We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”
Review of Hotel Inglaterra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Inglaterra
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Abbotsford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Location of the hotel is excellent close to everything you want to see and do in Old Havana. They have done a fantastic job of renovations in the lobby and restaurant/bar areas. The breakfast is excellent. The rooms leave a lot to be desired. They gave us a small room with no windows. Furniture is definitley dated and the mattresses a bit too firm. The bathroom was a large at the bedroom! Great to have a roomy bathroom however the toilet did not work and we had to keep a pail of water beside it to flush. Not the best. I did notice that they have started renos in some of the rooms but could not see what had been done. While i am certain that the currency exchange was not run by the hotel the service there does reflect on the hotel and quite frankly it was horrible.
Workman kept putting the scaffolding in front of the elevators which made it very awkward to use them. I would not stay at this property again nor could i recommend it. Our travel agent did ask us to take pictures and we did!

Room Tip: If you want to try this property ask for a higher floor with a room on the exterior-so you have wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    641
    417
    168
    111
See reviews for
252
756
114
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

great location, ok rooms, many without any windows !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielSk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed there are the beginning and end of a three week holiday to Cuba. Great location - you can walk to all the central sites very easily. Brekky good - lovely pancakes! The rooms were a nice size, but very tired and dated - you kinda get what you pay for. Was pretty outraged (after paying to spend a total of six nights there) to be charged for keeping our bags on the last day before we went to the airport. A silly little charge - which is not about the money but about the principle of the thing. Expensive internet (6 CUC an hour) but that is typical of Cuba. Good little bank and helpful tour staff. The cafe at the front (Cafe du Louvre?) is nice too - though try the cafe at the hotel two doors down for a nicer lunch! I'd stya there again, if I were planning to return to Cuba, but don't expect the Hilton!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are nosiy, but I suppose that is all part of the charm! Quite a few internal roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank waterloomonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one night whilst on a 2 day trip to Havana.
When we first walked into the reception area we thought we had hit the jackpot but once we opened the bedroom door we soon realised we had a very long, sleepless night ahead of us.
The room was dark and dingy, the beds were as comfortable as a concrete floor and the bathroom was a disgrace. There were wires hanging out of what looked like a plug socket, what was supposed to be the air conditioning unit (i would have been cooler blowing on myself) attached to the wall had broken knobs and the only light we had was from the 2 bedside lamps.
There were hairs in the shower cubicle that weren't mine or my partners, the bathroom tiles were filthy and stained and when the shower was in use in took about 10 minutes for any hot water to come through and even then it was only a trickle.
Dinner was very bland and cold and breakfast was very much the same. We couldn't wait to get out of this place!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lady_chicken2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I stayed at the Inglaterra again this year but won't be doing so again. The location is fun, in the middle of a lot of activity and the terrace is great for a drink and music. The rooms vary, some a lot better than others. The plumbing is generally bad, a trickle of water for a shower. A lot of noise from the hotel generator. The most insanely irritating thing was the constant loud, shrill ringing of the chamber maid's phones which you can hear on every floor, every few minutes, all day. It was impossible to relax in the room but they were not interested in listening to any complaints about it or doing something simple like turning the volume down on the phones. There is no such thing as customer service in Cuba.

Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank willynillyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
2.4 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,605 reviews
8.7 km away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
1,600 reviews
9.1 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#24 of 79 in Havana
724 reviews
8.7 km away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#12 of 79 in Havana
991 reviews
4.4 km away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inglaterra

Property: Hotel Inglaterra
Address: Paseo del Prado No 416 | San Rafael y San Miguel, Havana 10200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Inglaterra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the oldest hotel in the city, founded in 1875, declared Nacional Monument in 1981 and located in the center of the city, in front of the Central Park and near to interesting places in Old Havana. The architecture, history, location, and the presence of the cuban culture are the principal atractions of this charming hotel. It was considered one of the most famous hotels in Cuba and the world, attracting the atention of many important personalities like: Sara Bernhart, Enrico Carusso, Ana Pavlova, Imperio Argentina, Gabriela Mistral, Jose Marti Perez, Antonio Maceo among others . Concerts by the Band of the City, launching of books, recital of poems, talkings about history and exhibitions, are the kind of activities offered to guests and cuban population. You can also enjoy the cuban plastic arts since its tables and the menu of the Colonial Restaurant designed by the most famous cuban painters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing