We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,074)
Filter reviews
3,074 results
Traveller rating
1,523
1,016
324
130
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,523
1,016
324
130
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river chair tags spyglass tower serenity pool captain's galley chair tagging pool chairs bedroom villa ocean club next door full kitchen time share marriott hotel washer and dryer grocery store ocean view baby beach queen bed
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 3,074 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

My family and I came to this resort on a promotion. We received a great deal and listened to a 2 hour presentation about the Marriot Vacation Club Points. We stayed at the Stellaris in April and was looking forward to trying out the Surf Club. The Club didn't disappoint. We stayed in a studio in the Spyglass tower. Room was clean and we had a wonderful ocean view and pool view. We loved the microwave and the fridge. This was very handy as we like to bring food with us. The lazy river was wonderful as was the slide. The beach was beautiful but very crowded as one would expect in front of a 450 room resort. The ocean is very calm and everyone was in the water with their floats. This takes up a lot of room of course but if you move down a 100 feet you will be in front of the Ocean Club or the Stellaris and it's not as crowded. The cons of this place: We didn't like the beach towel process, only 4 per room and if you need additional you have to rent for a $15 a day deposit. I also didn't care for the chair tagging. I did get out each day around 8:30 to tag chairs on the beach. I did witness an employee pulling several chair tags out of his chair and tagging chairs for a gentleman since he only had 2 with him. He tagged 4 extra chairs for him. Very nice of the gentleman and if I'd of needed more chairs I would have been appreciative so just keep in mind, the rules can be broken. I never tried to rent a palapa so I can't comment on that process. The process worked the same at the Stellaris and we never tried to get one there either since we are sun bathers. The beach is very clean here and no problems with vendors trying to sell you items. I do think Palm Beach needs to weed out some of the water sports vendors. They take up a lot of precious beach area.
Our vacation was wonderful at the Surf Club and hopefully we will return one day. We love Aruba and if you chose this place you will not leave unhappy.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Rhonda, thank you for the positive review of Aruba Surf Club! We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon for more #vacationgreatness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

We stayed at the Marriott Surf Club for 4 nights. The location is isolated, however the amount of beachfront is much less than other resorts. Also, the beach is very rocky and you need to wear shoes to go out in the ocean. The best thing about the resort is the slide and lazy river. My 4-year old son absolutely enjoyed both!

Room Tip: You shouldn't be spending your time in a room when in Aruba!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 843Gamecock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

We are pleased to hear your family had a great four night stay at Aruba Surf Club! We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

This was our first trip to Aruba but we have stayed at other Marriott Vacation Clubs before. The hotel was very nice, but some of their policies were quite peculiar. They have a towel policy where you need to exchange your towels instead of just being able to throw the old ones I. A bin and getting new ones. Because of that, you are always carrying towels around, whether they are clean or dirty. They also have a chair tagging system that is ridiculous. You can put a tag on your chair starting at 7:00am so you can use that chair throughout the day. The problem with that is most people put the tags on and never use the chairs.

Because it’s a vacation club you only get housekeeping once per week. The day we were supposed to get it, they didn’t come until 5:00pm. We were out all day, then when we got back to the room to clean up to go out for dinner they showed up. Very inconvenient to say the least.

This resort is great for kids. Plenty of daily activities, a water slide, lazy river and kids center. The beach is also a short walk from the pool area.

The staff and security were very helpful and friendly at all times.

It’s in a great location because you are only a ten minute walk from the downtown area where there are plants of great shops and restaurants to choose from.

Overall a great place to stay.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Coachpete34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for your review, Pete! We appreciate your feedback on your stay and will be sharing it with the resort team. We do hope to see you again for a second visit in Aruba!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

This is our 2nd time staying at the Surf Club. There are many things to like about this place, and Aruba in general. The staff is very friendly, I liked that they have a very friendly security team that makes sure all stays well. The resort is clean, the pools are great, esp. the lazy river. They also have a nice adult only pool which we appreciated. We enjoyed the three buffet dinners, (if you book ahead there is a discount) The chef was nice and accommodating as we had food allergy issues. Shops and restaurants are within walking distance—and taxis are reasonable should you need one.
With regards to the villas, we loved everything about the one from our 1st visit. This year however, one thing that disappointed me tremendously was that we were given a handicap unit. The problem for us with that was we were 4 people in a one bedroom unit(couldn’t get a 2 bedroom this year)There were NO pull out drawers in either vanity so we had to leave toiletries in our clothes drawers, and next to no counter space, it was just a sink in the main bathroom. (Probably to leave more space around the toilet) We needed the normal size vanities with drawers. So ironically, the bathroom handicapped us. The shower was an unattractive open space with a curtain. Good for a wheelchair, but being able-bodied we did not need it and were saddened at the lack of the luxury feel we always had here and at our home resort in St.Thomas. I requested a room change, but we were not moved. We made the best of it but this did put a damper on my week. We shouldn’t have had to struggle to make accommodations work. Also, our bed was not comfortable( it was really firm like sleeping on a floor) we wondered if that had to do with the type of unit we were in??And the pull out couch was not comfortable, you feel the springs. I felt bad for my adult kids who had to sleep on it. My suggestion would be to offer mattress toppers.
That said, we do plan to return next year as we love the resort in general and all Aruba has to offer. We just hope that our next stay fully lives up to what we’ve come to expect from Marriott.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ChickyM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for your, Chicky. While we are happy you enjoyed your visit, we apologize the villa was not the best fit during this year's trip. We would be happy to work with you on your next stay to make it the best possible for your family. Thank you again for your review and for visiting Aruba Surf Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

This was our third trip over last 9 years to the Surf Club. The service and friendliness of the staff is superb. We only met one staff member who was neither cheerful or helpful. An anomaly and the first of my travels as a member of the MVC

The resort is on the beach and the pool and any river are very relaxing. Each day same basic activities a oool fitness class bingo at pool and dance contest. Could add more variety bingo very popular. Located within walking distance to plaza with shops and restaurants. All excursions pick up at hotel and cab fare from airport is reasonable at 31.00 our last visit we rented a car with the exception of needing groceries 22 cab fare RT we had no need for a car.

They have a chair tag system to reserve pool chairs which improves that part of the trip. The security guards are actually superb as they enforce those rules and keep all’s safe. Harold and Stanley and staff explain the system to new comers and are delightful and efficient as they go about there work

Down sides. Pullouts very uncomfortable and it took 2 tries to try to improve comfort. We went to grocery store by cab once and used Aruba groceries to go once. The front desk person was less than stellar and actually a fellow traveler on line at desk was more helpful when asking for simple assistance of making sure a cellphone was associated with my room

Suggestion. MVC members get discount at marketplace and some restaraunts. That should be linked to your room as with 6 people having the card with you is not always possible

Great weather superb security who are helpful and nearby restaraunts. Aruba is some happy island Pool happy hour is 2-6 and staff are always walking around to take orders for food and drink atmoool and beach

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ivorysnow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for visiting us again at Aruba Surf Club! We are glad you enjoyed your third stay and look forward to seeing you again on the happy island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews