We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
150
68
14
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
68
14
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive staff buddy dive covered balcony shore diving three bedroom dive shop southern dive sites night dive first floor salt pier every other day no see ums pickup truck great dive air conditioning ocean side front office
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2018

This was my first trip to Bonaire and our group stayed at Belmar Oceanfront Apartments. I was very happy with the apartment, the staff, and the atmosphere. If you needed anything, the front office staff was right there to help. The diving is great off the house reef and they always make sure there is ample tanks. From Chenny in the front office, and Fonz as a dive pro, you cannot go wrong staying here!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBarrett225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Beautiful view, private dock, private reef, airco rooms, kitchen. Always plenty of bottled air, friendly staff, guarded. A piece of paradise. Housekeeping is friendly, the dive instructors always ready to help and advice

We didn’t see a place we would love more!!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank filipfon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapias-Holding, Manager at Belmar Oceanfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Filip,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at Belmar Oceanfront Apartments!
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you back in the future!

Sunny greetings,
Team Belmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

We've stayed at "Buddy Dive Central," the larger resort further up the coast. This property is part of the Buddy Dive family, and the dive staff is excellent. The house reef (Sara's Smile) is decent, but not as good as the reef at the Buddy Dive Resort, in my opinion. The rooms seem to be uneven in quality. Others in our group had a 3-bedroom that had air-conditioning throughout and a nicer interior, whereas our unit (#13) only had a/c in the bedrooms and the living room/kitchen/dining area was beastly hot. Also, the kitchen faucet didn't work properly - the handle kept coming right off the faucet. We reported it on Wednesday but it still wasn't fixed when we checked out on Saturday.

Our unit had one bedroom downstairs and two up a spiral staircase. I didn't see those but was told they were pretty sparse - just beds and a dresser, with no hooks to hang clothes on. There was also a bathroom upstairs.

Can't say enough about Chennie, Fons, Stefanie and the others who both man the desk and work on dives. They were fun, great dive leaders, and very personable.

Like many vacation rentals here, we had the use of a truck and there was a fill station on property where we could get air and Nitrox. Also, there are tanks down by the dock to use when doing a shore dive on the house reef.

Not sure I'd stay here again - I think I'd prefer to return to the other Buddy Dive Resort because the rooms there seem a tad nicer. I would also recommend getting a first floor room if you only need two bedrooms - much easier to hang up gear and deal with luggage. The narrow, winding steps up to this unit were a little bit of a challenge to navigate (for me).

Room tip: Recommend first floor units
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanhO3137NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapias-Holding, Manager at Belmar Oceanfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Susan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay with us.
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We shall take your feedback and discuss it internally.

If you have any questions, please contact us directly; we're happy to help!

Sunny greetings,
Team Belmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

We stayed for two weeks in MAY 2018....our 26th trip to Bonaire, but our first at Belmar.

Finding a location is difficult for us, as my wife is in a wheel chair. The typical resorts have a step or two do deal with, and most have crushed coral parking lots and walkways. Other issues are the need for a walk in shower, 34" doorways, and a pool on the same level as the room, WITH a railing, not to mention, a car rather that the typical dual cab pick up - she can't get into the trucks.

The staff at Belmar was very helpful from the start. With the help of Andy at Bonaire Pros, we were assured a first floor room with shower, and a car was substituted for the normal truck. The desk staff was friendly and eager to help, supplying a chair for the shower, and we brought our own suction grip grab bar. We were given unit #5....the front door was level with the sidewalk, and the grounds keeper made a ramp for the rear patio door. The walkway from the big porch connected to the apron of the pool - so the wheelchair problems pretty much went away. During our stay, the grounds were well maintained, and the rooms were cleaned regularly....again everyone was friendly and outgoing.

The diving could not have been easier. There were always tanks waiting at poolside for shore diving out front at "Sarah's Smile", there were tanks at the street for shore diving off property, and the Buddy Dive boats came right to the dock at the pool for two tank trips. We had Flavia and Fons most days as our Captains / Divemasters; and they were tops. They were always fun and energetic, and chose great sites.

We will be back!

Room tip: The property is in a quiet area, so room location is not critical for noise.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank frogfishes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

As a frequent traveller to Bonaire and regular customer of Buddy Dive, Carribbean Club, me and my wife decided to choose Belmar for the recent trip. The choice was not only motivated to saty within the excellent service of Buddy Dive, but also to choose a location in the south after 18 times Bonaire visits in the north, . We did not get disappionted at all. The staff is very friendly , even want to say like a family , the rooms are big, nice and the view ist breathtaking. All services (rooms, car & diving) are provided in the expected quality, just smaller and family. We had the one bedroom appartment and it was really big. The bedroom seperated with the bathroom and a incr. big living room. The terrace nice and also big. The appartement is in the first floor, so its a steep stepway up, to carry the divestuff for drying on the terrace. The staff of the diveshop is also very friendly and helpfull and does the job as expected. A very BIG thank you i would like to say here on this platform to "Steffi" the Manager. My wife got hurted during our stay and she did everything to help to make her stay for the last couple of days easier. My wife got crutches and in between an hour we moved to the groundfloor. Also the telefoning to Europe because of insurances issues was handled self evident. Thanks again !

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank TDI_DIDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews