We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room in colonial building”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sierra-Barroso's Colonial House
Ranked #77 of 713 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed in Sierra/Barroso´s Colonial House for three nights. The owner, who speaks English very well, is very helpful and provided us with a nice room at the front of the building. The room has its own fridge (containing beer, soda's and water), fan and airco. The bathroom is ok, the toilet may need a toilet seat :-). Room is cleaned every day. The casa has a very nice common area, having a small balcony with views over Blanco Street (noisy on Sunday afternoons when Cubans get drunk at the corner of the street). The casa is situated five blocks from Paseo de Marti and a few blocks from Casa de la Musica. Breakfast is good and served in the kitchen of the owners.

Contact information:
Ing. Rigoberto Sierra & Dr. Raisa Barroso's Colonial House
rbarroso@infomed.sld.cu
http://www.sierrabarroso.webcindario.com
126 Blanco St between Animas and Trocaderos St. Havana Center.
Fixed Phone number:(+53 7) 8613943 ; My CellPhone (+53) 5332 2796.

Room Tip: Pick the room at the front of the casa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

Located within walking distance of downtown Havana the Malecon a few streets away. Modern whisper quiet airconditioner a true bonus for a goods night sleep. Riga and his family were perfect hosts. I am only sorry I couldn't stay longer.Highly recommend this Casa.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Rigo & family provide true Cuban hospitality from the moment you arrive. They not only make you feel at home, but you'll feel Cuban by the time you depart, which you'll greatly resist. It's charming, authentic, comfortable, convenient, and yummy. Whether you're traveling as a small group, family, couple, single, female or male, straight or gay, you will feel safe and welcome by the Sierra Barroso family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amsierra55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed in this casa for 3 nights and the location is very good - easy short walks to Habana Vieja and key locations in Havana Centro. The house is clean, has a beautiful shared area + a balcony perfect for watching the street. The benefit of staying with Rigoberto is that he speaks very good English and is very helpful. Stupidly, when planning our trip, we didn't book a car in advance and Rigo rescued us by pulling strings with his friends and spent hours of his time helping us.

The room itself was very basic and may benefit from a touch of TLC (eg. no deco as such and random bedding). Keep in mind there are no seat covers on the toilet in this casa as Rigo believes them to be unhygienic. The shower water was hot in the mornings but only tepid in the evenings.

Breakfast of fresh fruit, fresh juice, tea/ coffee and omelette is standard across all Cuban casas and was unfailingly top quality.

Room Tip: we had room 1 with a window but the street is extremely noisy all night long so you may not get much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

It's been my first trip to Cuba and thanks to Rigo everything went smooth. He helped with everything I needed and provided much more than just a roof over my head. 1. fast contact by e-mail 2. English- speaking 3. beautiful house in great location 4. spotless clean rooms 5. beautiful family 6. help with booking casas in other locations in Cuba 7. arranging transportation. My friends and I spent 5 nights in Rigo's casa at the beginning of our trip in Cuba and when we came back to la Habana and the house was fully booked, he arranged a very nice casa on the same street, at his neighbour's.

I really highly recommend this casa, especially for travellers who go to Cuba for the first time and need some support :)

Room Tip: One room with a window and one without. Doesn't make much difference if you consider this only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.3 km away
Casa Calderon
Casa Calderon
#47 of 713 in Havana
133 reviews
0.3 km away
Aby's Casa in Cuba
Aby's Casa in Cuba
#56 of 713 in Havana
98 reviews
1.2 km away
B&B Central Havana
B&B Central Havana
#24 of 713 in Havana
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
CasavanaCuba
CasavanaCuba
#9 of 713 in Havana
721 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
0.5 km away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra-Barroso's Colonial House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra-Barroso's Colonial House

Address: 126 Blanco Street | entre C/ Animas y C/ Trocadero, Havana Havana Center, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 713 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range: €21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing