We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
45
152
151
85
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
152
151
85
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews daily shuttle night life small hotel lots of fresh fruit cuban food guanabo
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

best hotel for the price-great service-just remember to tip-good food-nothing wrong with birds on the salad bar-its cuba-lots of huge crabs-pool closes at 6pm cause the huge crabs get in the pool-who cares just swim in the ocean which is 2 minutes away

Room Tip: new side is very quiet
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank varaderomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Club Atlantico for five nights in the beginning of July. We rented two rooms for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. For an additional payment of 10 CUC per room per night, we got some renovated rooms which were quite nice although not very big. Before booking, we were considering if we should stay in Havana or at the beach in Santa Maria del Mar, and were very happy with this location. The beach is very nice although a lot of garbage is thrown on the beach every evening/night, but fortunately is cleaned every morning - but be carefull when walking barefooted in the sand.
To get to Havana a free shuttlebus departs at 10:00 every morning and returns from Havana at 5pm.
The pool is not the best, but not bad either, we rarely used it as the hotel is literally located on the beach, and it is only a few steps more to get a dip in the ocean.
The All-Inclusive features could be better, but was not bad. The food is not very varied and it did become a little repetitive after a few days, but still I think it was ok. A cook is available at every meal to make fresh omelets, fried eggs and other dishes which was very good. Hygiene could be improved in the restaurant. Small birds were flying around in the room and would occassionally sit and eat directly from the buffet.
All-in-all we were happy with staying at Club Atlantico, but there are definitely room for improvement.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank SorenViggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Since every casa particular in playa del este was taken and it was late in the evening as we arrived, we had no option, but to stay at this overpriced hotel. The bath was filthy, the room and all the other facilities need to be renovated. It can be noticed that non of the guests or the employees give a thing about sustaining the facilities nor the environment. DON'T stay there! Or anywhere in this tourist place. Cuba has so much more to offer.

Stayed: June 2017
3  Thank Vivian2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Let me start with the note that I am Cuban-American, meaning that I know the flaws that Cuba does have in the services area. But this is beyond your imagination. This is the first time I went back in 8 years. The Hotel is advertised as 3 start Hotel, it’s not even a 1 star hotel. Let’s begin by saying that Customer Service is not a priority in Cuba, unless you go to the private sector, and this is not the case.
The room need update and maintenance, the first night we could hardly sleep due to the noise from the air conditioner. Every time we tried to take a shower we would spend around 20 minutes to get the hot water to cool down, the water was always to hot. Do not even try to take a shower at 2:00pm, because they shot off the water.
The food is very limit, the breakfast is the best they have and that’s not saying much. Taking in consideration that you are on an Island, the fruit is limit to Papaya, pineapple and Grapefruit. There were a lot of fly in the dining area. Don’t get me started on the ice cream, depending of the time you go to eat, that’s the flavor you got. (if you’re looking to get some)
The nigh life simply it “Doesn’t Exist”, the pool closes at 6:00 pm, the night shows were HORRIBLE… , don’t even think about dancing, the DJ stop playing music at 11:00 PM. “ This is a VACATION , were adult people want to have FUN!!!!!
I can go on and on, but by now I think you have pretty good idea of the condition of the hotel. Please don’t waste your money on this hotel, it’s not worth $120 per night.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

The rooms were clean, the nightly shows were awesome, the sand was soft and the ocean was warm. Bring plenty of food, the hotel food has little variety with rice, beans and processed meat being the staples for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The omelets and cafe con leche at breakfast were delicious. Reserve a table at the lunch restaurant ahead of time, it was the best food they offered! The alcoholic drinks were not good. All inclusive does not include water bottles, beach towels, water toys/sail boat and the wind conditions were never "good" enough for taking any of the water amenities out per the staff. In order to use the catamaran or wind surfing equipment you have to pay $200 for 6 hour training lesson. If you plan on walking along the beach there was a lot of trash and broken glass (not on the hotel beach). Walk east to small town Guanbo (75 minute walk) it was pleasant and a glimpse of small town Cuban life. You'll know you've found the town when you run into an abandoned building overlooking the ocean. The staff does not speak English and customer service is not a priority in Cuba. Recommend you bring a thermos for drinks/water as they will refill a small water bottle from their large water bottles at the inside bar or your own device. Otherwise they strictly provide everything in 6 oz. plastic cups. The complimentary hair dryers were nice. Upgrade to the newer rooms if available for $10/night! Negatives-No beach side service, lots of flies at the buffet, not a calm beach. Pros-always felt safe, comfy beds and excellent room AC.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank elizabethcJ4651KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Infodireccion, Especialista de Calidad at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we thank you for your stay and we will continue to focus on the details you are referring to in order to further improve the quality of the service we offer.
Have a good day.

Yadira, Quality Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews