We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$98
TravelocityUS$98
Orbitz.comUS$98
TripadvisorUS$98
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
118
18
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
118
18
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aguacate lovely colonial building authentic place to stay ring the doorbell old havana welcome drink boutique hotel rooftop bar is with open arms eggs cooked stunning hotel location was perfect breakfast was delicious home from home restaurants and bars enjoy your stay within walking distance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2022

Very charming hotel. We were welcomed like kings, the receptionist was very friendly and welcoming. He prepared the best mojito for us. The room was atypical, very clean and we slept well despite the bed being a bit small. The hotel is also located very close to the old square. I recommend the hotel 100% for the welcome, the decoration and the situation

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Viviflo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eduardo Richard Serrano, Owner at Hostal Balcones Muralla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review, If you visit Havana again in the future,
We would love to have you back.
Best regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2022

When you are looking for an accommodation in Havana, choose this hostal. It has very clean and comforable rooms, a very good location, wonderful breakfast, but above all very friendly personell. We had a wonderful stay here.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stijnh654
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eduardo Richard Serrano, Owner at Hostal Balcones Muralla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review, If you visit Havana again in the future,
We would love to have you back.
Best regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2022

Wife and I travelled to Havana for a couple of days from the US. We’ve heard great things about Hostal Balcones, so we chose them for our lodging. The staff could not have been more wonderful. Everyone was super helpful, polite, and ensured you had everything you needed. Very clean accommodations and the location was perfect. I could not recommend a better private hotel to stay at in the area. Next trip we will definitely be coming back.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AndrewIVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eduardo Richard Serrano, Owner at Hostal Balcones Muralla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review, If you visit Havana again in the future,
We would love to have you back.
Best regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2022 via mobile

my wife and I stayed here for 5 nights (first booked in 2019, cancelled and rescheduled twice due to Covid, Richard was always in contact via email, WhatsApp and messenger while we waited to travel and honoured the room price from 2021 and upgraded us to biggest room). We had a huge bedroom and a big lounge area, lots of space. Balcones is a wonderful restored colonial building in the heart of Havana Vieja minutes from Plaza Vieja and lots of restaurants and cafes. Richard and all his staff are amazing and go out of their way to ensure a good stay. Breakfast is excellent (fruit, bread, vegetables, eggs) and the 3 course dinner we had here (€35 for 2) was very good. They have a lovely dining/bar area where you can sit and relax with a drink. No problems booking city tour or collectivo taxi on to Vinales. As Balcones is an old building in an old part of Havana there were some issues, the water pressure was poor in the shower, our bed was not the most comfortable. It is certainly the attention and hospitality shown by the staff that make Balcones a great place to stay in Havana

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GerbinhoPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eduardo Richard Serrano, Owner at Hostal Balcones Muralla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review, If you visit Havana again in the future,
We would love to have you back.
Best regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2022 via mobile

Would definitely recommend this hostal! The building is beautiful, breakfast is delicious and best of all the staff are the loveliest of people! We want to thank Sarais and Aramis specifically for being so kind, friendly and helpful to us with all of our questions. They really made our stay here special and are wonderful people!
The owner Richard is really welcoming and lovely and was a huge help so big thanks too!

Our one piece of general advice would be to make sure you bring lots of cash with you to Cuba! The exchange rate at the ATM here is so bad that you’ll end up paying 4x the price for everything!!

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank edotl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eduardo Richard Serrano, Owner at Hostal Balcones Muralla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review, If you visit Havana again in the future,
We would love to have you back.
Best regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews