We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
6
10
17
23
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
10
17
23
33
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We were booked into this hotel by a major UK tour operator which shall remain nameless but should know better.
The whole tour group had a look at the hotel and the rooms and were unanimous in deciding we were not prepared to stay there. The hotel was:-
• In a very intimidating part of Havana from which we could not walk to anywhere let alone use our free time to wander
• Corridors were dark and dingy, missing lights and open to the elements
• Stairway was crumbling and had detached itself from the landing almost completely at one point
• Fire alarm boxes were hanging from the walls by the wires
• Some doors looked like they had been kicked in
Our room
• Smelled of damp, mildew and pee
• Had air-conditioning unit surrounded by odd bits of polystyrene
• Had damp on the walls inside and out
• Dirty bedding, i.e. pillows and pee-soaked mattresses.
• A mattress cover which had a number of bodily fluids on it.
• Outlook onto a poor area of Havana
• Corridor flooded when it rained as stairwells were open to outside

Despite our best efforts to find an alternative we spent a hideous night in this pit of a hotel. One guest used one of his own used t-shirts to cover the stinking pillow he was stuck with. I used a blanket to cover the springs which were sticking through the mattress and therefore found the grim mattress cover beneath.
In the morning we all checked out and put our cases on the tour bus, determined not to stay another night. And we didn't.

Room Tip: Check that your tour company is not planning to use it either. Reception was full of dismayed tourists from all over the world.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MKR61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Manuel C, Director General at Hotel Tulipan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017
Google Translation

Estimado cliente somos una nueva gerencia , agradecemos su opinion y lamentamos profundamente su experiencia negativa , comunicarle que nuestro hotel hoy tiene un grupo de mejoras importantes que contribuyen a evitar que experiencias como la suya no se repitan a otros clientes
saludos cordiales y respetuosos
Carlos Cabanes
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

I agree with the previous reviews- the hotel is really bad. It's old, not well-maintained, very very basic. I can't complain about the bed- I slept well, BUT there was no hot water and that was the biggest problem for me. Apparently some of the rooms had ( we travelled in group and shared information)- it depends on which floor the room is and in which side of the building. The staff was helpful when any issue was addressed to them (incl. searching a room with hot water...) but that of course took time and unfortunately can't change anyone's opinion about the hotel. The breakfast was simple but OK.
Surely- I don't recommend the hotel to anyone, but as other reviewers stated- you get what you paid for :) If you are desperate and need a bed in Havana- you will survive for night or two at Tulipan :)
p.s. definitely don't go there if you're travelling with children!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Maya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Manuel C, Director General at Hotel Tulipan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017
Google Translation

Estimado cliente somos una nueva gerencia , lamentamos profundamente las insatisfacciones durante su estancia , informarle que el hotel hoy tiene un grupo de mejoras en lo estructural , funcional y los recursos humanos en funcion de brindar un mejor servicio al cliente que nos visita . le pedidmos que cuando regrese a nuestro pais compruebe por si mismo las mejoras
Saludos cordiales y respetuosos
Carlos M. Cabanes Rivero
Director General Hotel Tulipan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

I stayed in the Hotel Tulipan as a last minute booking on my trip to Cuba. The door to my room came off in my hand, the toilet was so dirty that they had to replace it on the third day and the food was almost inedible.

In addition, at breakfast one morning it was so over-crowded that we were actually locked into the room and not allowed out until the crowd had thinned outside.

Normally I am loathe to write a bad review of anywhere I have stayed as most places are worth the benefit of the doubt - that is not the case here.

The hotel is tired and so are the staff. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Book early and book elsewhere
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_J_Walton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Manuel C, Director General at Hotel Tulipan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017
Google Translation

Estimado cliente somos una nueva gerencia , lamentamos profundamente las insatisfacciones durante su estancia , informarle que el hotel hoy tiene un grupo de mejoras en lo estructural , funcional y los recursos humanos en funcion de brindar un mejor servicio al cliente que nos visita . le pedidmos que cuando regrese a nuestro pais compruebe por si mismo las mejoras
Saludos cordiales y respetuosos
Carlos M. Cabanes Rivero
Director General Hotel Tulipan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015

We stayed here in December, not by choice, we were booked into Bella Habana and when we arrived we were told that they had a problem with the water quality and were moving all their guests to the Tulipan (a sister hotel I guess). It was alright, I don't know what other people were whining about. Yeah, the beds weren't super comfortable, but they were clean, there was no water pressure, but it was hot, the breakfast was cold, but there were plenty of options to get around it. It was a 10 minute walk to the Plaza de la Revolution, there was a bank and a money changing place around the corner. The best thing about the hotel were the evenings. At around 8 or 9, everyone in the hotel someone ended up in the lobby to buy cheap drinks at the bar, sit on the couches and socialize. There was a local band at least one of the evenings, and all the staff we met were nice to us - the desk clerk made several phone calls for us to the tour operator to find out what was going on with the other hotel. I'm sure it was cheap, I know I didn't pay a lot for the other place, and although it has better reviews, we had a decent place to sleep, and a great stay in Havana.

Stayed: December 2015
2  Thank 290lamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Manuel C, Director General at Hotel Tulipan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017
Google Translation

Estimado cliente somos una nueva gerencia , lamentamos profundamente las insatisfacciones durante su estancia , informarle que el hotel hoy tiene un grupo de mejoras en lo estructural , funcional y los recursos humanos en funcion de brindar un mejor servicio al cliente que nos visita . le pedidmos que cuando regrese a nuestro pais compruebe por si mismo las mejoras
Saludos cordiales y respetuosos
Carlos M. Cabanes Rivero
Director General Hotel Tulipan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

Very dirty... Room so old and dirty...Beds worst that ever slept. No hot water. Staff so rude and unprofessional.... Do not stay there... Food oh please don't even try it.
So dirty .Flys everywhere
Do not go there

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kwnstantina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Manuel C, Director General at Hotel Tulipan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017
Google Translation

Estimado cliente somos una nueva gerencia , lamentamos profundamente las insatisfacciones durante su estancia , informarle que el hotel hoy tiene un grupo de mejoras en lo estructural , funcional y los recursos humanos en funcion de brindar un mejor servicio al cliente que nos visita . le pedidmos que cuando regrese a nuestro pais compruebe por si mismo las mejoras
Saludos cordiales y respetuosos
Carlos M. Cabanes Rivero
Director General Hotel Tulipan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews