We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
150
119
32
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
119
32
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bari reef dive friends screened in porch bonaire dive and adventure living room dive shop easy access through vrbo condo unit the ice cream shop within walking distance of restaurants units are individually owned tennis courts air conditioning the ground floor the trade winds pickup truck
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay! We rented a large three bedroom, three bath condo, which was completely furnished and totally comfortable. It includes all the necessary kitchen stuff, a tv with cable and wifi too! Our view was breathtaking out the back window wall. The condos were clean and the air conditioning in the bedrooms worked great.

Right outside our doors were three entrances to Bari Reef, and Dive Friends shop onsite made shore diving very easy.
The Sand Dollar is centrally located near some choice diving sites. We bought a combination package with diving, condo rental and a pickup truck all included.

They even have a resident dog, by the name of Beauty who has made it her duty to welcome all the visitors.

This place felt more like home than a vacation rental. I would highly recommend this place to families, groups, and even couples who want a nice place to stay.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Sand Dollar Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

1650 square foot all to call your own! We’re so glad to you it felt more like home than a vacation rental. That is the atmosphere we try and foster – though the addition of Beauty was not part of the official plan. Please come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Good condo, clean and good staff. WE can dive right there at Bari's reef dive site. Very nice diving site. We had a kitchen, so making our own food was easy and economical. Dive Friends are right on the Condo site.

Room Tip: Best to rent on the bottom floor.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azernum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

We spent a few nights here for a snorkeling vacation. We were very pleased with the open-air design (we only used the A/C one night!), convenient location (we hardly drove at all!), and good service. While the condos were showing some wear, we saw repairs in progress. The resort had a easy ladder entry to the water with a shower nearby and the snorkeling was great.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BoardingPass802648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Sand Dollar Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

So good to hear you went the route of fresh air! With the way the trade winds blow in the front door and out the back really does make it so much more enjoyable than being closed off inside an air conditioned building. There are times it is needed, but it is just so nice to have the option for that freedom isn’t it? Glad you enjoyed the snorkeling – you won’t find a better place to do it than right in front of the condos! Our thanks again for being our guest, and we hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

We had been booked with a large dive group out of Oklahoma City. This trip for two was paid in full several months in advance. We had paid for a week in a one bedroom condo, two ultimate dive packages, and a rental truck. Three days before we were supposed to leave, we got that horrible call in the middle of the night that our mother died and we had to pack and leave for Illinois to make funeral arrangements and console Dad, who had just lost his wife of 65 years. Sand Dollar refused to refund OR give us credit for a future trip. They were given three full days' notice. Plenty of time to rent our condo to someone else, but they refused. Anybody with a soul would have at least given us credit for a future trip. The airline did! I will never, never, never recommend these people. They made our situation much worse by keeping several thousand dollars of our money at a time when we were already burdened with funeral costs.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Sand Dollar Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Our deepest condolences for the passing of your mother in law.

We have decided to give you a partial credit for a future stay, due in large part to the loyalty your trip leader has shown Sand Dollar in bringing us groups for so many years. We made this decision prior to reading your posting TripAdvisor. Despite the post, we believe this to be the right decision.

It was unfortunate Sand Dollar was not contacted by you or the group leader directly to request compensation during their time here. The only correspondence we received was from the dive travel wholesaler who booked the group trip. Since your reservation was made via a dive retailer, who booked through a dive travel wholesaler, who then booked with Sand Dollar, there were multiple parties involved in the communication about a possible credit. This caused an undue delay, for which we apologize. In hindsight we should have let you know we had set things in motion while the arrangements were being made.

We initially assumed you had Trip-Cancellation or Interruption Insurance. As you now know, it is expensive to cancel or interrupt any prepaid kind of travel, especially when for a fraction of the trip cost, you can alleviate the risk of losing money if something unforeseen occurs. Without insurance, you would normally lose 100% of your investment.

We also want to point on that you incorrectly stated that the three day notice we were given was “Plenty of time to rent our condo to someone else.” Please be aware that the average reservations for properties on Bonaire is made a minimum of 3 to 6 months in advance. Months, not days. Travelers do not arrive on Bonaire without having previously made reservations. There is no such thing as “walk in traffic.” With the limited airlift we have to the island, reservation must be made far in advance. It would be totally impossible for us to resell any room 3 days out. Thus your condo, which we could otherwise of rented many times over since it was high season - stayed empty the whole week, at 100% loss to Sand Dollar.

Despite this we will award you a 50% credit on the accommodation. You will also receive a full refund on the diving package. The Car rental was not booked through Sand Dollar, so you will have to discuss this matter with the dive travel wholesaler who booked your trip.

Again we are very sorry for your loss, but do hope that this generous offer will be accepted with appreciation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016

F-9 is a great, clean little studio because the owners take pride in their condo. comfortable bed, cable tv and music options, nice walk in tile shower and a full kitchen with in about 200 feet of the incredible warm crystal clear blue water. With everything as advertised, such as AC, internet , patio with chairs, dive shop on site, and more because of the great support and advice from owner you will have a great time. The scuba diving in Bonaire is amazing. Ken

Room Tip: this room was very quiet even with renters above.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Sand Dollar Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Thank you Ken for your post. Our owners do take great pride in their condo’s, and we love the personal touches they add. Our management and reservation team knows the in’s and out’s of all of the different condos and are always available to support and suggest units depending on what our guests are looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews