We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your ear plugs”
Review of Hotel El Bosque

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel El Bosque
Ranked #50 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

The Hotel El Bosque is in a lovely neighborhood in Havana, a stone's throw from the city's biggest park. The hotel is small and pretty, with a decent restaurant that overlooks a forest. The rooms are small and clean.

BUT unless you plan to dance until 2 am, this isn't the place for you. Below the hotel is an outdoor dance club with amplified music (including a siren on one night). Music starts around 9 and goes until 1 or 2 -- making sleep in many rooms downright impossible. We were there for four nights, including Fri and Sat. when maybe one might expect noise. The music was as loud and went on as long on Sun and Mon nights though.

The hotel is a 10 or 15CUC taxi ride from downtown Havana (a disadvantage) but we thought we were swapping convenience for quiet. Hardly!

Photo is looking out the window of our room at daybreak- lovely. Could be a terrific place to stay were it not for the incredibly loud music.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank MayorO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2016

The standard of this hotel was pritty good and service was excellant. Really nice breakfast
Price was a pit high and would not go back to Cuba again for that reason. Better value for money places round the world to travel to and a lot easier to get to.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank 280brianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

The hotel is a bit away from the city center in a nice quiet residential area. The pool is the community pool, so I had the opportunity to enjoy meeting the locals. The open air dining room offers serene breakfast time with sunrise just over the railing. Food was fresh and plentiful.The cafe is deliciously Cuban. To those who don't speak Spanish, bosque means forest and it's an appropriate name for this sweet little hotel. Yes, the elevator is quirky and hot water more luke warm but in the summer this is a gift after a long day. The staff more than make up for these minor wrinkles. The rooms were clean and the AC very cold. The special attention given by the houekeeping reflects that famous Cuban hospitality. I had no problem getting internet cards or any other request filled by the front desk. They were wonderful. There's a little neighborhood palidar just down the street as well.

Room Tip: Higher, rear rooms have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerFromParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I had the absolute pleasure and honor of staying at Hotel El Bosque this past summer on a study abroad trip. There I made good friends with the staff like our server Yuliet and our maid Yudina. The open-air lobby was beautiful to walk into at night. The view from the roof is BREATHTAKING. You can see all of downtown Havana. We spent many a night playing music and talking up there.
Hotel El Bosque provided man opportunities to learn from the Cuban culture and people. All of the staff are very warm, welcoming, and actually want to talk to you about themselves and their country. The hotel itself is beautiful and has a wonderful old-fashioned feel. It might get a little hot sometimes, but that's thanks to Cuba's tropical climate. Thankfully, there's air conditioning in all of the rooms!
I can't say thank you enough to the hotel for our great stay here. Good food, nice people, great sleep. What more do you need?

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Blake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

I stayed at this hotel with a group of 15 for a 3 week study abroad experience. I have traveled throughout Latin America and I can say with all sincerity that this hotel is one of the most comfortable and welcoming I have encountered. My room was in great condition and my maid service - Yulia - was excellent. She made swans, turtles and hearts out of my towels every day and left the bed covers in lovely shapes that made my welcome "home" extremely nice. Air-conditioning was always cool, shower and bathroom were always clean and working with hot water. The wait staff are extremely friendly - Yuliet, Annie, Dayana, Pavel, Alain, Marcos and all of the staff are very friendly especially if you smile and are friendly back. Morning coffee is a little weak but great espressos and cappuccinos are cheap and quickly served. Breakfast buffet is plentiful and varied. Front desk staff - Boris, Jorge, Mylady and others are friendly and helpful. They are extremely helpful with restaurant advice, directions, wifi cards, how to purchase phone recharges, etc. You name it, they have an answer. The security staff are also wonderful. Rigoberto and Alexander are two gentlemen who assisted me multiple times with questions about taxis and getting assistance to go to the nearby clinic or pharmacy. I am very happy to say I have plans to return to El Bosque next year.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back side have lovely, lush, tropical views and terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank tcastillo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
2.7 km away
Be Live Havana City Copacabana
2.5 km away
Hotel Sercotel Paseo Habana
0 km away
Carrusel Mariposa
Carrusel Mariposa
#57 of 80 in Havana
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 km away
Tropicoco Hotel
Tropicoco Hotel
#59 of 80 in Havana
638 reviews
5.8 km away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
3.3 km away
Hotel Roc Presidente
Hotel Roc Presidente
#15 of 80 in Havana
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Bosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Bosque

Address: 28A e/ 49A y 49C | Reparto Kohly Municipio Playa, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Price Range: €72 - €227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Bosque 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
El Bosque Hotel
El Bosque Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing