We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
6
10
17
23
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
10
17
23
33
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

The Cuban government took us to the Hotel Tulipan to wait out Hurricane Irma from Sept. 9 to September 12. They were doing their best to keep us safe. This is not a hotel for tourists. To be fair to them, we had no electricity or water for much of our visit. Staff tried to provide meals as best they could. We found the hotel to be dirty, with broken toilet seats, cockroaches, mould, doors that they could not keep shut in a big wind. I would not recommend this hotel as a place to choose to stay. However, we are thankful, it kept us safe and dry for the Hurricane experience.

Room Tip: I would suggest that travellers avoid this hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bolster_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Manuel C, Director General at Hotel Tulipan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Mr. Blaster.
We are very grateful for your comment and gratitude towards our staff. Our major aim was, first to make clients feel protected and safe considering the seriousness, of a meteorological phenomenon like this one ,secondly the full satisfaction of clients either during a short or long stay, regarding our services.
Concerning the water and electricity issues, we would like to remind you of the fact that you arrived the hotel due to the meteorological phenomenon previously mentioned. This hurricane provoked strong winds which brought about power failures and the water supply as well. Water supply or bottled drinkable water were no problems, though. The supply of well prepared foods did not constitute a problem, either.
Regarding the cockroaches issue, it is our duty to explain that there is a very effective systematic cleaning plan. It is carried out 4 times a week, checked by the management personnel and developed by the Ministry of public Health to, mainly, avoid infections and illnesses of either, clients or working staff.
The lack of cleaning and state of the toilet seat evidently damaged has also an answer. The room service employee in charge of having the service ready was laid off through the interruption of the work agreement because of the failure to comply with her functions.
We would like to thank you for the positive comment made by you related to our treatment.
We expect you be pleased with our reply
regards the manager Carlos M. Cabanes Rivero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Stayed here in December with a group for a school trip. Reading previous reviews helped better prepare me for what to expect, and they were pretty accurate. It's definitely the worst hotel I've ever stayed at, but I general aim for nothing less than a Holiday Inn. Our room had stained blankets and the shower flooded. When we had to use the blankets and towels to mop up the flood, we called for more towels. The phone sounded like you were speaking over tin cans with strings, and it took an hour for a maid to come up. She didn't have towels, refused to give me more towels without giving her old ones. She took the old ones, including one that was still clean. It took her 20 minutes to come back and she didn't even knock, just walked in, when she came back with them. One was dirty. I pointed it out and she just shrugged and said tomorrow. We addressed this with our tour guide who spoke to the hotel. When we got back the following evening the shower was fixed and we had new, clean blankets on the bed. Others in our group had no hot water, worms coming up the drain to the shower, cots that weren't even real beds. The doors to the bathroom didn't shut, some lights didn't have shades on them. I recommend bringing shower shoes, sheets, and towels if you stay here. Also there is not be a hair dryer. WiFi only worked in the lobby, and the wifi cards they sold were shotty. Don't count on more than 15 minutes at a time. The breakfast was also strange and terrible (especially compared to all the other food in Cuba which was delicious). We were the only group of tourists staying at the hotel. Very hard to get around to other attractions in Havana. It's not within walking distance of anything and since it's not a tourist hotel, getting taxis is troublesome. If you're looking for a comfortable vacation-type hotel, this isn't it.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Manuel C, Director General at Hotel Tulipan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017
Google Translation

Estimada Laura somos una nueva administracion agradecemos y trabajamos con cada una de las opiniones de nuestros clientes a pesar del tiempo comentarle que hemos realizado acciones de mejora en mas de 200 habitaciones mejorando el confort de las mismas asi como en el buffet , todo ello en aras de un mejor servicio y satisfaccion de nuestros clientes , lamentamos profundamente las insatisfacciones de su visita y la convidamos a que compruebe por usted misma las mejoras que hemos realizado
reiteramos el agradecimiento por su opinion
saludos Cordiales y respetuosos
Carlos M. Cabanes Rivero
Director General Hotel Tulipan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

We went in havana for our honeymmon but this is the worst hotel i ve ever been.. it was far far away from everything. The room was not clean at all. The bthroom was dirty and the pillows inacceptables. The breakfast eas disgusting. We had to search and find another hotel. This is the worst hotel i ve been in my hole life!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank eleftheriiiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Manuel C, Director General at Hotel Tulipan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017
Google Translation

somos una nueva administracion , que agradece sus comentarios y trabajamos incansablemente para elevar el confort de las habitaciones y del servicio buffet , agradecerle nuevamente y decirle que hemos realizado mejoras para lograr la satisfaccion de nuestros clientes en lo estructural y en el personal

saludos cordiales y respetuosos
Carlos M. Cabanes Rivero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I traveled with a non-profit group that had a local agent who booked us into this unfortunate place. As a place to stay, it's tolerable: like a high-rise Motel 6. My room was clean enough, and had hot water and decent water pressure; others did not. Room safe didn't work nor did the elevator; luckily noisy A/C did. Reception was perfunctory; breakfast in a dreary dining hall with bland food but decent coffee. Location is in a "normal" neighborhood, quite far from Old Havana and other attractions, except Revolution Square is within walking distance. But don't get lost walking back (like I did) since all the Soviet-era housing blocks look the same. The locals are great though, with a kind fellow showing me the way back to the hotel. Gracias!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sfyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Manuel C, Director General at Hotel Tulipan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017
Google Translation

Estimado cliente somos una nueva gerencia y queriamos que supiera que el Hotel hoy muestra una total diferencia con las experiencias negativas vividas por usted , hoy se ha revertido un grupo importante de deficiencias y realizado acciones de mejora en todas las areas de alojamiento y gastronomia
reiterarle nuestra mas profunda pena por las insatisfacciones que tuvo durante su estancia y
en su proxima visita a cuba compruebe por usted lo que planteamos
saludos cordiales
Carlos Cabanes Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

I was rather apprehensive when booking this hotel after reading some of the reviews. These were totally unfounded. I stayed for three nights. My room was cleaned daily. There was hot water in the bathroom and no problems with water supplies. I found the horseless staff friendly and helpful. There was a good buffet breakfast. The area around the hotel was perfectly safe during the day ( I didn't go out after dark). I found the hotel to be excellent value for money and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Manuel C, Director General at Hotel Tulipan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017
Google Translation

Estimado cliente somos una nueva gerencia y agradecemos su opinion , nos encontramos realizando mejoras en el alojamiento y la gastronomia a fin de lograr la satisfaccion de nuestros clientes
saludos cordiales
Carlos M. Cabanes Rivero
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews