We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$98
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/08/22
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$98
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/08/22
TravelocityUS$98
Orbitz.comUS$98
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
113
17
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
113
17
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aguacate lovely colonial building authentic place to stay ring the doorbell old havana welcome drink rooftop bar is with open arms eggs cooked stunning hotel boutique hotel location was perfect home from home restaurants and bars enjoy your stay walking distance plaza vieja
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2022 via mobile

my wife and I stayed here for 5 nights (first booked in 2019, cancelled and rescheduled twice due to Covid, Richard was always in contact via email, WhatsApp and messenger while we waited to travel and honoured the room price from 2021 and upgraded us to biggest room). We had a huge bedroom and a big lounge area, lots of space. Balcones is a wonderful restored colonial building in the heart of Havana Vieja minutes from Plaza Vieja and lots of restaurants and cafes. Richard and all his staff are amazing and go out of their way to ensure a good stay. Breakfast is excellent (fruit, bread, vegetables, eggs) and the 3 course dinner we had here (€35 for 2) was very good. They have a lovely dining/bar area where you can sit and relax with a drink. No problems booking city tour or collectivo taxi on to Vinales. As Balcones is an old building in an old part of Havana there were some issues, the water pressure was poor in the shower, our bed was not the most comfortable. It is certainly the attention and hospitality shown by the staff that make Balcones a great place to stay in Havana

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GerbinhoPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 June 2022 via mobile

Would definitely recommend this hostal! The building is beautiful, breakfast is delicious and best of all the staff are the loveliest of people! We want to thank Sarais and Aramis specifically for being so kind, friendly and helpful to us with all of our questions. They really made our stay here special and are wonderful people!
The owner Richard is really welcoming and lovely and was a huge help so big thanks too!

Our one piece of general advice would be to make sure you bring lots of cash with you to Cuba! The exchange rate at the ATM here is so bad that you’ll end up paying 4x the price for everything!!

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank edotl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 June 2022

We had such a great stay in Hostel balconies Muralla. felt like home. No matter what time - day of night - the stuff was always there to help us. Breakfasts were unreal - so tasty. I am actually making them now at home:) beauty and comfort. I will be back.

Room tip: every room has something special.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank urszulaa2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 June 2022

Can’t recommend this place enough, the building is as beautiful as everyone who works in it, and the 4 course breakfast is the best in Havana… Those eggs! The staff are so helpful and have a great knowledge of Cuba, they are more than happy to help suggest and organise the rest of your trip around the country. One note, if you are travelling to Cuba do not transfer your money at the airport, wait until you arrive in Havana and do it at your hotel or in a restaurant, much better exchange rate. We’ll definitely be back!

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Missdonny2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 June 2022

My husband and I LOVED our stay at Hostal Balcones Muralla. The rooms were perfectly laid out with so much authentic character. Each room had its own AC unit as well, which was great given how hot it was in Havana. The staff went above and beyond for us during our stay. They helped us book restaurant/ private tour reservations, and gave us a ton of great local recommendations. The rooftop bar is such a cool space. We ended most of our nights up there with a fantastic cocktail made by the staff. The breakfast each morning was amazing as well. We already miss our friends at Hostal Balcones Muralla and can’t wait to come back!!! A true five star experience

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews