We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$231
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$219
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Cohiba(Havana)
US$214
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Habana(Havana)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$431
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$256
US$229
iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
CasavanaCuba(Havana)
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
Casa Acnery(Havana)
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
US$173
US$110
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,804)
Filter reviews
1,804 results
Traveller rating
284
740
463
182
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
740
463
182
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoldest hotelrooftop barold havanacentral parkcuban musicbeautiful buildingfantastic locationplenty of hot watercalle obispocentral havanaold carsearplugsmusiciansgrandeurcapitoliorumculture
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 1,804 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Great place for a reasonably priced breakfast buffet. Priced at $8.00, all you can eat. Very fresh with large assortment of well prepared breakfast choices. Friendly service, great value. Located within the heart of Central Park - old Havana

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Flyby0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Flyby0161:

Thanks a lot for your nice comments, we really appreciate it.

I just wanted to inform to you that our breakfast is not a buffet althought is presented like one, we actually sell it as a continental breakfast but as you could see by your self is a well assorted breakfast.

Thanks again and we hope that next time you come back stay with us.

Best regards,

Ania Mastrapa Pérez
Public Relations
Hotel Inglaterra
rrpp@gcingla.gca.tur.cu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Fabulous hotel down the street from the capitol and on the edge of Old Havana. It was built in 1875 and has gorgeous details and high ceilings. Break fast was included and was excellent. There's also a sidewalk cafe in front. They had live music in the afternoon and evening there. I would rate it a 5 except for a couple of things: the water was cut off Saturday afternoon and didn't return until 5 am Sunday -this could have been outside the hotel's control. The other is that we were on the 3rd floor, near the front of the hotel - which is right under the roof top bar, which also had live music until late at night. We could hear it quite well in our room. Ask for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Don't get 3rd floor near the front -it's under the roof top bar
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Melinda L:

Fisrt of all thanks for choosing the hotel for your stay in Havana, we feel honoured for that and thanks for sending us your comments about your stay.
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences that shadow your stay in our hotel. About the lacking of water was a general problem in the city that afected no only the hotel but also the citizens. We really sorry for this but we want to inform to you that is not a commun problem in the hotel, some times when we have to repair or give maintenance to the hydraulic system we inform to our guest and it is for limited time.
We already have regular the volume of the music at the roof and the time of the band is shorter now.
We hope and wish you come back soon,

Best regards,

Ania Mastrapa Pérez
Relaciones Públicas
Hotel Inglaterra.
rrpp@gcingla.gca.tur.cu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

There's not much really to say about the Inglaterra. We weren't staying here and although it's steeped in history for being the first hotel in Havana it's now being overshadowed by the ostentatious Nacional and the politically historic Hilton.

However, if you're in the area and need a refreshing break from the heat and crowds, it really is an ideal place to have a drink on the rooftop terrace. The views are fab and the prices are very reasonable, considering the history and kudos of the place. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Hoppy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Hoppy22:

Thanks a lot for send us your oppinion, we really appreciate it.
You are right this is the oldest hotel in Havana, still functioning as a hotel, founded in 1875 and National Monument since 1981. The building it self is beautifull and the view from the roof is really nice. The roof top service is every day from 12m to 1am.
We hope that next time you stay with us.

Best regards from Havana city,

Ania Mastrapa Pérez
Public Relations
Hotel Inglaterra
rrpp@gcingla.gca.tur.cu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We stayed for one night while waiting for our CP. We booked through Cubatur in Trinidad and had a two bed room with three meals - dinner, breakfast, lunch (cuc$158). The room was very clean, shower pressure top, bathroom relatively large, bed very comfortable. We didn't receive the best of rooms but I did not expect it as we were only staying the night. Our room "opened" to the central area so we could hear the AC machines. But it was not that bad. They gave us 2 free bottles of water, 2 welcome drinks, free coffee for the machine in the room and a real bottle of Havana Club rum!! Also, 2 free wifi cards for an hour each (though their wifi is poor and if at all only works in the lobby). All in all very generous! The hotel decor and staff are dated but that has charm. The meals we received were generous and good, serenaded by a violin-piano player. Very old school.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OldJailhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear OldJailhouse:

Thanks a lot for your comments and for the time spent in writing them.
We are very happy that you have enojoyed your stay among us, thanks for appreciate the presents we gave to you.
Actually we have antenna and wifi service in the complete hotel, including the roof top, the rooms and the ground floor but you are right the conection quality is not always good, our apologies for that.

Receive a warm greeting from the staff and come back soon,

Ania Mastrapa Pérez
Public Relations
Hotel Inglaterra
rrpp@gcingla.gca.tur.cu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

This place is great for a drink in the afternoon evening while listening to the jazz band. Staff are helpful and friendly.

You can book tours at this hotel inside and to the left.

We also had a meal here - it was nice but basic. It was what we felt like on that day but it was not what I would consider fine dining. I could have made our meals myself at home but hey I didn't have to do the dishes!!!

Room Tip: We only had food and drink here. We did not stay here.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Inglaterra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Kathryn K:

Thanks a lot for writing your oppinion about the hotel, we really appreciate it.
Please accept our apologies for the negative tips about meals, we are working to improve the quality of our services, there is always a reason to improve and you, as our customer, are one of them.
We hope that someday soon you come back but this time as our guest.

Best regards,

Ania Mastrapa Pérez
Public Relations
Hotel Inglaterra
rrpp@gcingla.gca.tur.cu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews