gracious hosts in the buffet restaurant.

Room tip: Blue building very near the reception area.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeLiveTurquesa1, Manager at Be Live Experience Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

It is a pleasure to know about your impressions and to know firsthand a pleasant stay. Without hesitation, your comments make our improvement in decision making possible. And so we can offer them a better product. Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018

We have been to Varadero before but this was our first time staying here. It is a smaller and quieter resort compared to others in the area which I liked. It looks like they are renovating the buildings in stages so eventually all should be refurbished which is needed.
Now for the Pros - A nice and central beach on the peninsula, the buffet food was better than I have had elsewhere, the security staff were friendly, the maids were very nice, the buffet restaurant staff were mostly super friendly and nice to deal with, the drinks were good and it was easy to get a taxi quickly for any last minute trips into town.
The Cons - Front desk staff could really use some education on how to be friendly and accommodating to their guests, you had to be there at 10am each day that you wished to book into one of the non-buffet restaurants which meant that we could only eat in them once with our various trips planned to see the beautiful Cuban country. Now saying that the experience at the restaurant was terrible as they ran out of food, service was poor, and they didn't seem to care so maybe this was actually a blessing. The next time I come to Varadero I would definitely choose to stay elsewhere, though if you get a good deal to stay here and come in knowing what to expect or not expect you can still have a nice stay here.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BRDman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeLiveTurquesa1, Manager at Be Live Experience Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to have her back to have a second chance to change her impressions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

This was our first time in Varadero because I usually travel in January and that would be to cold there.
Overall a very pleasant experience. It is off season in Varadero and therefor no crowds, line ups, or shortages that you encounter at Christmas or February, March. The rooms / bathrooms are dated and the one we had, showed some minor damage but the AC worked. You can walk to anywhere on the property within minutes. For some reason there was no gaz at any of the bars for the fountain drinks like soda, cola or the like and the coffee was terrible. I encountered the same issues in Santa Lucia, Brisas last January.

For some reason the majority of the guests came from Russia and Germany. Kind of unusual for us Canadians to be in the minority. I mention this because the Russians I meet spoke very little English, most none, just Russians and they smoke, all of them, non stop. Not at the restaurants and buffet but everywhere else. Germans less though.

If you have not seen or made up your own list of things to bring with you to Cuba here it is again. Copy it, print it and make sure you have the items packed. I am not kidding.

1) Essential: Bring a positive attitude.

2) Face clothes

3) A thermo cup to keep your drink cold and save you a lot of trips to the bar.

4) Your favorite snacks

5) Spices you can not live without. No much offered in Cuba.

6) A spare battery and memory card for you camcorder or camera or charger cable.

7) A spare anything essential( sunglasses, suntan lotion etc. God gave us two arms,legs,eyes ears and one big heart for a good reason) forgot to bring an extra sunglasses mine broke the first day.

8) Learn some Spanish

9) When you leave for the airport pack a sandwich or two and fruit. Especially when you travel with children. It will be hours of waiting before you leave.

10) Should you encounter a problem by all means talk to fellow travelers and/or the staff in a friendly no confrontational manner. Some one may have had the same problem and has the answer. And you will have a happy memory about how helpful your fellow travels and the staff really are.

11) Bring your own ground coffee for the Espresso machine. I love my coffee but gave up drinking theirs. It is worse than instant.

Cheers! Here is to your great vacation!!!

Richard from Montreal

Room tip: If you do not like yours ask to change. A $10 tip may get you an upgrade!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LoveCuba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeLiveTurquesa1, Manager at Be Live Experience Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Thank you for choosing the destination to spend your vacations. We would like to get to know your impressions closely in order to provide you with a better service.
The Hotel counts as Germany's first market since its opening 20 years ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews