We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveller rating
559
108
23
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
559
108
23
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la balandra private beach beachfront suite great adventures bonaire fish beach service dive shop dinner on the beach dive boat small wreck beautiful resort snorkeling right off the beach palm trees concierge diving the resort's restaurant plenty of chairs day pass
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 702 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018

I stayed at harbour Village last week. We stayed 7 nights at a beachfront suite. This is a beach hotel, so for us we knew the luxury came with comfort and amazing service and we were not disappointed.

The suite was amazing and so big, my husband had to work for a whole day and he stayed in and was so pleased (that says a lot about the comfort of the room trust me). Amazing bathroom, with hot water for my long showers and really had everything I needed. If I needed something extra, there was a shop (The Beach Shop) right in the entrance that had everything I needed for very good prices, same prices as any other store in the island and it was walking distance and still in the facilities of the hotel.

The private beach is everything you need to relax, feel secure (not that the island has a high crime rate) but it was great to leave my phone behind when I was in the water without the need to check it every 5 secs. Seriously, this is priceless and I am sure one of the best thing that this hotel has (With plenty marine fauna to snorkel everyday and be amazed) Its a natural aquarium

One of the things I loved the most was "The Balandra". This is the restaurant on the beach. Everyone was so friendly and the food was amazing. Every morning was so nice to get there and be greeted like if they know you forever. We even missed one breakfast and the next morning everyone made us feel like we were missed (I hope we were). You can tell they are doing their best for you to have a personalised, memorable experience. We had a dinner in front of the sea, and they arranged everything so beautifully and memorised our names for the whole stay (every staff)

The Dive shop is great and the instructors are so nice, they end up being your friends and we laughed so much with them. Every trip they take you to is incredible, and if you only snorkel like me you will enjoy every place and if you dive even more! so it really has plenty activities for everyone.

The hotel was very clean (keep in mind is a beach hotel so dont fight the sand) Nevertheless, Every night the room was impecable. Cleaning staff are also so helpful and nice. They always greet you with a big smile.

The administrative staff (Manager, Front Desk, etc) were really attentive. The Manager would always come up to us and ask us if everything was ok, if we needed something (every day). She knew who we were, recognised us (advantages of not being part of a hotel chain)

Regarding our trip dates, June is a good month for windy activities (Windsurfing and kite surf) The weather is really good because it doesnt get that hot but still sunny to get the perfect tan without suffocating. However, Its Caribbean the weather will always be perfect

In conclusion, I loved my stay, I loved the hotel, the experience was incredible, the price is true to what you get (there are things no other hotel in the island will offer you). Its a beach hotel to relax, enjoy and feel at home but in paradise.

We will come back and dont hesitate to stay! Thank you to everyone in HV for making our week so incredible!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alisalna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Excellent accommodations, even better service. Diving team very supportive and attentive. So easy we chose to do a second daily boat dive vs shore diving on our own. Food is very good, consistent quality, kitchen shows attention to presentation and flavor combinations, and they have a nice, if modest selection of wines. Beachside villas smartly furnished, comfortably spacious and well serviced. Really nice combination, of comfort, privacy, personal service and amenities/activities. Good value!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kenthomas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Nothing else like it...we just returned from a one week stay and can't wait to return. We've been guests for decades and with each visit we are amazed by the beauty and charm of HV. The most beautiful restaurant on the island, La Balandra, has an excellent menu and all is prepared beautifully. Especially enjoy

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SusanMcGrawKeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

We coming already 25 years by this small hotel located at a wonderfull beach. We had a suite with Marina view and that was very nice. Breakfast and lunch are more or less standaard and oke.
Towels and beach service complete your day. The hotel has his own dive facilites.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DeMeernMarja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

The resort is stunning and on a gorgeous piece of real estate, and while the rooms may be a bit outdated, they're large and beautifully furnished.

The service was not what you would expect from this caliber of resort however, nor for this price point. No amenities, no one checking in on your stay, no one remembering your name (even when the hotel was practically empty). In general, it was a bare minimum of effort and no one went out of their way to do anything for you.

The other thing that stood out was the restaurant - There's only one and it has set hours. It also has a pretty unhealthy menu (pizza, burger, pasta...) - No vegetarian options, no gluten-free options, no lactose-free options. There's a lovely fresh fish dish, but very small portions of vegetables, and even the one starter salad is basically just arugula. The menu was also out of things nearly every day - And even though something like plantain chips were on the menu daily, in 8 days they were never served.

Room Tip: The ground floor suite was lovely - Just a few steps to the sand. Very quite but also very windy.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Caity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, General Manager at Harbour Village Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Caity,

We are very sorry to read your review and truly wish we had known during your stay, so we were aware of your dissapointment. We offer weekly guest receptions with complimentary wine, beer, cocktails, live music and snacks where several members of management are present to talk with guests. Please know that it would never be our intention for any guest to feel that we do not care, we want all of our guests to enjoy their stay and hope to provide that to you in the future. I would certainly appreciate if you were to contact us directly in regard to not receiving any of our guest amenities, as there are many for our beach club guests; including complimentary welcome cocktails and cool towels at check in, as well as complimentary coffee, water and iced tea in the rooms and suites. All of our guests are welcome to enjoy our complimentary WiFi, Nitrox (for certified divers), concierge diving, kayaks and paddle boards, fitness center, member’s lounge, computer lounge, as well as concierge front desk service and turndown service.

We regret that you did not enjoy our restaurant. We do not list dietary restrictive items on our menu, but our chefs are more than happy to prepare dishes for guests requiring special adjustments or with special requests. We have had several guests with severe allergies who have enjoyed dining in our restaurant daily on menus designed with our chefs and our restaurant team. Unfortunately, on a remote Caribbean island, not all items are always available. We are sorry that we did not have some items during your stay, it does not always happen, however it is something all restaurants on the island have to unfortunately endure at times.

We truly appreciate your feedback, it is with constructive comments such as yours that we are able to fine tune and improve our products and services. Should you wish to return, please feel free to contact me directly, it would be my pleasure to personally ensure your stay is representative of the service we aim to provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews