We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$50
TravelocityUS$50
Orbitz.comUS$50
TripadvisorUS$50
Booking.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
50
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
50
2
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2020

We stayed for three nights in January 2020. The old character home is in great condition, well maintained and spotlessly clean. The hosts, Wilson and Diamela are wonderful people. Their English is somewhat limited, but with the aid of "charades", communication was no problem. They gave us excellent references to local restaurants all within easy walking distance of the casa.

Casa de Luca is located in a quiet residential neighbourhood, but only blocks from a small shopping and restaurant area. They have 4 beautiful rooms, each with a private bath. Our room was in a small building adjacent to the main house, but the other three are in the main house. We had air conditioning and private bathroom with shower, although water pressure was a bit light when having a hot shower. Wifi was available with a prepaid internet card, I think; we were on vacation and didn't use the wifi.

Every morning we served a beautiful breakfast with several fresh fruit choices, eggs, and baked goods, as well as the most incredible fresh juice and coffee.

Wilson and Diamela arranged a taxi with their friend Leo who speaks English well and drives a beautiful licensed '57 Chev taxi. We spent two half days with Leo seeing the sights of Havana and then driving to Jibacoa where we stayed for another 11 days. Leo is also a great guy with lots of good information about Cuba.

Everything about our stay at Casa de Luca was wonderful. The room was immaculate and comfortable and the people incredible.

Room tip: The upstairs room we stayed required negotiating a narrow staircase. Stay in the main house if mobility is a concern.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbyyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hostal Colonial D, Proprietario at Hostal Colonial Casa de Luca, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2020

Thank you very much "con nuestro corazones"!! You will always be welcome...saludos desde La Habana CUBA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2019 via mobile

I didn’t think Cuba’s accomodation would be up to the standard of this beautiful place we stayed at! I came with 2 friends and we had a bed each, with air conditioning, a perfectly kept bathroom and a kitchen, where a lovely breakfast was made every morning with fruits, coffee, bread + condiments and sweet bread etc.
Aside from being in a great location in Vedado, we were in love with not only the neighborhood, but the house itself and most importantly the lovely host Luca! I have never felt more at home. Everything about staying here was so safe and Luca was amazing in showing us the local map, explaining how the internet works, and he organized 2 amazing tours for us which we would not have been able to do as easily ourselves! He was always looking out for us and giving advice and generally being so comforting and friendly! It’s rare to find someone like this.
One tour he helped us with was a vintage open roof car tour of the old city, and our favourite was an all day trip to Vinales with a great English speaking guide and I could not recommend this place more!
It’s been a week since we were there and I miss everything about Cuba but mainly our lovely home and Luca!!
This is the ideal place for solo travelers, families or even couple! We were not far from the old town but staying here is better as the food around is more than 3x cheaper that in the old town!
When I go back I am only going to stay here and I highly recommend it for everyone!!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ingsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hostal Colonial D, Proprietario at Hostal Colonial Casa de Luca, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2019

Amazing girls Around The World! Thank you very much Inga. We send you a lot of cuban Kisses!!! With love from La Habana CUBA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2019 via mobile

We had an excellent time at Umberto's B&B. All the staff made us feel at home right away and assisted with planning our daily activities. Breakfast was a good choice too. Very central location for Vedado. 15 mins walk to la rampa. Thanks again Umberto - ciao a dopo!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank philippvonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
umbertod586, Proprietario at Hostal Colonial Casa de Luca, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2019

Hi Phil!!! Thank you very much!! I hope see you and Yulia again...."one of these days"......::))). FOREVER YOUNG MY BROTHER!!! Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights and we couldn’t be more thankful to Diamela and Wilson for their hospitality. At the risk of sounding biased, possibly the best hosts in all of Havana!! The building itself is in great shape, clean and comfortable. A/C in our room was a blessing after full days in the sapping Habana heat and humidity. Close to many restaurants of good value and tasty meals, and a pleasant stroll to attractions such as Plaza de Revolucion and Malecon. We will recommend this place to anyone we know travelling to Habana. It may not be in the city centre, but the cost of a short 10 minute taxi ride plus the nightly rate is still less than half the cost of most “hotels” in the city and it’s in a safe neighbourhood away from the tourist congestion.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank ozzie_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews