We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
68
35
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
35
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalt kettleferry stopminute walkseparate kitchenreasonable place to staytoaster ovengreen bankgreat combinationpool noodlesfull kitchenthe main housegreat soundroom was spotlessmiddle roadthe busbeautiful spothamilton harbour
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We stayed in Bermuda for five nights/six days at the end of July, and Greenbank proved our home away from home while we were there. Traveling with my mom, we stayed in a water-view room with two single beds, a small but functional kitchen and single bathroom (shower only).

We interfaced directly with owner/host Melanie, who was nothing but absolutely lovely during our stay, taking time to mark up a map of the island with recommendations and even reserving a taxi for us in order to make an appointment. She was friendly and helpful, warm and welcoming.

The guest house is very well kept, from the landscaping and water access to the daily maid service in the rooms - beds made, towels refreshed, a tidy space to return to after a day exploring the island. Situated across the harbor from Hamilton, it's a bit secluded, but that makes for a nice little escape from the touristy centers around the island. We didn't rent scooters or take taxis much while there, and the easy ferry/bus access made it easy to get to and from the guest house.

Not sure if we'll make it back to Bermuda, but if we do - or if we know anyone who is traveling there, will not hesitate to highly recommend Greenbank as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

If you enjoy a more historical/traditional type of accommodation that reminds you of your grandparents house, then you will find this cozy and comfortable. But if you like modern, spacious, last rage type of hotels, then you may want to stay away from Bermuda. We had a great time and felt really pampered by the manager and her staff - they go out of their way to make you feel at home and answer all your questions with patience and professionalism. Breakfast was delicious, prepared with a lot of care and attention, rooms were always clean and fresh. Even the local wildlife (herons, butterflies, tree frogs) make you feel like you belong. Thanks Mom, Diane and Melanie for taking such good care of us! The loquat jam is delicious!

Room Tip: If you want more space, choose a one bedroom suite but breakfast won't be included.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank cgs693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

This was our 3rd trip to Bermuda but our first stay at Greenbank Guest House and Cottages. We were lucky enough to squeak in a reservation at perhaps the nicest cottage on the property. Centrally located in Paget parish, facing the harbor, we secured the Sunset cottage. It contains a decent size kitchen, king size bed, table inside for eating, television, good bathroom and plenty of drawer and cupboard space to put our clothes away.

We arrived via taxi and were greeted by Melanie, the owner. Melanie was simply a joy to meet! She made us feel so welcome right away and showed us to our cottage and gave us the rundown on everything inside. She then left us so we could relax after our travels and put away our belongings.

We were stunned by the view from our front patio which contained a table with chairs and an umbrella. Facing westward overlooking the harbor we had seen pictures of the famous sunsets here. The grounds are very well maintained and there is a very good size dock from which, you can jump right into deep water for a swim. There are pool noodles available if you just to float lazily in the water. There are also some chairs on the dock as well. The water was warm and we swam there every afternoon.

We met so many other nice guests. There were people from Scotland, England, United States and some fellow Canadians. It was a great combination and we even organized a BBQ one night as there are portable Weber charcoal BBQ’s available. Note, you need to supply your own charcoal. We had great fun that night as there were 11 of us, spread out over two adjoining patios. Everybody chipped in by supplying food, wine and beer.

The maids work very hard here and we usually would leave for our day’s adventures right after breakfast. Upon return in the afternoon, the room was spotless. Some smaller cottages don’t have a kitchen so a continental breakfast is available. We had a well-stocked kitchen with groceries we bought so were able to make our breakfast every day and enjoy it on the patio.

There is a grocery store called Lindos in Paget parish which is not too far away at all. If you’re in Hamilton there is Miles Supermarket not too far from the central ferry station. We bought groceries at both and it is quite easy to bring them back to Greenbank.

The Salt Kettle ferry stop is literally a 90 second walk from Greenbank which is very convenient. We used this ferry every day to get across the harbor to Hamilton. You can see the ferry coming from the front patio and by the time you start walking to the ferry stop, it arrives in less than 5 minutes.

If you’re planning a trip to Bermuda, I would encourage you to contact Melanie and make a reservation. She is a wonderful hostess and because Greenbank is not located right in Hamilton, it is more affordable than a lot of Hamilton accommodations. You won’t regret staying here.

Stayed: June 2017
4  Thank Hilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Melanie, the guest house manager, was delightful and perfectly helpful . The rooms are dated but clean. We rented a full kitchen with a Harbor View which was so calming in the morning and the sunset was spectacular. We decided that the best way to get around the island is to take the Ferry to Hamilton and then transfer to another ferry or walk to the Hamilton Bus Station to take transportation to other Bermudian destinations. We bought 1 yellow zone and 1 red zone packet of ferry tickets which worked well for 5 days. You need to take a taxi to the Beaches.

Room Tip: Rooms on Harbor side have beautiful views
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Accommodation is expensive in Bermuda but Greenbank is one of the more reasonable choices. One reason is that is located not in Hamilton but across the bay. It is therefore a little more awkward because you have to catch the ferry that leaves on a regular run from the nearby station, but this is only a 5-minute walk from your cottage. The cottages show their age as they have been here for a long time, but they are comfortable and clean, and in a pleasant location out of the city. Melanie is indeed very helpful as the manager, and her helpers are extremely pleasant. One of them gave us a small jar of freshly-made loquat jelly.

Stayed: March 2017
2  Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews