We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach and Very Close to the City!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gran Caribe Club Atlantico
Ranked #55 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 25 August 2017

The Location of this resort is beautiful, but there is a lot of work to be done. It can easily be a 5* with some work put into it. Great that it is so close, 20ish minutes to Havana. Ask front end reception for information about shuttles.

Room: The AC was SO loud. The water for shower was terrible, either super cold or super hot. Got the technician to "fix"it, but still reverted to it's own ways after few minutes.

The food was actually very tasty, looked forward to it. Only thing is there are sooooo many flies. The building is closed off with doors so its not open concept and I guess flies cant get out but somehow get in??

All inclusive,.. but water bottles we had to pay for... lol

Also, this resort mainly held guests that were locals, didn't really meet or see travellers from other countries which was a first and new experience.

Entertainment was not too good. Usually had live music, then DJ music, but this ended by 11pm for nightly shows.

During the day there was dancing lessons, I can't remember any other activities though.

Was obvious that the men that were in the resort were thirsty and paid for cuban ladies to stay with them during their stay. Saw a lot of this which made my family feel slightly uncomfortable. (nothing against the hotel, just heads up for travellers about the atmosphere).

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2017

best hotel for the price-great service-just remember to tip-good food-nothing wrong with birds on the salad bar-its cuba-lots of huge crabs-pool closes at 6pm cause the huge crabs get in the pool-who cares just swim in the ocean which is 2 minutes away

Room Tip: new side is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank varaderomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Club Atlantico for five nights in the beginning of July. We rented two rooms for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. For an additional payment of 10 CUC per room per night, we got some renovated rooms which were quite nice although not very big. Before booking, we were considering if we should stay in Havana or at the beach in Santa Maria del Mar, and were very happy with this location. The beach is very nice although a lot of garbage is thrown on the beach every evening/night, but fortunately is cleaned every morning - but be carefull when walking barefooted in the sand.
To get to Havana a free shuttlebus departs at 10:00 every morning and returns from Havana at 5pm.
The pool is not the best, but not bad either, we rarely used it as the hotel is literally located on the beach, and it is only a few steps more to get a dip in the ocean.
The All-Inclusive features could be better, but was not bad. The food is not very varied and it did become a little repetitive after a few days, but still I think it was ok. A cook is available at every meal to make fresh omelets, fried eggs and other dishes which was very good. Hygiene could be improved in the restaurant. Small birds were flying around in the room and would occassionally sit and eat directly from the buffet.
All-in-all we were happy with staying at Club Atlantico, but there are definitely room for improvement.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank SorenViggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Since every casa particular in playa del este was taken and it was late in the evening as we arrived, we had no option, but to stay at this overpriced hotel. The bath was filthy, the room and all the other facilities need to be renovated. It can be noticed that non of the guests or the employees give a thing about sustaining the facilities nor the environment. DON'T stay there! Or anywhere in this tourist place. Cuba has so much more to offer.

Stayed: June 2017
2  Thank Vivian2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Let me start with the note that I am Cuban-American, meaning that I know the flaws that Cuba does have in the services area. But this is beyond your imagination. This is the first time I went back in 8 years. The Hotel is advertised as 3 start Hotel, it’s not even a 1 star hotel. Let’s begin by saying that Customer Service is not a priority in Cuba, unless you go to the private sector, and this is not the case.
The room need update and maintenance, the first night we could hardly sleep due to the noise from the air conditioner. Every time we tried to take a shower we would spend around 20 minutes to get the hot water to cool down, the water was always to hot. Do not even try to take a shower at 2:00pm, because they shot off the water.
The food is very limit, the breakfast is the best they have and that’s not saying much. Taking in consideration that you are on an Island, the fruit is limit to Papaya, pineapple and Grapefruit. There were a lot of fly in the dining area. Don’t get me started on the ice cream, depending of the time you go to eat, that’s the flavor you got. (if you’re looking to get some)
The nigh life simply it “Doesn’t Exist”, the pool closes at 6:00 pm, the night shows were HORRIBLE… , don’t even think about dancing, the DJ stop playing music at 11:00 PM. “ This is a VACATION , were adult people want to have FUN!!!!!
I can go on and on, but by now I think you have pretty good idea of the condition of the hotel. Please don’t waste your money on this hotel, it’s not worth $120 per night.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.9 km away
Tropicoco Hotel
Tropicoco Hotel
#59 of 80 in Havana
637 reviews
26.8 km away
Be Live Havana City Copacabana
0 km away
Carrusel Mariposa
Carrusel Mariposa
#57 of 80 in Havana
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Havana
27.9 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,512 reviews
18.7 km away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Caribe Club Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Club Atlantico

Address: Ave de las Terrazas | Santa Maria del Mar. Habana del este, Havana 10900, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Havana
Price Range: €102 - €203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Caribe Club Atlantico 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gran Caribe Club Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Club Atlantico Hotel Havana
Gran Caribe Hotel Atlantico
Gran Caribe Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing