We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What could I possibly say that is good about this hotel?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Deauville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Deauville
Ranked #68 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Victoria
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What could I possibly say that is good about this hotel?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Well, the breakfast room .... the breakfast buffet wasn't bad but the place was so busy it was difficult to find a table to sit down. The two beds were reasonably comfortable. Otherwise, the hotel was bad news except for the location if you want to be near the malecon (waterfront) and Old Havana. I had stayed here a few years ago, and thought it would be better, especially after reading some so-so reviews here on tripadvisor.com. Alas, it was not to be. At least the towels were nice and the water warm. The hotel does have a small pool off the sixth floor, which I did not use but is there and functioning. Only one of the two elevators were functioning ... definitely inadequate for the number of stories and rooms. Adding to the negative thoughts I have about this place is the fact that construction directly in front of the hotel (2011) means that access is from the street corner only. (It is quite close to a famous, privately run restaurant ... La Guardia ... which is expensive .. by Cuban standards .. but very good though, three stories up! And, hey, while I think of it, if you want wireless internet access, it is available in the spacious lobby at the Hotel Sevilla in Habana Vieja for $8 an hour.) There are better hotels than the Deauville for the same price in Havana (in Vedado or Mariano) and a lot better for a few dollars more. Good casas particulares are also definitely an option in Havana.

Room Tip: Just about all rooms have a sea view but good to be sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    113
    218
    187
    213
See reviews for
87
280
97
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I booked this hotel per advice of the travel agent, convincing me that the rooms had been renovated and the location was good one. Upon arrival, I had discovered that it was far away from the reality. The hotel looked bad, starting from lobby, which was didn't look good and was full of smoke and strangers. Later on, I discovered that the hotel had a popular disco in the basement, it explains why there were hookers in the lobby. The halls and the rooms are in need of renovation, and it is hard to sleep in the rooms, because the a/c is bad, and it is impossible to open the windows due to the noise from Malekon, which is a busy street.
Also, Galliano street is not in the best district of La Habana, to say the least, so walking from the hotel in the evening is a bit unpleasant.
The breakfast room was terrible - both the sitting and the food, usually I am not too picky, but over there all I had was a piece of bread, everything else didn't look attractive.
As a result, I didn't care for the second night that had been prepaid, and left the hotel with any easy heart for Vinales. Upon return to La Habana, I had stayed in Vedado hotel, the same money, much better hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Me and my colleagues stayed at Deauville for 12 day, The rooms are basic. However, clean and as compared to some of the other budget hotels they were quite good.
The breakfast provided in the morning is quite good and has plenty of variety.
The hotel has a currency exchange both at the 1st floor, which had better rates than the Metropolitan bank and the airport.
All in all basic but not bad at all.The lounge can do we some new air-conditioning and de core, but if you compare the place to outside it is very clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bhavya_mohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We loved this hotel as a base for our fabulous Cuban holiday. The staff are very friendly and speak English, although my partner speaks fluent Spanish they included me with explanations I could understand. Exchange your English notes or Euros here and you are given a great rate. Breakfast is fabulous with wonderful fresh choices of fruit, hot plates with eggs, however you'd like them cooked, pancakes, cold hams, cheese and sweet breads etc - sometimes water for tea or coffee not hot enough my partner told me but i just drank the fruit juices so it didn't bother me. Met wonderful taxi driver - Leon - who is a natural historian and took us to things which weren't mentioned in our guide books - Castle cannon event every night at 9pm is worth going to, taxi ride should only be about 5 CUC and it is amazing experience. Also near the castle, in the morning visit Casa de Che - wonderful houe where Che Guevara stayed. We also took the Viazul tourist bus to Santa Clara - about 3 hours away and only cost 16 CUC each (one way) - lovely tranquil town but holds an amazing museum to Che Guevara and his tomb where the bones were interred - all done very dignified and worth a visit. The town itself has a lovely square with trees for shade and you can get a change of pace from busy Havana for the day. In Havana the hotel staff can advise on any place you want to visit. We followed our own guide book and engaged one of the bicycle taxis with a days price (about £15 each) to take us everywhere in Havana! He would stop wherever we wished and waited while we visited cafes, shopped or took photos - not rushed, spoke English and very knowledgable. The place is amazing. One recommendation I would make is take lots of coins out each day with you as there are many places we wanted to give a few coins to some poor people and often we only had larger notes. We also donated some clothes to the local primary school which was gratefully received (and made room in our case for the trinkets and wooden carvings we bought so cheaply). The local people appreciate being left soap, toiletries etc without patronising them as they are expensive for them to buy. All in all a wonderful experience, we will visit again and go to this hotel. When you book, recommend you take a high floor as it is less humid from the pool which is on the 6th floor - a great pool and great poolside bar for food and drinks, so cheap! Ask for room 1205 or 1206. We had 1206, huge with a double balcony and great views of sunsets and sunrises over the water. Basic inside but very clean and room attended to every day! Enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for high floor to avoid noise from disco below and humidity from pool on 6th floor - we had 1206...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOBBYSPARKLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

This is a good hotel for the price you pay. Location is great central near to the old part of Havana, with great views. The rooms are large & clean with good airconditioning. we travelled in August so it was very hot during the day so it was bliss to come back and be able to cool down in the swimming pool and see the sights of the city from the roof whilst in the pool. Food served was tasty and value for money. Breakfast is buffet style where someone cooks your eggs or omlette, with cheese, meats & cereal available, and juices served from the dispensers. If you want a five star hotel do not stay here but if you want a clean room at a cheap price this is the place. Staff are very helpfull & friendly and if you speak a bit of spanish this helps.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tito2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
3.4 km away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#41 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
5.9 km away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#40 of 78 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#17 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Tryp Habana Libre
Tryp Habana Libre
#34 of 78 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,147 reviews
8.5 km away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#12 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
8.5 km away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deauville

Property: Hotel Deauville
Address: Galiano 1, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Deauville 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This strategically located hotel is right on the Malecón seafront. The situation makes the hotel ideal for visits to the old colonial city and equally ideal as a starting point for the renowned Havana nightlife ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Deauville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deauville Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing