We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Nice little history spot.

A nice little spot showing some of the island's past history right along the sea across from the... read more

Reviewed 6 July 2018
William C
,
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Worth the Stop

We stopped for about 10mins at the White slave huts. There are located on the south of the island... read more

Reviewed 18 February 2018
amanda5805
,
Duncan, Canada
Read all 64 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bonaire
from US$30.00
More Info
from US$35.00
More Info
from US$25.00
More Info
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
27
24
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
24
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salt ponds slave huts drive south sad history island tour worth a visit pink flamingos slaves obelisk marker constructed lighthouse driver dutch stops shore
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2017

We were amazed but the remaining slave huts at Witte Pan just down the road from the salt production on Bonaire. Slaves lived in the huts while working the salt production on the island. Many slept in the tiny huts which amazed us. You can also visit the beach in this area which is a nice stop.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank sheilal921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

as you drive south around the island this is one of several sets of slave huts, views are tremendous.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

My husband & I embarked on a 2 and a half hour guided off-roading adventure via open-air vehicle through one of the Caribbean's best preserved mangrove forests.
We spotted pink flamingos, great white herons, frigate birds, brown pelicans, goats, donkeys, lizards and more.

We were headed towards Lac Cai Beach and along the way stopped at Witte Pan to observe and learn about the various colored slave huts.
These huts were constructed during the slavery time and served as camping facilities for slaves working in the salt ponds to collect and ship the salt.
These huts were also used as sleeping quarters.

Four Obelisks on Bonaire were used as navigational shore markers to guide ships coming in to load the salts. The Obelisks were painted red, white, blue and orange for the colors of the Dutch flag.

During the tour, we passed the Salt flats, the Spelank Lighthouse, and took photos along the water's edge.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank CarolinaNurse323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

To see this location, in a barren, hot land, you realise what a hard life the slaves and locals had. Horrific.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

It's worth a quick stop to see these if you are driving by. I don't think I'd make a special trip to these white slave huts unless you're really a history buff, or unless this is something you are extremely interested in seeing, in which case you probably wouldn't be basing your decision to go or not on any reviews that you read here.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews