We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel ... Old city!! ”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #67 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is located in the main square. But the city is so bit nothing is walking distance.

We arrived to Havana without a hotel booked and walked in here and we were able to get a room, the rate was 187 cuc for 2 people including buffet breakfast on the roof which was nice and food was great! We were only there for one night.

Our room was huge, dinning room with couches and tv, fridge and window air conditioner, and then the bed room had a king bed, tv, another window air conditioner with a enquire bathroom, very clean shower and nice warm white towels.

We were out at night around to a few places but when we came home our room stunk like fire, the window air conditioner in the bedroom caught fire and the wall was black, and black Sparta and soot all over the bed, they promptly moved us to a smaller room but this was at 1:00am and we just needed a place to sleep now.

Other hotels around this was were extremely expensive 600-800 cuc per night.

I would stay here at the plaza again when in Havana but I will make sure the A/C is a bit newer. ;)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank IHeartCubaSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

We had no advance booking for our last night in Cuba, so we had to look for a place to sleep. The other hotels in the area were fully booked and severely overprized (over 600 USD for one night!!). The "Plaza" is a charming building with a nice rooftop restaurant where they serve breakfast. The room was ok, although somewhat worn (especially the bath and the shower). Nevertheless, because of the central location and the moderate price (180 CUC/room) it was ok for the night

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank macfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Well, a lot has been said about Hotel Plaza in Havana. It's not an argument anymore to say "you have to remember this is Cuba".....with all the construction sites around in Havana, it's obvious tourism have, and will "explode" even more in the years to come. It's useless to live of memories in the past for this type of hotels. If this hotel wish stay in business, dramatic changes must be done! No doubt that Hotel Plaza is run down, and you need something in order to make you sleep if you fail to succeed in booking a room facing inward. It will most likely become better with rooms facing "Grand Hotel Manzana Kampinski" as construction works is about to finish and it seems to be less traffic between these two hotels compared to rooms facing busy and noisy Agramonte (street).

The rooms are very basic, air condition might work or not, the same goes for showers, toilet flushers and more. One day it is working, the next it does not. Note that the staff can be helpful and move you to another room if there is any available. They did that with two of us, and the "new" room was somewhat better. After we changed rooms we had to put some towels around the air conditioner to reduce street noise, due to big gaps out to the extremely busy Argamonte. The cleaning of the room was satisfactory and there are also some comfortable seating groups outside some of the rooms.
The location of Hotel Plaza must be one of the best in Havana because a whole range of the attractions are easily within walking distance. The bar and the seating areas on the ground floor are nice and comfortable. So after a busy day out it's relaxing to cool down with a refreshing Bucanero and a few drops of Havana Club, and not to forget the pleasure of smoking a good Cuban cigar. The Cigar shop on the ground floor offers many of the more well known Cigar brands and the prices are fair.

Breakfast which is served at the top floor is good with several choices of cold meats, egg, omelets and fruit salads. Breakfast can be experienced differently from day to day though. You can either have your breakfast inside, or outside with nice view to different city landmarks. To sit outside with your morning coffee, which happens to be really good, and a morning cigar gives a good start to your day!

All and all I find this hotel to expensive and it's not exactly good value for money. I doubt I'll stay in Hotel Plaza again unless the rooms are totally renovated and the level of noise is reduced dramatically.

Room Tip: choose a room which is not facing the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank btglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

If the stay in a hotel is important to you, then don't choose this one! The hotel is VERY old with bad rooms. We had no water in the room for few days and when you call for help they barely care for you. You have a "mini bar" but it's empty and no water to drink! No "essential" appliances in the room (kettle for example). The AC unit is very old and noisy. You can barely sleep. The bathroom sink was broken and water was leaking. The towels weren't always "clean". They do the bed in a very nice way but they don't clean anything in the room. You can see dust everywhere, the floor is dirty and insects/bugs will be sharing in the room (and the bed) with you. Staff shout in the hallway while working or talking on the phone (even at night time). The bedroom's door doesn't close without slamming it. You will change the card that open the door several times!! And at the reception, they don't mind telling you that you don't know how to use it while most of the guests were having the same problem!
The breakfast was, overall, good with A LOT of bread. The staff there were friendly. The dishes, forks, knifes... need to be cleaned in a better way...
The view on the roof is very nice.
No AC units in the lobby so don't even think to spend some time there without sweating.
This hotel is overrpriced for nothing. Don't get fooled by the 4 stars they put next to its name!! And don't get impressed by the huge, old lobby they have!!!
It's really bad that an historical hotel like this doesn't have a good management (and it's managed by Gran Caribe 5 stars......).

PS I rated it 2 stars because I just enjoyed the breakfast!

Room Tip: I don't recommand any room in this property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hedddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Excited about coming to Cuba are quickly extinguished upon arrival by the hotel letting us know there is NO WATER ... and that was just the beginning. Rooms, beds, bath room dirty and old very sad. Cuba has a long way to go to be the destination spot for us. We dont ask for me much, just some water to shower, go to the bathroom and once in a while clean the sheets and towels in the room. Going out onto the deck for breakfast was interesting also, food was just not good, and there were flies and birds eating at the food. Got to check Cuba off the "bucket list" but that is about it... i found myself asking many questions mostly "why?" is it this bad? Its so sad that a country and there government has allowed there people, buildings and cities to fall apart, and not do a single thing about it.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
0.2 km away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#14 of 80 in Havana
1,637 reviews
0.1 km away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Be Live Havana City Copacabana
3.7 km away
Hotel Roc Presidente
Hotel Roc Presidente
#15 of 80 in Havana
1,028 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Ingnacio Agramonte 267 | Habana Vieja, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Price Range: €104 - €239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing