We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$130
View deal
Trip.com
US$148
US$124
View deal
Hotels.com
US$130
View deal
PricelineUS$148
Orbitz.comUS$130
TravelocityUS$130
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
207
185
57
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
207
185
57
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews within walking distance sister hotel st lawrence gap the gap fridge freezer bed apartment champers restaurant full kitchen small kitchen bit dated small hotel sun loungers hired a car restaurants and bars reggie mist sea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

We booked this package with BA just before the initial UK COVID lockdown and arrived a couple of days before the island changed its protocols for arriving passengers, ie having the second test and isolating.
Arrived after an uneventful BA flight and we were allocated C301 as our room. Front desk staff took temperatures and gave us the do’s and-must nots for the stay. Our only issue on day 2 was that our fridge/freezer gave up. Reported to the front desk and it was changed within 15 minutes. It was sad to see the place really quiet but was nice not to have to worry about getting a subbed.....
Didn’t utilise the restaurant for breakfast but saw it was being used by the other guests, of which I would estimate there was only 8 of us. Reggie was present as always and was mucking in with the other staff getting the place ready and tidy for more numbers of guests. Blue orchids is now a COVID secure isolation hotel, can’t think of a better place to isolate. We’re booked back for March 2021 and can’t wait. It really is like returning to see an old friend. Great staff, great location.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank simonfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020 via mobile

Really enjoyed staying at this little gem of a hotel Well located at Worthing/Rockley beach, with a couple of small pools and a great beach to swim on (slight proviso here, like all beaches in the area it is not a flat calm beach, but has gentle to strong waves depending on the strength of the wind). The rooms are typical Barbados, decent size, comfortable clean beds and full kitchen for making tea, food etc. Excellent view out from the balcony overlooking the sea and gardens. Entertained by the birds who are very tame. But for us it was the staff who made it so enjoyable. Friendly, considerate and full of fun. The breakfasts in the restaurant were excellent, and the deals on the beer very good. Yes it is only a 3star hotel, but we enjoyed ourselves more than in some 4/5star hotels. One other small proviso is that you can hear some road noise, so if you are sensitive to that, then this may not be the best choice, but otherwise give it a go.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaret carrington, General Manager at Blue Orchids Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2020

Dear Tony,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write us such a good Review. We really appreciate it. Our Staff really tries to give our Guests good Customer service and to make their stay as comfortable as possible.

We sure look forward to you returning to stay with us again.

Thank once again for your kind Review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2020

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Orchid Sept 2019....and we had the best time ever.
The location of the hotel is brilliant and the beach was amazing ..this was my first time to the Caribbean, my husband has been before but not to Barbados, and we both agreed that it was stunning.
Our room was on a first floor over looking the gardens and sea. The room was clean and comfortable. I cooked breakfast every morning ,everything you need.
We slept well each night.
The staff were helpful and friendly...Thank you Kim, Andre, Denise and Joseph.
We had a car for 2 days and went and explored this heavenly island.
Really enjoyed Speightstown, Bathsheba, Andromeda Gardens and watching the racehorses swim.
Food fab..the Tiki Bar was our favourite with the best cocktails. Love fish cutters too.
All in all my our holiday was excellent and has set a very high bar.
Thank you Blue Orchid and Barbados !

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank mollymOxon_Berks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2020

I hadn't been to Barbados before ( although i have been to quite a few Caribbean islands ) so did not know how to play accommodation. Blue Orchid is mid range ( upper budget ) hotel south of Bridgetown. I hired a car so we could see the island. Its very easy to get around, both by car and public transport. In future i might not bother with the car.
The hotel is a bit dated / tired. The kitchen area (we had a 2 bed apartment on ground floor) was small and had only very basic cooking equipment. We had planned on eating in a few nights but in the end went out each night. The cooker was just a little too basic and there was no BBQ or anything like that. On the other hand a lot of the other residents ( mainly 60+) did seem to eat in , they all seemed to be there for multi week breaks from North America. Room was clean though so no complaints there.
There were no sunbeds that i could get my hands on after 8-9 am. So if you were not sure what you were going to do that day and then decided to stay on their beach it would be too late to get beds WITH parasols. Many seemed unoccupied but with towels on.
Staff friendly enough, supermarkets ( 2) were walkable as were a couple of restaurants and the Tiki Bar ( reasonable for late night drink / snack) . Also went on a splurge to Champers Restaurant 100 yards away - superb - but pricey!
On the whole it was OK but having now been and travelled around the island i would definitely go Airbnb, lots of really good apartments for rent with what appears very good furnishings / kitchens, and for same or less money.

Room tip: Close to main road with lots of Taxi mini buses, so can get noisy at times.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LightPacker688484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

This hotel was everything I wanted it to be, the room was cleaned daily. We went room only and ate out most evenings, a small kitchen area with everything needed to cook, even had a coffee peculator All the staff were really friendly and would offer assistance when needed. I would stay here again

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank tinahM6401HX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews