We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
217
184
61
40
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
184
61
40
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diving freedom dive staff dive operation bedroom bungalow shore dive rum runner dive lockers great dive boat dives a day klein bonaire unlimited nitrox room safe night dive air tanks front office staff ocean view restaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Confirmed a villa for 2 couples for 8 nights. Arrived to find villa occupied so given a cabana for the night.

Moved to villa and the maintenance had not been completed. Ended up complaining to management as there was a severe sewer issue in one bath room making bed room in useable. Manager got issues straightened out by day four However, the promised refund or reduction of the difference was a little more difficult to obtain

Will give dining area a 5 as food was good and reasonably in price! Outside of the compound however we did not have good luck with restaurants

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pas146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
734frontdesk, Front Office Manager at Captain Don's Habitat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issues you have experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
Thanks for staying with us.
We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Nice diving resort, the coral reefs were amazing! If you are not a fan of diving you can snorkel as well. The Dive staff is friendly and knowledgeable and will assist you to make sure everything is comfortable and your gear is exact (if you don't own it). The Restaurant staff is extremely friendly and are always willing to go out of their way to accommodate you. Hotel staff is another story. Most are friendly, however, some have attitudes (from front desk to some cleaning crew). My room was very large and close to the pool which was nice. I only had my room made up 1 time during the week because of the valuable equipment in my room, which I locked up and took with with me when my room was made up. The area is very sandy and after days of that it needed to be swept. I had no idea hair products would be taken in that cleaning process! I discovered that the day after the room was cleaned when I went to use it the bottle was missing. I Didn't feel the need to alert anyone, it was a minor thing to me.. Had other issues on this island far worse than hair products. My advice is do the boat dives, stay in the resort and do the diving there. There is plenty to see within Captain Don's. They have 3 boat dives a day and unlimited tank diving. Keep all your other valuables home. Enjoy your trip, it is truly a diving experience!

Room Tip: Ground floors are good rooms so you don't have to drag diving equipment up and down stairs
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank 25barbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Capt Don's Habitat is friendly, comfortable and situated in a great spot. The staff is professional and knowledgeable. Three different boat boat dive times each day, usually two different destinations possible with each time. Countless shore dives accessible on the island of that is not enough. The dives are safe but not overly restricted by the divemasters. Responsibility is yours although they do make checks on you and the equipment, subtly. Dive shop and gift shop on the property.
The accomodations are comfortable and well situated.
The restaurant is decent.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

This is a nice resort. Rooms are big, quiet, comfortable and we'll furnished. Most of the staff is friendly and helpful, except a few that seemed to have a bit of an attitude. This is basically a SCUBA diving Disneyland, with 24/7 diving capability and shore diving. We enjoyed our stay here, but things could be run a little better.

NOTE: The shore diving here is very good, and they have plenty of tanks to take out and use for shore diving around the island, but their dive boats are just a way to "cattle-car" for our taste. Up to 20 people at a time on a 42' boat - with only one guide and only the boat captain helping you in and out of the water - does not work for us. Also; Having 18 divers come up at once to get on a boat with one person assisting, only one latter and no tag line was causing us to have to hold onto the back of the boat to avoid drifting off in the current.

Room Tip: Suites have an Ocean Front view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank RazrBlzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Just out of Kraalendijk next to Buddy Dives, nice restaurant on the watefront. Great sunsets, tuesdays and thursdays live music by Moogie, great guy great musician, good vibes! Small bar. Bigger restauranr. Only had pizza which was ok, and drinks. Nice place to hang out early in evenings, have a drink and see the sunset

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Angel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
734frontdesk, Front Office Manager at Captain Don's Habitat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback. And we hope to see you soon back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews