We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
6
10
17
23
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
10
17
23
33
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

We went in havana for our honeymmon but this is the worst hotel i ve ever been.. it was far far away from everything. The room was not clean at all. The bthroom was dirty and the pillows inacceptables. The breakfast eas disgusting. We had to search and find another hotel. This is the worst hotel i ve been in my hole life!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank eleftheriiiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Manuel C, Director General at Hotel Tulipan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017
Google Translation

somos una nueva administracion , que agradece sus comentarios y trabajamos incansablemente para elevar el confort de las habitaciones y del servicio buffet , agradecerle nuevamente y decirle que hemos realizado mejoras para lograr la satisfaccion de nuestros clientes en lo estructural y en el personal

saludos cordiales y respetuosos
Carlos M. Cabanes Rivero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I traveled with a non-profit group that had a local agent who booked us into this unfortunate place. As a place to stay, it's tolerable: like a high-rise Motel 6. My room was clean enough, and had hot water and decent water pressure; others did not. Room safe didn't work nor did the elevator; luckily noisy A/C did. Reception was perfunctory; breakfast in a dreary dining hall with bland food but decent coffee. Location is in a "normal" neighborhood, quite far from Old Havana and other attractions, except Revolution Square is within walking distance. But don't get lost walking back (like I did) since all the Soviet-era housing blocks look the same. The locals are great though, with a kind fellow showing me the way back to the hotel. Gracias!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sfyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Manuel C, Director General at Hotel Tulipan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017
Google Translation

Estimado cliente somos una nueva gerencia y queriamos que supiera que el Hotel hoy muestra una total diferencia con las experiencias negativas vividas por usted , hoy se ha revertido un grupo importante de deficiencias y realizado acciones de mejora en todas las areas de alojamiento y gastronomia
reiterarle nuestra mas profunda pena por las insatisfacciones que tuvo durante su estancia y
en su proxima visita a cuba compruebe por usted lo que planteamos
saludos cordiales
Carlos Cabanes Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

I was rather apprehensive when booking this hotel after reading some of the reviews. These were totally unfounded. I stayed for three nights. My room was cleaned daily. There was hot water in the bathroom and no problems with water supplies. I found the horseless staff friendly and helpful. There was a good buffet breakfast. The area around the hotel was perfectly safe during the day ( I didn't go out after dark). I found the hotel to be excellent value for money and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Manuel C, Director General at Hotel Tulipan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017
Google Translation

Estimado cliente somos una nueva gerencia y agradecemos su opinion , nos encontramos realizando mejoras en el alojamiento y la gastronomia a fin de lograr la satisfaccion de nuestros clientes
saludos cordiales
Carlos M. Cabanes Rivero
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Not a good hotel at all. Dirty, bad bed, bad linens, thin door- you could hear everything outside the room. Scary elevator with power cuts.

It had hot water, the staff was friendly, it seemed pretty safe and the government run Wifi worked, so that was good.

Room Tip: Lobby Wifi
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Govis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Manuel C, Director General at Hotel Tulipan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017
Google Translation

Somos una nueva gerencia , agradecemos su opinion y lamentamos la experiencia negativa que usted vivio
saludos Carlos Cabanes
Director General Hotel Tulipan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We were booked into this hotel by a major UK tour operator which shall remain nameless but should know better.
The whole tour group had a look at the hotel and the rooms and were unanimous in deciding we were not prepared to stay there. The hotel was:-
• In a very intimidating part of Havana from which we could not walk to anywhere let alone use our free time to wander
• Corridors were dark and dingy, missing lights and open to the elements
• Stairway was crumbling and had detached itself from the landing almost completely at one point
• Fire alarm boxes were hanging from the walls by the wires
• Some doors looked like they had been kicked in
Our room
• Smelled of damp, mildew and pee
• Had air-conditioning unit surrounded by odd bits of polystyrene
• Had damp on the walls inside and out
• Dirty bedding, i.e. pillows and pee-soaked mattresses.
• A mattress cover which had a number of bodily fluids on it.
• Outlook onto a poor area of Havana
• Corridor flooded when it rained as stairwells were open to outside

Despite our best efforts to find an alternative we spent a hideous night in this pit of a hotel. One guest used one of his own used t-shirts to cover the stinking pillow he was stuck with. I used a blanket to cover the springs which were sticking through the mattress and therefore found the grim mattress cover beneath.
In the morning we all checked out and put our cases on the tour bus, determined not to stay another night. And we didn't.

Room Tip: Check that your tour company is not planning to use it either. Reception was full of dismayed tourists from all over the world.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MKR61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Manuel C, Director General at Hotel Tulipan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017
Google Translation

Estimado cliente somos una nueva gerencia , agradecemos su opinion y lamentamos profundamente su experiencia negativa , comunicarle que nuestro hotel hoy tiene un grupo de mejoras importantes que contribuyen a evitar que experiencias como la suya no se repitan a otros clientes
saludos cordiales y respetuosos
Carlos Cabanes
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews