We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“<<<<<<<<<<<<<<Location, location, location”
Review of Hotel San Miguel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Miguel
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Havana
italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“<<<<<<<<<<<<<<Location, location, location”
Reviewed 29 May 2011

The title says it all really, this hotel is in a great location; just on the northern edge of Old Havana. Handy for most of the sights. On our first night (of a 3 night stay) the AC in our room (24) didn't work, and staff tried to convice us that this was normal - "just wait a few minutes and it will be OK" - of course it wasn't; that was one HOT night in Old Havana. Our tour rep (Press Tours) got involved next day and we were transferred to another room (33) in which AC worked perfectly. But aside from that the staff were very friendly and helpful (one guy even let me send a text message to Italy on his phone when mine would no longer work).
Breakfast was served in the first floor restaurant, and was very good. Great views were to be had from the terrace on the third floor. Unlike another reviewer I didn't find the room(s) too small although the bathroom was rather on the small side.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank klactoveedsedstene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    84
    54
    15
    18
See reviews for
29
103
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We were unable to get into the hotel we'd booked as there was some problem with the water, so we were moved to San Miguel. We initially thought we'd only stay for one night but then the management offered us the chance to stay for the full three nights we were happy to accept.

This is a beautiful little hotel in a great location between the waterfront and the old town and walking distance from most of Havana's sites. The building itself has recently been restored and is all marble and gilded mirrors. Its a bit over the top in places but it certainly has charm. Our room had a very high ceiling which made it look a little out of proportion and was full of old fashioned Cuban family photos and portraits. I thought this was quirky but my girlfriend found it a bit spooky!

The room wasn't amazingly clean but at least everything worked - particularly the air conditioning which was extremely effective. We had a small, yet functional bathroom but as our room was at the back we had no view. The views from the front of the building, especially from the breakfast room and the terrace bar, are fantastic.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. When our safe didn't work they managed to replace the faulty door within a day and in the meantime kept our valuables in the hotel safe for us.

Breakfast was basically a choice of style of eggs every day with some mixed fruit, bread and marvellous coffee. It was delicious and absolutely perfect for us but I could see how you'd tire of this after more than three nights.

I have only one gripe; avoid changing money at this hotel as the exchange rate was awful and they charged a lot of commission!

Overall this had the feel of a small hotel that had been carefully restored and was well managed. Despite the colonial fittings and décor it felt modern and airy and the staff were very helpful. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
421 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We stayed here just one night while passing through Havana and liked it a lot. It's a relatively recent refurbishment of a fine old building, done wth tact and fidelity to the original strucure. We were upgraded to a junior suite - a spacious room in the front of the hotel, where everything worked (not always the case in Cuba...). The position gave us good views, though there was a certain amount of traffic/street noise from quite early in the morning. Breakfast average for the Cuban hotels we used. Staff seemed keen and on the ball.

Later in our trip we stayed at the nearby Florida hotel - a place to avoid. Stay here instead.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

I got moved here on my first night after being told the hotel I had booked was full. This seems quite common in Havana.

Room was a good size, clean, high ceilinged, two sets of doors with balconies with a great view of the castles across the harbour.

Road a bit noisy outside. Breakfast uninspiring. I found the communal areas a bit soul-less.

An average hotel

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

The hotel is very beautiful, the high ceilings, stunning staircases and modern bathrooms. However, the pushy staff here left me with a bad taste in my mouth after my stay. There was 1 staff member who tried to charge us 2 pesos for absolutely everything, and we constantly felt we were being ripped off by this staff member. When we queried all of the 'additional' costs with another staff member, we discovered there weren't fees associated with these sevices after all.

Also stayed at Hostal Valencia while in Havana, and thought it was much better value.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
4.0 km away
Hotel Raquel
Hotel Raquel
#15 of 79 in Havana
707 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel del Tejadillo
Hotel del Tejadillo
#41 of 79 in Havana
316 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel El Comendador
Hotel El Comendador
#37 of 79 in Havana
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#24 of 79 in Havana
724 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Terral
Hotel Terral
#7 of 79 in Havana
466 reviews
4.3 km away
Armadores de Santander Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Miguel

Property: Hotel San Miguel
Address: Calle de Cuba 2, esquina a Pena Pobre | Vedado, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Miguel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel San Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Miguel Hostal Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing