We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments
Reviewed 4 October 2017

I have stayed here many times over the past 10 years and keep coming back.
We've stayed downstairs, upstairs and in the penthouse (the place was overbooked so this was a complimentary upgrade, but I would book it again in a hart beat!). The pool is small but provides enough lounging spots for guests. We love eating breakfast on the terrace and watching the lizards and iguanas lounging in he garden.
There is AC in the bedrooms but not in the living/kitchen area but we've never missed it, here is always enough breeze to keep the place comfortable. The kitchen is supplied with all the items you need to make breakfast, lunch or dinner. The furniture has had its best days, but is fit for purpose. I love the books and magazines left behind by previous guests, there is always something unexpected to read. Parking is limited inside the gate, so be early or you have to park outside which really is no big deal.

Bonaire of course is divers paradise, and the small on-site dive shop associated with Buddy Dive is very convenient, just pop some tanks in the back of your truck and drive off. Rob is always helpful and has great suggestions for dives or just some good stories. Location cannot be beat - walking distance to town with its many restaurants and shops. There's so many choices that a week is simply not long enough.

Summarized, it's not an upscale 5 star resort, but cannot be more conveniently located with all the amenities you need. One of my favorite places to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

Stayed 2 weeks in September 2017, I had the upper apartment on the North side - Pluses are the air conditioning in the rooms, the beautiful seaside view from the deck on the second floor, and the well equipped kitchen and responsive management. We had a couple of minor problems - outlet that didn't work in the bathroom, and patio door handle that needed replacing - Management took care of them right away. We did most of our eating in the kitchen - baking oven (with convection) and microwave, plus gas stoves made it easy. One of the very best parts of our trip was sitting at the table on the west side deck with coffee and breakfast, watching the sunrise, and planning our day. Other info: They ask you to shut the metal gate to the parking area after 7pm for security. The second floor patio has the glass door put also a lockable metal grate for security.

Another big plus is that it is walking distance to the seaside restaurants, which is where we ate every night. (Diver's Diner and Karel's Beach Bar were our favorites). On most evenings we walked over to The Coffee Company and had ice cream or fresh juice after dinner. It is really enjoyable to leave the car parked and walk along the seafront during sunset for dinner.

A couple of tips - it costs $15 extra/day to use the air conditioning in the kitchen & living room. We found that if we opened the sliding glass door on the east side Master Bedoorm, and the glass door on the west side next to the patio deck, a very strong breeze would blow through the apartment and the air conditioner was not needed.

The only downside for this room was sometimes loud motorcycles drive by on the street on the west side, mostly on weekends. Also, the adjacent property on the north has several large parrot cages, and the birds squawk loudly most of the day. The worst part was that same property had five small dogs that yap incessantly, sometimes all night long.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cmtn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Awesome view of the ocean, Klein, moored sailboats and beautiful Caribbean blue water! I stayed two short weeks and was very happy with the accommodations. Not luxurious, better, typical Bonaire, everything you need and very comfortable. Each apartment is individually owned so are unique to that owners tastes, but managed by SunRentals Bonaire. The staff is awesome, friendly and ready to help with any question or situation, thank you Bouke & Marcel. The apartment grounds offer a private setting making it easy to meet other guests. There is a one-way street between your apartment / pool and the water front, you can enjoy watching people stroll, walk, jog and bike by. I recommend, if possible getting an apartment on the 2nd floor, they have a little better view and maybe a little more sea breeze. I cooked in almost every day; breakfast on the balcony was shaded as you are facing east, unbelievable way to start the day, a cup of coffee, fruit and croissant from Van Den Twell’s. Sunset dinner on the balcony with a glass of wine even more magical. Great value for the money, highly recommend Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments.

Room Tip: second or third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live2Dive2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Just came back from what I would say is some of the best shore diving I have ever done to date. The Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments were well equipped with all new appliances and all the stuff you need to make great meals. The Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments operation was well run and fully equipped for all our needs.
The Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments have modern equipment as well as great staff at all the locations we went to. Along with the room came the standard truck we used to get around. Never had any issues with the truck and it ran well.
Always leave the windows down at the dive sites and leave nothing and I mean nothing in the truck worth taking. Hide the key or take it diving but don’t leave a single thing like cash, good shoes or diving gear worth taking in the trucks.
The locals know divers under the water can’t protect the stuff left and you can see lots of glass around the sites from people that thought locking a truck would solve this. It really is not a big deal and most of the locals are super cool don’t let the few wreak a great dive location.
Buddy dive even have a drive through for tanks so cool!!! Would I go again yes but only if it’s a direct flight? The airline InselAir International had us sleeping on the floor of the airport with a 12 hour delay. No reason given and we left a closed airport at 1:20 in the morning.
Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments is an awesome company and I would highly recommend these guys. The Dutch are a great group and have high standards from everything from the rooms to the dive gear.
Tell them Kevin sent you from Scuba Ontario Club for a free gift!!!! Air is free what more can you ask for???

Room Tip: Ask to be near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments is an incredible discovery. The staff have been amazingly helpful (Bouke guiding us late in the evening in the dark when we were lost to our apartment) and so cheerful. Rianne defused a flat tire/rental truck issue for us and has given us great advice on many questions. The Apartments are on the ocean, plus a private pool on site. Our apartment is on the first floor with private patio and friendly iguanas that gently inhabit the lovely landscaping. The rooms are decorated delightfully and well furnished. We enjoy cooking at home a bit even while on this 2 week vacation. The cleaning staff is friendly and helpful as well. We feel at home away from home.
Buddy Dive shop was great to have on site, as we earned our EANx (nitrox) certification our first day and got good advice on shore dives.
This place is amazing, relaxing, private but community oriented outside near the pool and Dive shop. Great place to stay!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gretchen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
3 km away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
2.1 km away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#9 of 22 in Kralendijk
95 reviews
1.3 km away
Sonrisa
Sonrisa
#14 of 22 in Kralendijk
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
1.4 km away
Eden Beach Resort
Eden Beach Resort
#15 of 22 in Kralendijk
419 reviews
1.3 km away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments

Address: Kaya Grandi 65, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range: €102 - €174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments is located at the edge of downtown Kralendijk, the capital of Bonaire. It’s the only ‘petit’ resort in Bonaire on such an ideal location! With a Dive shop and office on premises, we can serve all your needs. Dive tanks and lockers are available 24/7. Our friendly and multi lingual staff is most willing to answer your questions and help you make it an unforgettable stay! All 13 apartments have a private porch or balcony with a spectacular views over the uninhabited island Klein Bonaire. Jump from the tropical garden into the pool or Caribbean sea or take a water taxi in front of the apartments to bring you to Klein Bonaire. Your comfortable one- or two-bedroom apartments have well equipped kitchens, cable TV (also with Dutch, American and South American channels!) A/C and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments Hotel Kralendijk
Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing