We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,091)
Filter reviews
2,091 results
Traveller rating
1,135
642
192
73
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,135
642
192
73
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspure oceanswim up barwasher dryer combofull bathroomsolder towerone bedroom suitethrough rciother hotelstime sharejacuzzi tubhigh rise hotelsbutterfly farmtimeshare ownersmusty smellkiddie poolgrocery storehappy hour
Filter
Updating list...
1,871 - 1,876 of 2,091 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Thank you to all the Divi Phoenix Beach Resort (helpfull) staff for the fabulous holidays we got from May 01 to May 08, in Aruba.
We had a nice studio inside the original 14 floors beach tower. From this studio we had a great colourfull ocean view of Palm Beach.
Our kitchen and our bathroom were very well equiped.
The Sunset beach bistro-restaurant (of the same resort) was excellent for its breakfast buffet at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arubalover050485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Best beach in the Palm Beach/High Rise Hotel area hands down. Beautiful waters and great views. Attractive, well designed and maintained landscaping. Units for the most part are spacious, clean and comfortable, however, the microwave in our Tower unit was encrusted with rust. Upon arrival the telephone in our living area was not functioning and I reported it the same day. After 7 days, still not fixed nor replaced. Also, a poolside women's rest room out of order our entire two week stay. Sunset Beach restaurant is average. Many better places on the island to dine. No complimentary Internet service. Had to subscribe for WiFi service and the service was repeatedly down. Seeking refund. Some of the staff are quite friendly and helpful. Unfortunately other personnel could care less. Needless and annoyingly inconsiderate use of a blaring PA system to conduct a nearly daily 2 PM series of bingo games. Detracts from the attractiveness of the resort.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veritiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

For anyone with a negative review of this place I have to wonder where and when you stayed! I just returned April 24th from 10 days at the Phoenix and was completely blown away by the entire experience. We stayed in one of the 1 BR "condos" overlooking the new pool and Pure Rest. The place was clean, stainless appliances, granite in kitchen and both baths. There was also a washer and dryer in the unit. The new buildings (4) are only a couple of years old. I did not stay in the tower nor the villas, but both are being renovated now. The pools, bar and restaraunts are great and reasonable. Then there is the main thing that you go to Aruba for....sunshine. The staff was friendly, AJ at the pool bar is the best. We met a lot of great people, some with kids and some without. As stated by another review, this is close to everything, but far enough away to be quiet. You never fight for chairs and rude people who reserve chairs and never use them wre non existant. Highly recommend this to everyone and cannot wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We had a wonderful week-long stay at the Divi Aruba Phoenix the week after Easter. We were on the 14th floor of the tower, and had spectacular views from the two balconies. The one bedroom suite was very spacious, the kitchen fully stocked with dishes, utensils, etc, and we did not have any odors as some of the other posters have mentioned. Our teenaged daughter slept on the hide-a-bed, and when we called housekeeping to request more blankets, the blankets arrived in less than ten minutes. We saved a good bit of money by eating most of our breakfasts and lunches in, and by keeping the fridge stocked with cold drinks.

This hotel is located on the far edge of Palm Beach, which is nice because it is not so crowded. We got prime spots of the beach everyday, which is a very beautiful beach, by the way. The swimming pools are beautifully landscaped, but we only used them when the beach got too windy. Yes, it does get very windy in Aruba!

We got an excellent price for this hotel using Vacationstogo.com, and for the money, it was an fantastic buy. It was clean, spacious, in a great location, and the staff was helpful. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone. The only thing I would mention, since I am a fitness buff, is that a lot of machines in the fitness center are in poor repair, and they have rather limited hours, especially on holidays and weekends. But if you don't exercise on vacation, this will not be an issue for you, or you can always take a nice long walk on the beach.

We booked our horseback riding trip using the concierge at the hotel, and that went very smoothly. We did a lot of things while we were there...snorkeling, sunset sail, etc, but the horseback riding was all of our favorites. We did the ride from Ponderosa Ranch, and it was amazing! The scenery was incredible and the staff really took good care of us, as we are novice riders. The price was very reasonable, and I would highly recommend it even for beginners.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank Ironlady29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed at the Divi Phoenix Easter week. We arrived at the hotel 4:30 pm, checked into a Villa (4 story building on the beach) room 415. Noticed the room had a musty smell and figured it may be due not having the air conditioner on all the way, set it for 68 and left for the evening. Returned at midnight to find both rooms were still in the high 70’s, musty smell was overwhelming, it was coming from the air conditioner. The front desk said we could move but would not guarantee we could have the new room for our 10 night stay; we may need to move again. We opted to spend the night in the room and speak with a manger in the morning. The smell in room 415 was so bad that I placed a towel over my face to sleep and my husband got little sleep that night, the smell kept him awake. In the morning the bedroom temp was down to 70 but we noticed as the temperature dropped the smell increased.

The hotel staff searched and searched the system for another room; was Easter week and booked. They found a room in the old tower room 1006. Needed to wait for the prior guests to check out before we could smell test the room. While waiting my husband was in the pool area looking up pointing out the 10th floor. Guests joked w/him about counting the floors and he told them the story of the musty smell. The first thing out of their mouth was “we are on the 12th floor of the old tower and our room smells so bad we had to light candles which did nothing”. They said as the temperature in the room dropped the smell increased.

We checked out room 1006, maid just finished leaning so it smelled like cleaning liquid (pine actually) so we could not tell if it smelled and took the chance it would not and moved. The hotel staff helped us re-locate so it took no time at all.

Up side: Our room had a little musty smell, was tolerable and came and went. The air was pre-set to 70 and we found this comfortable. The beach/ocean view from the balcony was fantastic! We also overlooked the island from the living room – also fantastic. Hotel staff was helpful and very friendly. We can’t say enough about the desk clerk who helped us move. She really had to juggle things around to get us a new room and did so with a smile and good humor.

Location of hotel is great and is away from the noisy crowds. We are not the kind of people to get up early to claim a spot on the beach or stand in a line the night prior. We hit the beach at all different times of the day and never had a problem getting a shady spot with space between you and others. The other hotel beaches were a mad house with chairs inches apart from each other. Divi beach was clean, quiet and not crowed (even though the hotel was booked solid).

Divi happy hour is fun and lively. Drink prices are reasonable ($5-6 for screwdriver (Absolute) and wine). Ate lunch at both restaurants and had good meals. Food is more expensive then drinks everywhere. Stay away from hotel bars they charge double for a drink.

The restaurants and shops are a 10 minute walk road side or 15 by beach. There is a winding walking path that runs in front of all the hotels beach side. Both were safe and well lit. We took the bus ($1.30 each) back to the hotel a few times and found this safe and easy. Cab from far end of Palm Beach to the Divi was $5. You can walk both ways we were just being lazy after a long day.

Actually, once we moved we loved the Divi Phoenix and would go back again. We would insist on checking out the room first to do a sniff test before we are checked in.. Guests in the “new tower” also complained about a musty odor but said it was faint. We think this may just be due to the hot humid weather in Aruba? Time of year? Or bad air conditioning units? Others had zero complaint, check out the room prior to checking in.

Had a blast jeeping. Prior to arriving my husband phoned and booked a jeep with More4Less, $800 for 10 days. Jeep was newer, clean and not dented. Did not have 1 issue w/the jeep or tires. We found that 95% of the “off roads” do not require to you to have a jeep but it was fun to drive. A small 2wd SUV would do well. There is 1 area along the north coast between the church and natural bridge where you do need a jeep, it’s bumpy with rocks so you need the clearance. Dirt roads are flat and dusty. We never put the jeep in 4 wheel and used low 1 time when trying to find an abandoned mine in the hills of the center of the island.

Took a horse tour to the natural pool and would highly recommend it to anyone, great way to get out and enjoy the nature. Horses were easy to ride and liked to gallop in the sand dunes. There is only 1 horse tour that takes you to the natural pool so it’s easy to find which company does this tour.

Helicopter with Simon the pilot (red helicopter) – absolutely fantastic way to see Aruba and the shipwrecks a must do!!!

Have fun – you will enjoy Aruba, a safe friendly place to explore. Divi is a good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MT5700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews