We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget lodging in a fabulous location”
Review of Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Horizon
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Budget lodging in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We just stayed at the Blue Horizon for the second time. The effect of the economy is evident in deletion of breakfast (a great buffet is now toast and, if you're lucky, croissants) but otherwise the room was nice and well air conditioned, has tea kettle and refrigerator, and daily housekeeping was great. Everyone except dining staff were very nice. Not sure why the dining staff is so unfriendly and determined to make customers feel like a nuisance. Front desk staff is always super helpful and friendly. Best thing about Blue Horizon is the gorgeous beach just across the street and being so close to Bar Kanei for happy hour, as well as the short walk to Champers, our favorite restaurant on the island. Sunsets at the beach and Champers are unbelievable, and it's all there for you if you stay at Blue Horizon. Think budget and be pleasantly surprised if it exceeds your expectation, then spend the extra money on delicious food!

Room Tip: Both rooms we've stayed in were quiet and had a great balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LianneDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    55
    77
    24
    18
See reviews for
31
59
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This hotel needs urgent refurbishing and the rooms are definitely over-priced. We stayed in a suite but the air-condition is located only in the bedroom and the living room area is hot with just a ceiling fan. Also there were puddles of water in the corridors and no one seem to pay any attention to them. The hotel is located on the highway therefore it is very noisy from the constant passing of vehicles. Although internet is advertised it was not working and this amenity was very important as I am doing online studies. The restaurant menu is limited but also over-priced. Thanks to Chefette Restaurant next door we were able to get reasonably priced food.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aajean32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christ Church Parish hotels

wilsonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

It is not the Ritz but it has everything that an ordinary family needs.

The location is great, across from a lovely beach where the local ladies sell their wares and within walking distance of shops, grocery and grog.

We have been there several times and never had any unwanted surprises.

Una Norrie

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank unanorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was definitely not my choice to stay, But due to the closing of the other hotel we were to stay at (Timeout in the Gap), this is where they placed us without contact. This hotel was one of my choices when I was booking but didn't choose it based on the reviews and my mom who drives taxi in Barbados, at the end we gave it the a shot. We made the best of it as this was our anniversary and it was not to be spoiled. The staff and service from the staff was great but as for the room was not its best if you dont mind the soap scum build up and the old need to be replace blankets and the blower that blows the grass into the room while the doors are closed if you are staying a first floor room then go for it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bajan-Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I was reluctant to even entertain the idea of staying here after reading some of the reviews,but I'm glad I followed my pocket.LOL Exquisite,no adequate,yes. The location is perfect for those who want to get around. I was able to walk to the beach across the road and shopping and dining just a little way down .Had a beautiful view from my balcony and the room was clean. The place overall could use some TLC,but if you are on a budget this is a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GottaGo906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.3 km away
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
#24 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
340 reviews
3.4 km away
Sunbay Hotel
Sunbay Hotel
#44 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
205 reviews
3.7 km away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#2 of 9 in Hastings
374 reviews
0.5 km away
Worthing Court
Worthing Court
#1 of 3 in Worthing
339 reviews
0.3 km away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#23 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon

Property: Blue Horizon
Address: Rockley Beach 1, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Christ Church
Blue Horizon Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing