We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Autograph
US$1,214
View deal
TravelocityUS$1,232
Booking.comUS$1,232
PricelineUS$1,232
Expedia.comUS$1,232
Hotels.comUS$1,232
Agoda.comUS$1,232
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveller rating
691
96
41
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
691
96
41
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne breakfast jet lag massage ice cream afternoon tea nothing is too much trouble rum punch the cliff our honeymoon egg station plunge pool cool towels turn down service junior suite bottled water small hotel fellow guests sea view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 856 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2022

We loved it here. A last minute holiday and although we'd never been here before it staisfied the criteria, all-inclusive and (after many years of children holidays) adults only. The hotel is fantastic. We booked an ocean view, as being on that west coast sunset rooms and the only way to go. Rooms are spacious and a large balcony. the Ambassadors (Staff) are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for them, helpful and accomodating all through the day and night. Drinks and food all through the day after the champagne breakfats! Relaxing areas straight onto the beach or loungesr near the pool overlooking the beach and sea, gorgeous. We'd go back again tomorrow, or even today. Loved it.

Room tip: Ocaen view, the way to go.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jason Jordan, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels - All-Inclusive, Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2022

Dear AIan D,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review about your stay at The House hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and value all of your comments.

We are delighted that you were impressed with our wonderful staff and hotel offerings.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Warmest regards

Jason D Jordan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2022 via mobile

Just returned from the most amazing week at the House. We arrived to be greeted by Richelle who gave us a rundown of the hotel and the Ambassador ethos which was in place to make the experience feel as homely as possible. It really did just that! We were also offered a beautiful rum punch by Nicholas who was one of the wonderful barmen. Our room was beautiful, a Junior Suite on the top floor with some of the nicest ocean views I have ever seen. It was clean, nicely decorated with plenty of drawer/closet space and comfy sofas. The bathroom was spotless, had double sink and a bath tub/shower with multiple body nozzles for a thorough clean! Plenty of toiletries, a hairdryer, so many towels and some bathrobes too. Only missing element was a plug for the bath however, but I am sure if we had asked we would have got one. There’s a safe in the room too and the mini bar was stocked with water, beer and soft drinks.
The highlight Of the week was definitely the staff tho, big shout out to Wade, Andrew, Marlon, Jason, Nermal, Shane and the aforementioned Nicholas who delivered some of the most top level customer service I have ever experienced. Drinks were always flowing (Banks beers and the Raspberry Collins are a must). Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and everyone had a great level of banter mixed with the highest levels of professionalism.
Breakfast was great everyday with a great selection of juices, fruits, bread, pastries and the option of freshly made hot food (eggs Benedict and pancakes with eggs/bacon were my firm favourites) all washed down with an early glass of bubbly .
The choices for dinner spanned across all the sister hotels, the on-site restaurant Positanos or just in the hotel lounge. All were great with choices of a la carte dishes and different cuisines in the lounge daily. Trust me when I say, the cream filled beignet with warm Nutella sauce from Positanos is not a dessert that I will ever forget or probably find bettered!
We went out a few times too and the Ambassadors were more than happy to arrange taxis and provide recommendations when asked.
You are also able to take advantage of the water sports on the beach, which we did daily and allowed us to paddle board, kayak, waterski and jump on some speed boat pulled inflatables.
Some of the reviews say that the hotel is in dire need of a refurb, I’m not convinced of this as everything is beautifully presented and really in keeping with the island. We didn’t use the pool so much as, let’s be honest, the sea is the clearest, warmest and cleanest I have ever been in. Plenty of sunbeds available as the level of occupancy in the hotel was on the lower side, but there really is a lot of space.
Overall, this was a great holiday, made so much better by the staff and other guests. We don’t tend to return to most places after we have been there, but Barbados is one we will come back to. When we do, the House is going to be the choice again, thanks everyone for making our week so great and see you again soon. Amit & Claire

Room tip: Make sure you visit Oistins Fish Fry on the Friday and if the forecast says rain, don’t believe the hype. It comes and goes just as quick
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AmitA1673
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jason Jordan, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels - All-Inclusive, Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2022

Dear AmitA1673,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review about your stay at The House hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and value all of your comments.

We are delighted that you were impressed with our wonderful staff and hotel offerings.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Warmest regards

Jason D Jordan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2022 via mobile

The House concept is amazing. Intimate environment for adults only and a stunning location. However the facilities and rooms are tired and appears ready for a refurb. We paid an extra £1000 for a sea view which was a total waste as all the rooms are pretty much sea view. We stayed for 12 nights and on the first 7 nights occupancy was about 30 ish people across the 34 rooms. Service was excellent from staff, Andrew, Nick, Shane, Wade, to name a few. We had towels set out, pineapple and ice lollies by the pool, drinks constantly served and ice cold flannels. From day 7 occupancy dropped to around 14 and then again after day 9. From day 9 all the above excellence stopped completely and it became a Butlins help your self. We had literally no service by the pool at all for our last 4 days. The staff became scarce and diminished. The food in the hotel was very good, especially the evening meals, which service was never an issue, although being the only guests eating dinner in the hotel with just the waiter and evening entertainment for company was a little eerie on the last night. The food and service at breakfast also deteriorated over the days and went from full continental and hot buffet with fresh omelette chef, to minimal continental and having to wait and hour and ten minutes for a menu choice by which time we had to leave for a trip and the food never even materialised despite reassurances. The rooms are very basic but kept outstandingly clean and the maids do an amazing job to keep the rooms fresh and tidy. The mini bar was a challenge and we had to constantly remind and ask for soft drinks to be restocked and was sometimes never fulfilled. Be aware the hidden hotel taxes that cost us an extra £300 over the 12 days also. The hotel was accommodating in giving us a late check out before this review which was appreciated (interesting if they would if the hotel had more occupancy). Slight insult when we booked a transfer home, to add it to the room bill was $160 bbd, but to pay the driver direct was $100 bbd. We do not begrudge paying for anything of service or experience but some of the above left us a little perturbed, especially as it started so well ? Happy to be corrected but surely the level
of service should be the same for guests no matter if there are 3 or 103 guests staying in a hotel of this quality and price ? Or should the price of the room decrease with the level of service also ???

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jason Jordan, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels - All-Inclusive, Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2022

Dear John G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments.

Here at The House, guest satisfaction is of utmost importance as we seek to offer each guest a serene and enjoyable holiday. We sincerely apologize that there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your satisfaction, and we will be sure to improve on the key areas highlighted going forward. We have a set price for our Airport transfers as we aim to provide a luxury service for you from the airport to The Hotel. We shared your feedback with our Food and Beverage team and will ensure that we do not have a reoccurrence to the challenges you experienced.

Once again, I wish to thank you for your valued feedback as it is only through such, we are then able to maintain and improve upon what we extend to you, our valued guests. I genuinely hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you back to The House, or to any of our other sister properties within our group. We aim to endeavor to provide you with an unforgettable holiday experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2022 via mobile

My husband and I came here with another couple who had been to Barbados before but not to this hotel. We WILL be back! Its been the most relaxing holiday. The hotel is amazing and, like its name, it really is like a house. We loved the set up where you go and choose your breakfast each morning as if it's in your very well equipped kitchen (Karl made THE best eggs) and then eat it in the comfort of an open-planned air conditioned dining room. The service was above and beyond anything we've ever experienced. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Water, cool towels, icecream, fruit throughout the day - even brushing sand off our sunbed towels when we get off to go in the pool or sea. They totally goout of their way to ensure we have the best time. Thank you Andrew, Shane, Richard, Wade Nico, Marlon to name a few and especially to Joan for keeping our room so beautifully clean and tidy (beds turned down with water for the night was lovely and thoughtful). Thank you to everyone for making this a holiday to remember for ever. This hotel should be at the top of the list if you're thinking of coming to Barbados.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank H9251LMsarahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jason Jordan, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels - All-Inclusive, Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2022

Dear H9251LMsarahg,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review about your stay at The House hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and value all of your comments.

We are delighted that you were impressed with our wonderful staff which is our greatest asset.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Warmest regards

Jason D Jordan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2022

Our stay was fantastic. We went for our wedding anniversary and took it slow, slow, slow. The staff really takes care of you and makes sure you're having a good time at all times. They also have some wonderful advice to share and perspectives on the island. Where to go, what to do so chat them up if they seem to have a moment. I would encourage one to take advantage of the other elegant hotels properties as well, particularly if you're looking to change things up at meal time. The lunch was good, but consistent. The dinner was good all days.

Room tip: The beach facing rooms provide beautiful views, particularly at night.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Discover243660
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jason Jordan, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels - All-Inclusive, Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2022

Dear Discover243660,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review about your stay at The House hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and value all of your comments.

We are delighted that you were impressed with our wonderful staff which is our greatest asset.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Warmest regards

Jason D Jordan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews