We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
146
64
13
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
64
13
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive staff buddy dive shore diving three bedroom private reef dive shop hotel dock assigned unit grocery store full kitchen common space night dive first floor dive sites individual owners double reef air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018

As a frequent traveller to Bonaire and regular customer of Buddy Dive, Carribbean Club, me and my wife decided to choose Belmar for the recent trip. The choice was not only motivated to saty within the excellent service of Buddy Dive, but also to choose a location in the south after 18 times Bonaire visits in the north, . We did not get disappionted at all. The staff is very friendly , even want to say like a family , the rooms are big, nice and the view ist breathtaking. All services (rooms, car & diving) are provided in the expected quality, just smaller and family. We had the one bedroom appartment and it was really big. The bedroom seperated with the bathroom and a incr. big living room. The terrace nice and also big. The appartement is in the first floor, so its a steep stepway up, to carry the divestuff for drying on the terrace. The staff of the diveshop is also very friendly and helpfull and does the job as expected. A very BIG thank you i would like to say here on this platform to "Steffi" the Manager. My wife got hurted during our stay and she did everything to help to make her stay for the last couple of days easier. My wife got crutches and in between an hour we moved to the groundfloor. Also the telefoning to Europe because of insurances issues was handled self evident. Thanks again !

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank TDI_DIDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Great dive drive and stay packages with a private dock and reef. Grounds and pool are well kept and the units are spacious and cleaned every second day . Belmar Staff and buddy dive staff are very knowledgeable and accommodating . The kitchen especially in the unit we were in was somewhat tired and dated ( dishwasher door plate missing, microwave button broken etc) and was lacking in kitchen utensils. For example the unit slept 6 but only had 4 wine glasses, 5 bowls etc . We made it work but will likely request a different unit when we return . Highly recommend booking through Ann at Caribbean wind and sun vacations, she was most helpful and gets 5 stars

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kim02192011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

I will start with the good. The location of Belmar is excellent being oceanfront with a house reef. It is very close to the airport and a short drive to town. Buddy Dive (located on site) is excellent and the convenience of tank accessibility and the knowledgeable staff is fantastic. Housekeeping of the units is very reliable and much appreciated and the housekeeping staff are very polite and helpful.

Now on to the disappointing aspects of our stay at Belmar. We stayed here just shy of two years ago in unit 2 which we liked (although it was getting a little tired inside, the location being far from the pool suited us). When we booked this holiday 9 months in advance we requested unit 2 and were told there are no guarantees. We were assigned unit 3 and had several issues: hot water tank kept shutting off so we had to reset it daily, lights in the smaller bedroom only worked sometimes, the stove is not properly grounded so if you touch the metal frame when a burner is on you will get quite a jolt/shock, the master bedroom bathroom window doesn't properly shut or even open, but just enough to let the mosquitoes in, the paint on the wall is bubbled and peeling (pic will be attached), and there were very little cooking utensils available and not enough dishes for a group of 4. The first double cabin truck we were assigned was literally falling apart. We complained so they provided us with another double cabin truck and it was just as bad, if not worse. You know you have a bad vehicle when other Buddy Dive renters make fun of you (and that happened). The seat belts in the front didn't work, the drivers seat was rusted into one position (which meant knees in the nose if you are taller than 5 feet). It just wasn't safe. We complained again and were told that they would see what they could do. Seems the new guests that arrived got the new trucks and we were ignored. I guess you need to be a repeater of more than 2 times to be given preferential treatment. We paid $6750 USD for two weeks and I would expect better accommodations and a safe vehicle for that price.

We took some time to speak with other guests, some who return annually. We were told that they always reserve the unit they want (example unit 16, unit 4 and unit 2 were reserved for those guests in advance). We found one of the girls who we dealt with mostly (in the front office) to be unhelpful and somewhat aloof (and we are Canadian and very polite and thankful, we approached all of our issues with a calm discussion). Be sure to thoroughly check your final bill as well because we were inappropriately charged for extra boat dives.

Needless to say, we won't be back to Belmar but definitely will return to Bonaire one day.

Room tip: Unless you are a valued multi-repeater your requests will not be honoured.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank WhitbyScubaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Very helpful front desk with imprinting, coffee, and all kinds of problem solutions. The dive shop with Patrick very problem solutions oriented. In generell nice place and very efficient for divers , just in front of the apartments.

Room tip: ground floor shortest ways to dive and sun
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Spacious room with a deck overlooking the ocean. Snorkeling right from the end of the dock. Room was cleaned every second day and the ladies did a great job. Pleasant pool area. Staff went out of their way to help us

Room tip: All rooms have good views. Lower floor has 2 bedroom units, upper floor has 3 bedroom units
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank shirazdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews