We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and location”
Review of Hotel Inglaterra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Inglaterra
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Wanted to stay here for those two reasons. I love the history that seeps through these classic hotels and combined with the location - in the centre and close to the old town - was just wanted I wanted. I simply booked a standard room 'with balcony' - to ensure I had an external window (and I gather some rooms are internal without window) and was delighted to get a room facing the main square at the front. The roof bar has amazing views over the square and the cathedral next door, and has great live music. Know what you're getting though - the rooms are not modern (as you would expect from a hotel dating from 1875) and the service a little slow, unsmiling and often charmless (although the maid's daily towel art was charming) but that adds to the appeal and being in a different world.

Room Tip: Get one at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derekholley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Dear derekholley:

Thanks a lot for choosing our hotel and for your lovely comments.
Inglaterra is indeed a well lacated and charming hotel. We are glad that you have enjoy your stay. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience during your stay. Be sure that we take in account our guests suggestion and we try to be better every day. We just want that you trust in us and come back to our hotel very soon.
receive a warm greeting form our staff,

Ania Mastrapa Pérez
Public Relations
Inglaterra Hotel
rrpp@gcingla.gca.tur.cu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Great place for a reasonably priced breakfast buffet. Priced at $8.00, all you can eat. Very fresh with large assortment of well prepared breakfast choices. Friendly service, great value. Located within the heart of Central Park - old Havana

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Flyby0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Flyby0161:

Thanks a lot for your nice comments, we really appreciate it.

I just wanted to inform to you that our breakfast is not a buffet althought is presented like one, we actually sell it as a continental breakfast but as you could see by your self is a well assorted breakfast.

Thanks again and we hope that next time you come back stay with us.

Best regards,

Ania Mastrapa Pérez
Public Relations
Hotel Inglaterra
rrpp@gcingla.gca.tur.cu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Fabulous hotel down the street from the capitol and on the edge of Old Havana. It was built in 1875 and has gorgeous details and high ceilings. Break fast was included and was excellent. There's also a sidewalk cafe in front. They had live music in the afternoon and evening there. I would rate it a 5 except for a couple of things: the water was cut off Saturday afternoon and didn't return until 5 am Sunday -this could have been outside the hotel's control. The other is that we were on the 3rd floor, near the front of the hotel - which is right under the roof top bar, which also had live music until late at night. We could hear it quite well in our room. Ask for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Don't get 3rd floor near the front -it's under the roof top bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Melinda L:

Fisrt of all thanks for choosing the hotel for your stay in Havana, we feel honoured for that and thanks for sending us your comments about your stay.
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences that shadow your stay in our hotel. About the lacking of water was a general problem in the city that afected no only the hotel but also the citizens. We really sorry for this but we want to inform to you that is not a commun problem in the hotel, some times when we have to repair or give maintenance to the hydraulic system we inform to our guest and it is for limited time.
We already have regular the volume of the music at the roof and the time of the band is shorter now.
We hope and wish you come back soon,

Best regards,

Ania Mastrapa Pérez
Relaciones Públicas
Hotel Inglaterra.
rrpp@gcingla.gca.tur.cu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

There's not much really to say about the Inglaterra. We weren't staying here and although it's steeped in history for being the first hotel in Havana it's now being overshadowed by the ostentatious Nacional and the politically historic Hilton.

However, if you're in the area and need a refreshing break from the heat and crowds, it really is an ideal place to have a drink on the rooftop terrace. The views are fab and the prices are very reasonable, considering the history and kudos of the place. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Hoppy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Hoppy22:

Thanks a lot for send us your oppinion, we really appreciate it.
You are right this is the oldest hotel in Havana, still functioning as a hotel, founded in 1875 and National Monument since 1981. The building it self is beautifull and the view from the roof is really nice. The roof top service is every day from 12m to 1am.
We hope that next time you stay with us.

Best regards from Havana city,

Ania Mastrapa Pérez
Public Relations
Hotel Inglaterra
rrpp@gcingla.gca.tur.cu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We stayed for one night while waiting for our CP. We booked through Cubatur in Trinidad and had a two bed room with three meals - dinner, breakfast, lunch (cuc$158). The room was very clean, shower pressure top, bathroom relatively large, bed very comfortable. We didn't receive the best of rooms but I did not expect it as we were only staying the night. Our room "opened" to the central area so we could hear the AC machines. But it was not that bad. They gave us 2 free bottles of water, 2 welcome drinks, free coffee for the machine in the room and a real bottle of Havana Club rum!! Also, 2 free wifi cards for an hour each (though their wifi is poor and if at all only works in the lobby). All in all very generous! The hotel decor and staff are dated but that has charm. The meals we received were generous and good, serenaded by a violin-piano player. Very old school.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OldJailhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear OldJailhouse:

Thanks a lot for your comments and for the time spent in writing them.
We are very happy that you have enojoyed your stay among us, thanks for appreciate the presents we gave to you.
Actually we have antenna and wifi service in the complete hotel, including the roof top, the rooms and the ground floor but you are right the conection quality is not always good, our apologies for that.

Receive a warm greeting from the staff and come back soon,

Ania Mastrapa Pérez
Public Relations
Hotel Inglaterra
rrpp@gcingla.gca.tur.cu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
2.4 km away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
0.1 km away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,757 reviews
2.4 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,808 reviews
0.4 km away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 80 in Havana
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inglaterra

Address: Paseo del Prado No 416 | San Rafael y San Miguel, Havana 10200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Price Range: €149 - €318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Inglaterra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the oldest hotel in the city, founded in 1875, declared Nacional Monument in 1981 and located in the center of the city, in front of the Central Park and near to interesting places in Old Havana. The architecture, history, location, and the presence of the cuban culture are the principal atractions of this charming hotel. It was considered one of the most famous hotels in Cuba and the world, attracting the atention of many important personalities like: Sara Bernhart, Enrico Carusso, Ana Pavlova, Imperio Argentina, Gabriela Mistral, Jose Marti Perez, Antonio Maceo among others . Concerts by the Band of the City, launching of books, recital of poems, talkings about history and exhibitions, are the kind of activities offered to guests and cuban population. You can also enjoy the cuban plastic arts since its tables and the menu of the Colonial Restaurant designed by the most famous cuban painters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing