We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,215)
Filter reviews
1,215 results
Traveller rating
441
272
230
129
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
272
230
129
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviews renovated room interesting history an update main bar classic hotel live music air conditioned gomez glamour architecture dust iberostar vieja
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,215 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

In a time when class and sophistication seem to live in a distant land, my Mother, Husband and I were happy we stayed at Habana Riviera. We are sure this is the place the God calls home in Havana. Management is Excellent! Ivis and Tiziana led from the front and are versed in many languages which will make your trip unforgettable. If I owned Iberostar they would be promoted instantly.

Multilingual Ivis is a rear gem and should run an entire hotel chain. I am sure it would be full of return guests and make loads of money! When you deal with Ibis, she is more than a professional. She becomes part of your family so much so that my Mother says Ibis is her new daughter. When we checked in we did not immediately love our rooms. Her response was superb. Ibis simple said that for every problem there is a solution. In no time we had the best possible rooms adjacent to each other. Knowing that my Mother uses a wheelchair, Ibis would check on us daily. She even left a wheelchair in the room and allowed us to use it in the city on our various adventures (we could not use anything with a motor in the old city). It did not stop there. After doing our first tour, she got us additional brochures, a complimentary bottle of rum for my husband and a note left for my mother with a sweet lady bug button. We checked out and did not like the other hotel for which we had already paid and Mommy decided that she was going back home to Habana Riviera. Ibis arranged once again for the perfect room with the perfect view and a Government taxi for our 5:30 ride to the airport! Thank you Ibis! One day you will become a billionaire based on your mastery of how to cater to each person. My Mommy and husband loved you!

Tiziana was fabulous and has a head for the strategic! My Spanish was basic and she quickly picked up that I was better at Portuguese. She communicated easily in English, Portuguese or Spanish. We mentioned that we wanted to get some things done in Cuba and within a day she did all the research and advised in great detail of our various options. We were amazed at her efficiency and level of detail. That is brilliance! She has a mindset for all things strategic and made each person feel like they were her only care in the world. Hats off to you Lady Tiziana. You know how to dazzle.

The dining room staff was great! Please have the fish at the restaurant. It was the best buffet and breakfast that we had in Cuba during the 8 days. The lady chef at breakfast and the juice lady were great and the amazing thing is that they want to know the guest and get instant feedback on the food. On hearing our accent they even introduced us to other staff who had relatives from our country. Soon Luis the server even introduced us to some cousins. What we tried to do via our local Embassy was achieved over breakfast thanks to these cooking gems. The more mature lady in charge of the dining room made sure that each morning my mothers breakfast was take to her room. You make a great team! You cook and serve your way to the hearts of the guests.

The maid who did the 15th floor is superb. These were the cleanest rooms we had in Habana. She is detailed. No dust left behind anywhere, carpet clean, no weird smells. The bathroom was spotless – thank you so very much! Carpets usually make me sick and I had no problems at Habana Riviera!

The bell men, door men and security are absolutely fabulous. They would get a when chair within 60 seconds of seeing us pull up, called a taxi and gave us hints on getting the best prices. To note is that you felt the safe without seeing vicious looking security guards in your face. Some other countries could take a lessons from Cuba. The guards had no intrusive uniforms and all they did was make you feel secure….even smiling too (hint hint Jamaica!)

When mommy and I travel together, I am usually concerned about mommy enjoying all the services that seniors and the physically challenged sometimes miss out on. The staff at Habana Riviera really understood our needs! Blessings.

The hotel is ideally placed on the Melcon. You can be a tourist while enjoying local flavours and interaction with my Cuban people. Well done team Iberostar Habana Riviera! You exceeded our expectations.

Date of stay: August 2018
5  Thank Simpletourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayami D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Iberostar Habana Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear guests,

First of all, thank you for choosing our Iberostar Habana Riviera to spend your holydays. We appreciate you took the time to share all your experiences on line.
As you mentioned, our hotel has wonderful views and a lovely 50’s ambiance. We always pay close attention to the cleaning and the food service; but we focus specially on the personal attention. We are delighted to know you felt like home with us. We will transmit these comments to our staff, specially to those you mentioned. They will be thrilled to know you felt this happy with their services.
Thank you again for all your kind words, we would love to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Situated beautifully on the Malecon overlooking the sea, the Riviera feels slightly trapped in time, which is part of its charm. My room was comfortable and well tended, the staff was exceptionally helpful (especially to someone like myself who doesn't speak Spanish), and the location made getting around the city easy. This will be where I stay when I return.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayami D, Quality manager at Iberostar Habana Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear guest,
We are pleased to know you loved your stay in our hotel. All our rooms have an excellent view of the sea and some parts of the city. Thank for your kind comment on our staff, we all like to make our guests feel like home. Hope to have you back, and thank you for charring your experiences.

Best regards,

Quality manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

My room was fine, good A/C and clean. The rest of the hotel needs some renovation. NO A/C in the lobby. It was HOT and HUMID. Pool area needs repair. One morning no water at ALL for showers. Drinks are a little expensive. WiFi is pay only.

Room tip: shop around, I don't know if I'd go back...
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityMCuba, Manager at Iberostar Habana Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Joel,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We always want to know our guests opinion of our services and facilities. Indeed, the hotel is going through renovations. We started with the rooms, and now we are working on others areas. Sorry if there were problems with water supply. We really hope you can come back to see all changes we are making, and also to give us the opportunity to make a new memory of your stay at our Habana Riviera.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

This is not a four star hotel. Three at most. Stuff is broken, stuff is dirty (the old carpet in our room), things are disorganized (our liquid soap and shampoo were never replenished and you only get one towel per person, not even a hand towel or a bathroom towel to stand on). This hotel is basically lacking a little bit in everything, and it is way overpriced, even for western standards. If you claim to be a four star hotel, one expects perfection and impeccable service. Even though this hotel is now owned by Iberostar, this does not seem to have had a positive effect at all. The outside of the hotel is no better. You see broken or entirely missing balcony railings, part of the "R" in the hotel logo on the roof is missing, and the hotel appears to have been last painted decades ago, with zero upkeep since. Lastly, WiFi internet access is only available in the lobby, not in the rooms. The Melia Cohiba hotel across the street has WiFi everywhere. All in all, we were disappointed and cannot recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityMCuba, Manager at Iberostar Habana Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear Jan,

We are deeply sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations in so many areas and more importantly not having been informed whilst you were here in our hospitality as it would have given us an opportunity to primarily find a solution to any issues you were not happy with and more importantly ensure that you were then able to fully enjoy your holiday with us.
Please, allow us to say we are under renovation works in every area, and that we very much appreciate your suggestions. Soon, our facilities will be in optimal conditions and our guests will be able to enjoy all this changes.
Once more thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area; your constructive remarks will certainly help us to improve, thanks again for the courtesy of your time, we all look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

The rooms are clean and air conditioned. The bathrooms are modernish.

The lobby and elevator are not air conditioned making it insufferable to use their WiFi, which is only available in the lobby... and is pay per use. The dinning room is air conditioned but of course you have to buy something.

The pool was the most disappointing of all, it is long overdue for a re-model. The tiles are falling out and the rust at the bottom of the pool is visible. They actually ran out of clean towels in the club house. The water is so salty it’s impossible to swim, but hey floating is easy.

Definitely take the five minute walk down the street to local eateries. The food is over priced and not that good.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank cpolo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityMCuba, Manager at Iberostar Habana Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our Habana Riviera.
It is rewarding to read you were able to enjoy our clean rooms and its modern bathrooms. But, we deeply regret to read other services were not as you expected.
We were surprised to read your comment about our saltwater pools. As always at Iberostar our guests comfort and well-being is our priority, therefore following extensive research we have opted to use salt water in some of our pools as our aim is to minimize the use of chemical agents to maintain good quality water and thus decrease not only the environmental impact but also the problems and irritations common with chlorine treated pools. For example irritated eyes and skin even lung irritation and asthma-like symptoms.The main benefit of salt-water pools is the lack of side effects often associated with traditionally chlorinated pools. Despite, first impressions, the salt water we use is not exactly like the sea because the concentration of salt is much lower and usually irritates the eyes less than chlorine. Nevertheless, as complete customer satisfaction is our aim, we have passed your comments on to the correct department. We regret the inconvenience caused.
Once again we thank you for reaching out to us to notify us of your concerns and although it would appear that this was not the perfect fit for your travel party, we very much hope you will join us at one of our hotels on your next holiday.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews