We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”
Review of Hotel Vedado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Vedado
Ranked #69 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here as part of an educational tour so not sure how much this cost. I had a satisfactory stay. The hot water worked when I needed it, we had a nice balcony with a view though couldn't go outdoors, the TV had many channels including BBC news, we could open the window for fresh air and there was a live band that played every night in the lobby. Breakfast was included so enjoyed the made-to-order eggs. Located around the corner from a famous jazz club and Old Havana was less than 10 minutes taxi drive away. Only complaint was that we were only given one key to room so had to coordinate with roommate to access if one of us had to go out.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mcmusgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVedadoStJohns, Director Comercial at Hotel Vedado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your comments, and we let everybody knows about them. You can be sure that we will do the best to improve our key service. We are planning to change this metal key for magnetic ones, so this problem will be solved in a few weeks.


Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 711 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel might be ok for you on a Cuban standards. Many tourists and business people visit the hotel, but in general is not what I expected.
Cuba is so expensive specially hotels add taxis but this hotel for a hundred dollars a night should be much better. Is more like a 40 dollar service.
Location is good. Near the malecon and vedado is a nice zone in la Habana. Reception is slow and not American standards friendly.
Rooms are old and dirty. During a 2 night stay I had to kill three baby cockroaches.
Amenities consist in a little bottle of shampoo and another one of shower gel. Algo two mini soap bars.
First day en hot water, warm? Nope. Lukewarm? No.
Second day we did have warm water.
The included breakfast is ok, variety and flavor. Juices are awesome.
The restaurant is nice for dinner es lunch and food is not expensive. For 12 dollars you can have a very nice dinner.
The lobby and bar area is nice. You can watch the soccer games and have a beer. By the way, beverages are too expensive in the hotel.
Pool area and grill place are very nice.
Generally in cuba they have lack of many things. You can go to 3 or 4 stores and not find any bottles of water. Same happened in the hotel when you ask for some beverage or dish and you might find out that they don't have it.
Mattress is very uncomfortable and the sheets are low quality.
You'll find a 32" TV with a good variety of chanels in manu languages.
I wouldn't come back to this hotel, there are many options in cuba

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Febolinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVedadoStJohns, Director Comercial at Hotel Vedado, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear Customer:

We have received your response and we have sent it to the whole team. We appreciate your comments about the hotel, but we assume it as an opportunity for further improvement. Our team strives to improve every day always thinking about it clients.

Thanks for the comments and we assure you that the next guests will find a better hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Sadly, Havana hotels generally seem to be running about double the price of a similar quality hotel anyplace else. While not strictly icky, this hotel is certainly not worth the hundred bucks they feel they can charge if you walk in. The best deal is to shop the internet, pre-book at the best possible price and bite the bullet on quality. In our experience, private homes were far and away a better deal, though difficult to pre-book. A fair solution might be to stay the first night or two in a pre-booked hotel and walk the streets to find a good private stay, as we did. Many beautiful old homes have signs out front advertising rooms for rent, and the money goes to local people.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank CaboSanLucasCocinera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVedadoStJohns, Director Comercial at Hotel Vedado, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear Customer:

We have received your response and we have sent it to the whole team. We appreciate your comments about the hotel, but we assume it as an opportunity for further improvement. Our team strives to improve every day always thinking about it clients.

Thanks for the comments and we assure you that the next guests will find a better hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We stayed at the Hotel Vedado for a week as part of a tour package. The rooms were clean, the air conditioners however were marginal. The hotel staff was very friendly, all of them at every level. The highlight was the lobby bar in the evenings where several different bands played. Cuba is trying to bring its tourist industry to modern standards, but still has a way to go. Our advice is to 'go with the flow', overlook the small things, and just enjoy your stay. Location of the hotel was great however.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kennethsY7291WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVedadoStJohns, Director Comercial at Hotel Vedado, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear guest,
We appreciate your comments and you can rest assure we are working on your suggestions to improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

We did not pay for or expect a 4 or 5-star hotel. We were told it would be 3-star and it was close, although 2.5 might have been more accurate. Rooms were ready at 4 so we left luggage and toured the area for a few hours. Nice bellman named Mario checked our luggage. Room was warm at first but it was because A/C was on fan. Once we adjusted the window unit, it was cool enough within 2 or 3 hours. Best view was of an old apartment building next door. Daily free breakfast was good. Nice gentleman making omelets warranted a daily tip. In the hotel lobby, there is a bar area with several tables in front of a band stand. Good, lively music from 6 p.m. until midnight daily. Lots of fun. Wifi was no good in rooms but OK in the lobby. Had numerous college kids in lobby all the time surfing internet. Several US colleges had kids here on a 3-week study program and they seemed to enjoy it. Ladies cleaning our room were friendly and great. We gennerously tipped them after our 7th and final night. Neighborhood is poor but good. Just by walking the nearby streets, we found several needy people who were so happy to receive gifts from these visiting Texans -- combs, brushes, toothpaste, scarfs, etc. If you want a 4 or 5-star, a few blocks away is the Hotel Nacional for aboud $170 to $200 per night. This was about $55 per night. We liked this one better because it is surrounded by the common Cuban people, who are so friendly and fun. The famous Malecon is only 4 blocks away.

Room Tip: Soon as you get to your room, adjust the A/C to a real cool temperature and then go over 2 or 3 dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank winwinwin333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.7 km away
Hotel Sercotel Paseo Habana
6.1 km away
Be Live Havana City Copacabana
0.4 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
0 km away
Carrusel Mariposa
Carrusel Mariposa
#57 of 80 in Havana
38 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 80 in Havana
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vedado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vedado

Address: Calle O e/ 23 y 25 | Vedado, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Price Range: €71 - €138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vedado 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The complex is located in the Vedado area, 25 km from Jose Marti International Airport. Only 200 meters from Havana seafront and close to La Rampa, a major artery of the city that agglomerated different ministries, banks, galleries, shops, craft fairs, Night Centres, Restaurants, Airlines Offices, etc. It has 291 rooms. It has two restaurants to the open letter from 12 am to 12 pm, and two restaurants open buffet (breakfast and dinner) from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm. It also has a cafeteria open 24 hours and two lobby bar also 24 hours. It has two pools with snack bar, open daily from 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 pm, a gym with sauna and massage service (11:00 a.m. to 8:00 pm), Medical Services and Business Center serviced and WIFI INTERNET. Also has a Tourism bureau for selling excursions, and two souvenir shops. Do not have service for the disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Vedado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedado Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing