We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$290
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/05/21
Hotels.com
US$290
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/05/21
StayForLong
US$399
US$240
View deal
SAVE US$159
Expedia.comUS$290
eDreamsUS$290
Prestigia.comUS$399
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,769)
Filter reviews
4,769 results
Traveller rating
2,100
1,620
631
227
191
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,100
1,620
631
227
191
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge lighthouse restaurant pool bar bay view diamond member kids club tour desk careenage bar needham's point the grill happy hour private beach carlisle bay rented a car great beach pool side the gap
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
736 - 741 of 4,769 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2018

This Hilton is located next to beautiful Carlyle bay on the southwest coast of Barbados. The location is convenient for seeing the island, restaurants, especially if you have a rental car. The pool area is beautiful, and the beach is kept very clean.
Restaurants: service is slow, food options are limited, and during our stay, one of the restaurants was closed part of the time. The food we ordered was good.
Spa: If you stay, don't miss a massage at the onsite spa. Best massage of my life!
Front Desk: Poor. Make sure you check your bill regularly during your stay, and plan a lot of time to manage issues - someone charged service to our room, which took over an hour to get resolved. We were not the only ones with this issue that we were aware of.
Rooms: All rooms have balconies with overlook of the beach. Tip: Top floor rooms have solid concrete walls waist high, so sitting and reading on the balcony will not allow a view of the ocean - you have to stand to see. Lower level rooms have metal rails, and much better views. Bed was comfortable, pillow selection available if you ask, air conditioning works well. Rooms are spacious, with lovely floor to ceiling windows/sliding doors. The bathrooms (we stayed in 2 different rooms) both needed maintenance for shower fixtures. Rooms were very clean.
Executive lounge: In desperate need of updates. Frequently out of water, snack selection limited, breakfast poor quality and selection.
Activities: For us, this was a negative - the Hilton hosted a "fashion show" 8 AM Saturday just under our room, very loud.
In the area: Don't miss Oistins on Friday night for great local atmosphere - George's serves great fresh fish at a reasonable price. For a romantic dinner, make reservations at Champers and ask for a table with a view. Breakfast at the next door Raddison has great food although slow service. For catamaran/snorkeling trips, check out Calabasa. Beaches just to the north and just south of Hilton are better for swimming and walking due to fewer rocks and longer sandy stretches (limited beach on property).

Everyone needs a trip to Barbados!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 48Julie789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carisia-Ann F, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear 48Julie789,

Thank you for taking the time to give a review on your stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments on our island, spa and our rooms.

We do sincerely apologize for the billing and Executive Lounge service issues you would have endured during your stay with us and we will be using your comments to better our guest experiences.

Once again we thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Carisia-Ann Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

2nd time staying here... the 1st time was during their high season Dec (the service was better then, the food still blows).

Checked in at 9pm on a Friday and was greeted by the rudest front desk person(I believe her name tamika?) did not accommodate any of our requests (also we are Hilton honors members, didn’t make a difference). She was so dismissive it was appalling. None of my requests were extreme, I asked for fresh towels (she said your room was just cleaned.... hmmm at 10pm at night? Got to the room literally had 1 bath towel) I asked if we could have a quiet room off to the corner and she didn’t even check, she said we are booked to capacity no change will be made... her tone was terrible, I asked to speak to a manager and she said none are available (again she didn’t check or try to find someone else to help me).
There was no one else checking in... there were 3 ppl behind the counter and of course no one helped.
The bellmen get extremely upset if you don’t let them take your luggage (they want the tip $) however, I had 1 carryon, no need for help.

The service at the breakfast buffet was terrible but it was expected and forgiven since it was included in the room package. asked for water twice... never got it, had to get up and clear my own table since the birds kept picking at the plates.

The bird situation is ridiculous esp during breakfast.

Had lunch by the pool.. wow what a waste of $$ & time that was. Ordered water 3 times(never got it), the food taste like microwaved TV dinners at best.... the servers spend their time talking to each other instead of helping guest This occurred back dec too.

Never coming back here again

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Paco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carisia-Ann F, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Paco P.,

Thank you for taking the time to give a review on your stay with us. Firstly let me thank you for your loyalty as a Hilton Honors member and for choosing our property to visit for a second time.

Please allow us to extend our sincere apologies for your experience throughout this stay and I can assure you this uncharacteristic of our hotel. These items will certainly be addressed with our senior team. As our loyal Hilton Honors member, you are amongst our most valued guest and you should have in no way experience such dissatisfaction with service and food & beverage. Also the hotel is currently looking into ways to address the bird situation on the open terrace of the restaurant, in order to alleviate the current issue.

Once again, we thank you for your review and will be using the comments noted to better the experiences of our guests.

Kind Regards,

Carisia-ann Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

The hotel is nice and clean. The people are super nice. This is a good hotel to use as a base to explore the rest of the island. I would definitely not stay here and use it as an inclusive resort.
Although by the water, don’t let the pics fool you. The ocean is not for a relaxing swim or wading. It has lots of waves and undertows. The pools are well kept and the staff are great.
The food is subpar, especially for the price. Tip: unless you are going to gorge, the breakfast buffet is way more than just ordering a la carte. Also, for breakfast.... dress warmly and eat inside. It is like a meat locker in there but you won’t have to fight with the birds to stay out of your food. They think it is their food to eat!
I would stay here again as the hotel is good for a hotel and pool days were fun. Just be ready to get out and explore. (I also have a separate review for the grille).

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank traveltowine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy-Ann S, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay at our hotel. We are elated to know you found our hotel "nice and clean" and our people "super nice". We value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to mention the Pros and Cons of your stay with us.

We're very sorry you were inconvenienced by the birds, and your Food & Beverage experiences. Again, we value your comments and we will ensure they are used to improve our future guest's experience.

I want to thank you also for choosing Hilton Barbados Resort as your destination of choice and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We stayed on 6th floor Hilton Honors room. Room was comfortable, the bed was a bit hard for us but I realize some like a firmer bed. This resort has multiple pools and two small beaches which are hard to swim at and somewhat dangerous on windy days. Very close by is Carlisle beach which is a nice long stretch of sandy beach and much safer sowimming. Plenty of free beach chairs and umbrellas surround the pools and beaches. Plenty of white sand but very little water access. Staff was friendly and helpful. The food choices bring this place down. We think that almost 1/3 of anyone’s vacation should include delicious meals that they don’t have to prepare. We ate at restaurant (Grill) twice and had two small lunches at the pool bar. I would rate both places as medium to poor. Fortunately we ran into a few NY foodies who gave us great advice. If you come here, you must try Tappas, Prima, CinCin, and the Cliff restaurants. All excellent but a bit pricey. We also heard lunch at Nikki Beach club is awesome but we won’t know this until our 2nd to last day. Overall the Hilton property is definitely worth booking.....just plan to eat somewhere else. Hilton honors members have access to a breakfast on the 8th floo. Not spectacular but certainly worthwhile as it is free of charge.

We had a car but remember driving on the left can be a bit intimidating. Google maps does work here but I think you need an international calling plan. Check with your carrier before you leave. Also check out St Lawrence area in the evening. Cool place and Prima restaurant is right in the heart of it!

We have not explored the whole is
And but some places are quite poor. We never felt unsafe but I am guessing that you want to cautious walking around at night. I will say we had no issues and 90% of people seemed very friendly!

Hope this helps

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank greenwayboy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Dear greenwayboy19,

We are glad you chose our resort for your stay. Sorry dining did not meet your expectations. It is pleasing to learn you appreciated your breakfast benefit in the Executive Lounge and enjoyed your various activities at the hotel and around the island . We welcome your high rating and positive comments for our resort . We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Maureen Cumberbatch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Good:
- Rooms are renovated
- one of the most beautiful parts of the island with stunning water
- there is a beach nearby adjacent to the property... one of the most beautiful shallow sandy bottoms on the island; it's like taking a big blue bath (the beach in front of the hotel can get a bit rough)

Not good:
- Very loud local event on Saturday morning
- Service is inconsistent
- building not new

Recommend:
- walk to cuz cutters at nearby beach - best fish sandwiches on the island.
- if looking out at the ocean, walk left along the ocean - beautiful treelined beach; you can watch surfers catch waves
- indian grill has excellent rotis not too far away
- don't leave the island without doing a catamaran cruise! Cool Runnings has 2 boats: one in Bridgetown, and a luxury one up north. Both are excellent.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank Jenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Dear Jenn A,

It is great to hear you enjoyed the beauty of our area and found our rooms to your liking. We are sorry to learn there were aspects of your stay with which you were not completely satisfied. Your overall satisfaction is important to us. We apologize for any service which was not at our usual high standard. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. Thank you for sharing information on activities you enjoyed and think others would too. Come again soon!

Best regards
Maureen Cumberbatch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews