We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
554
107
23
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
107
23
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla balandraprivate beachbeachfront suitegreat adventures bonairefishbeach servicedive shopdinner on the beachdive boatsmall wreckbeautiful resortsnorkeling right off the beachpalm treesconcierge divingthe resort's restaurantplenty of chairsday pass
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018

An absolute destination! Our stay was incredible and the island was a rare treat! Beautiful beach at the resort, fabulous snorkeling adventures and the food was lovely. The hospitality of Harbour Village was refreshing- many thanks to Melissa GM and her team.

Room Tip: Marina or ocean view best- courtyard not as nice.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

If you want a beach, this is the place to stay. Great location, great views, and easy access to all water activities. Snorkeling and diving right off the beach. There is a good restaurant on the premises for those who don’t want to venture out. Fitness room was reasonably well equipped. This place is very quiet and restful. The staff was great.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Henry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

I reviewed this resort after a stay during Christmas week 2016 and gave it 5 stars. Whenever my husband and I travel and find a resort to be exceptional, and we plan to visit that resort again the following year, we always hope that we will find the same level of comfort in our accommodations, beauty in the resort property itself, along with the staff courtesy and efficiency that we had enjoyed on our previous visit. Any concerns about changes that would not be to our liking were alleviated when we arrived at the resort during Christmas week of 2017. There were new faces among the reception staff, but the staffers were both welcoming and efficient, and after the basic check-in paperwork was done, the resort’s new general manager, Melissa, warmly greeted us in a manner that left no doubt that she and her staff were committed to our enjoyment of our week at Harbour Village. We were also not disappointed with the beauty of the grounds and with the cleanliness and comfort of our suite. Management is obviously continuing to invest tremendous resources into maintaining the lovely resort grounds, which abound with blossoming plants. As a gluten-free traveler who often finds it quite challenging to find satisfying food that meets my dietary needs while outside the U.S., I am very pleased that some changes had been made at the Harbour Village restaurant La Balandra. On our previous visit in Christmas week of 2016, the staff at La Balandra attempted to satisfy my gluten-free requests, but on this recent visit the staff at La Balandra was much, much better prepared to do so. Knowing that I didn’t have to be concerned about whether I would be served a delicious gluten-free breakfast, lunch or dinner made this visit to Harbour Village even better than last year’s stay. My husband, who is the scuba diver in the family and who has traveled for decades to dive destinations throughout the Caribbean, tells me that the Harbour Village dive staff was again very courteous, knowledgeable, professional, and overall a real joy to dive with. We will certainly be returning there soon.

Room Tip: Suites have wonderful ocean views.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Janesq2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Just back from a week at Harbour Village. In general, the place was lovely, but there are a few tweaks that would make it that much more lovely. Here is the good and the not-so-good:

Good:
1. The beach is just plain gorgeous. Proximity of rooms to the beach is a bonus. There were ample chairs and lounges. Beach was very clean.

2. Happy Hour at La Balandra was awesome.

3. The staff at La Balandra - especially Michaela - was wonderful. Michaela is truly a ray of sunshine and we looked forward to seeing her each day. Also - the chef was wonderful at accommodating my needs for tasty vegan meals.

4. Snorkeling at the resort was lovely. Loved seeing the coral restoration project.

Not-so-good:
1. Staffing seems light with regards to bellmen. Upon arrival, it took a while to get our bags to our room. Likewise, upon departure, the bellmen were slow to get taxis for the large group of people who needed to go to the airport.

2. Turn-down service was inconsistent. Sometimes we had it, sometimes we didn't.

3. The equipment in the gym needs maintenance and an upgrade. The rowing machine electronic panel doesn't work. We brought this to the attention of the hotel management, but it didn't seem to get fixed.

4. The 2 shops on the premises were very sparse in terms of the merchandise they had for sale.

5. Smoking - yuck. It was just disgusting to see and smell people smoking on the beach. Why is this even allowed?

6. Massages - there were 2 couples in our group and we all wanted to get massages. The only option was 1 at a time. There needs to be multiple massage therapists available so we don't lose 4 hours waiting for each person to get a massage.

7. If we wanted drinks on the beach, we needed to go to the bar to order, would be wonderful if one of the waiters or waitresses would come out to the beach to take orders. They did deliver drinks and also meals - but that extra step of taking orders on the beach would be so nice.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne_S1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourVillage1, Manager at Harbour Village Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Joanne,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. Your comments are very helpful and allow us to fine tune and improve our service.

We have a challenge on the weekends, when all major flights into and out of Bonaire arrive and take off at about the same time. This is not an excuse for poor service, but does present difficulties in coordinating luggage pick-ups and transfers when large groups of guests are arriving and leaving on the same schedule. Our van does not always fit all guests and we have to rely on taxis to help us provide transfers, whose timeliness is out of our control. We regret that this was an inconvenience.

We have alerted our housekeeping manager regarding your inconsistent turn down service and this is being addressed with our housekeeping staff to see what is lacking in that procedure.

Unfortunately, spare parts for the machines in our fitness center are not locally available. The computer for the rowing machine has been ordered and will be installed as soon as it arrives on Bonaire. We apologize that you were not able to use it during your stay.

All of our rooms and suites are non-smoking, along with La Balandra Restaurant and all other indoor areas. Smoking is allowed in other outdoor areas, including the beach, but are sorry that this affected your experience.

We have a full time spa therapist and several therapists on call, but during busy periods, not all on-call therapists are available and it seems that this was the case when you and other group members requested treatments. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Beach service is typically available from La Balandra Restaurant. We are hiring a dedicated beach server to handle this service to avoid gaps and make sure dining or ordering drinks is effortless - the way it should be for maximum relaxation and enjoyment of our tranquil retreat.

Again, thank you for taking the time to call these issues to our attention. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Warm regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

This place is incredible. Upon arrival, we were greeted by friendly staff and the manager, Melissa, came to introduce herself and talk to us for a while. Anything we needed - from restaurant recommendations to a call for a taxi were responded to promptly by the staff. Each night, we had turndown service and water brought to the room. The beach is beautiful and relaxing and the resort is far away from the cruise ships which is an added bonus. This place is not inexpensive by any means, but if you are looking for relaxation and sanctuary there is no where better.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews