We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingston House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kingston House B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Kingston House Is a cozy four-guestroom bed and breakfast a short walk from downtown Hamilton. And most everything you've read about it here on Tripadvisor is true.
The ambience, the location, and the owners (Harry and Marlie Powell plus Digby the dog) are strong points in recommending a stay here.
Breakfast is simple but satisfying. Great breads, cereals, fruit, juice, yogurt and cottage cheese plus terrific coffee fresh-roasted by Harry. (He makes it clear he’s not thrilled with having to pull a pot of decaf, but will do so if asked).
Like the humidity, Harry’s sense of humor can take a bit of getting used to, but he and Marlie are gracious hosts, encyclopedic and enthusiastic when it comes to Bermuda.. Both are quick to share ideas and recommendations (for and against) regarding beaches, restaurants, sights, whether to scooter or not (we decided not).
Not scootering means a cab ride or walk from downtown Hamilton to Turnstile Lane. While it’s short (only 10 minutes or so) it can be enough to make you wilt a bit in the Bermuda heat and humidity. It can also seem a bit harrowing the first time, as there are no sidewalks, But it’s cheaper than a taxi and great exercise, and Harry will instruct as to the safe way to make the journey. He can also provide a quick ride-around to acquaint guests with downtown Hamilton
And we mustn’t forget our fellow guests. One of the absolute pleasures of staying in a small B&B is getting to know others who appreciate the “non-hotel” atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed socializing at breakfast or other times when we preferred just “hanging around” to touring. Nice, nice people.
Oh, we booked the Palmetto Suite, with its pretty bedroom, separate living room, good-sized bathroom and private terrace. Well worth the slight extra charge if it’s available.
A very relaxing five days. We hope to return. Soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    22
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
185
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Kingston House provides an excellent value. Harry and Marlie are extremely friendly, as many have commented. While there is a little walk to downtown Hamilton and a small part of it is not on sidewalks, it is very manageable and Harry often offers rides if he is not busy or needs to go to town himself. When we first got there we were early and our rooms weren't quite ready yet. Harry offered to take us into town and gave us a wonderful quick tour of where things were and different places to eat. It was extremely helpful with getting us acquainted with the area. We had lunch and by the time we got back our rooms were ready. Breakfast was wonderful and the coffee is great! (Harry roasts it himself.) If you like staying at B&Bs, Kingston House is top notch.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, NH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Kingston House in July this year and had a wonderful stay! This was our second time at Kingston House and we stayed in the Jacaranda Room. The room was immaculately clean and breakfast was excellent. Harry is a most gracious host and it felt like "coming home" to stay with him again (Marlie was visiting family in the US). Harry went out of his way to make us feel very welcome and we would definitely stay at Kingston House again if we are blessed to return to Bermuda.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrandjoydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Had a fantastic 7-night stay with Harry & Marlie and had no complaints from beginning to end! I booked based on the tripadvisor reviews and location and I was not dissapointed. Rates are excellent and the owners (including Digby!) make you feel very welcome. Be sure to ask Harry and Marlie if you're not sure what to do (or where to start). Having lived on the island many years ago, I found their advice to be invaluable - things had definitely changed! The easy walk into town was most convenient as you are close to ferry and bus services, scooter rentals and lots of restaurant options. The Frangipani room was nicely furnished and spotlessly clean, with very quiet AC. The common living areas were very comfortable and there is a fridge, microwave, BBQ etc. when you want to have a snack. There is also a computer and wi-fi to keep in contact with friends. The breakfast was outstanding - such a selection! It was great to meet other travellers and figure out what to do each day. Kingston House was a very special place and truly felt like coming home. I will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Owners are very helpful and will do their best to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanJam_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

I am in two minds about how to review my stay at Kingston House Bed & Breakfast in Hamilton, Bermuda. While my natural instinct is to gush uncontrollably about how wonderful my visit was, how Harry & Marlie go out of their way to ensure your stay is memorable, I also feel like I’d be letting everyone in on a secret hideaway that I want to keep all to myself!

Kingston House is tucked off the main road, about a 10 minute walk from Hamilton, the main city on the island. Surrounded by lush gardens, the building is typically old Bermudian with whitewashed roof, colorful shutters and front porch. You are greeted by Digby, the resident dog and once inside, beautiful hardwood floors in the reception rooms and colorful furnishings surround you as you are welcomed by Harry & Marlie.

Marlie showed me around, passing through the dining area where breakfast is served and the guest’s lounge which includes a full-sized fridge (each room has a designated, labeled shelf for food), kettle and sink with various teas and cookies. I stayed in the Jacaranda room which consisted of a queen sized bed with a bench at the foot covered in brochures and Guide Books about Bermuda, two bedside tables, a closet, chest of drawers and chair together with a vanity sink and separate tub and toilet. In the bathroom, you will find shampoo, conditioner and shower gel provided for you with an abundance of towels and a towel heater. The room also included a hairdryer, iron and ironing board, flat screen t.v. with dvd player plus cable system and air conditioner. Kingston House has a library of DVDs to borrow as well as books and free wi-fi access.

Marlie immediately made me feel at home, letting me know where the nearest Bike Rental was and talking about some of the other guests staying at the B&B. Both she and Harry possess the kind of qualities that make you feel as though you have known them all your life. Far from feeling like an intruder in their home (which is how I have felt in the past at other B&Bs), at Kingston House, you feel like a long-lost friend, returning home.

I must admit that one of the aspects I was not looking forward to was breakfast at the shared dining table but it turned into my most favorite part of the day. Marlie and Harry were great at introducing all guests to one another and a lively discussion was had at breakfast about what one had done the day before and what plans lay for the day ahead. Breakfast itself consisted of coffee, tea, juices with a selection of cereals, homemade bread and scones with butter and jams. Marlie and Harry’s knowledge of the island is, of course, extensive and they were always happy to suggest places to visit and make restaurant recommendations.

There are too many events that made my stay at Kingston House so memorable to mention here suffice to say that I cannot wait for my next trip back to Bermuda to see Marlie, Harry and Digby and enjoy all that the Kingston House has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.4 km away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.4 km away
Hamilton Princess & Beach Club, a Fairmont Managed Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,683 reviews
2.8 km away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.2 km away
Edgehill Manor Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston House B&B

Property: Kingston House B&B
Address: 5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston House B&B is conveniently located walking distance to Hamilton and all it's amenities. It has plenty of architectural character and charm as well as the modern conveniences travellers expect in a top hotel. Friendly hosts help you make the most of your time in Bermuda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingston House Bed And Breakfast
Kingston House Hotel Hamilton
Kingston House B&B Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing