We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all around Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great all around Hotel”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

After a 15 minute bus ride, we arrived at the Riu and were greated with smiles, beverages, a simple check in, had ready rooms and then went straight to the Buffet.
OMG- heaven. Usually Buffets are stale leftovers. Not here. Fresh, tasty and wonderful variety. The Buffet was so good we didn't bother to eat anywhere else. There were 7 of us and we all loved it.
After a quick bite we went to the beach. Not much for waves (which we love) but clean, turquoise water. great for snorkling, scuba diving, banana boat rides, everything is here. The only negative is running downstairs early in the morning to get a chair at the pool or beach. Not a big deal, it gets you out of bed and walking the boardwalk in the morning more than makes up for it. It also helps with the calories that will be consumed.
The staff, shows, location, A-Z hands down. It was great. The pool was wonderful, great for families and couples.
Only challenge is for people with strollers or requiring wheelchairs. The ramp to the lobby is uphill which can be challenging.
The view, WOW, the white sand - so smooth, the nightlife, wonderfully exciting.
You can't go wrong unless your looking for a couples only resort. Only negative, the beds were rock hard. The ceramic floor was softer. Then, the day before we leave, we find out that you can request bed toppers. Definately request a bed topper and have a fabulous vacation. You will never regret this. Have a blast!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eveningsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,918
    1,805
    727
    337
    317
See reviews for
1,578
3,187
66
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed at the Riu the last week in March. Beautiful weather, beautiful beach! Room was clean and mini fridge was replenished daily. We stayed in room 335 in building B and had a large balcony close to the ocean.Always windy but it knew that when we went.
Everyone on the island was so nice- from the taxi drivers to the maids to the front desk. In front of the hotel on the beach you can walk to all the other hotels, lots of bars and restaurants. In front of the hotel on the street there are several more places to eat and drink. Very safe to walk everywhere.
All- inclusive was good. Breakfast and dinner were better than lunch. We ate at all the specialty restaurants. Liked them all especially the steak restaurant. No problem getting reservations.
Loved Glen, Miguel, Danielle, Ana Victoria!
Took a cab and had a drink at La Trattoria: El Faro Blanco. A must see!!!!!! Gorgeous!
So many good restaurants in Aruba I think next time I may stay another hotel so I can try all the other restaurants but really enjoyed RIU so may return.
Only complaint is there needs to be a new system for getting a palapa on the beach. Had to be out there at 5:00 to get one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hope1Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Let me begin by saying, I was apprehensive about booking this property, after reading some of the reviews, but, a friend of mine recommended it, so, I decided to go ahead. BOY, I am glad I did!! We got there way before check in time, so, predictably, our room wasn't ready. However, the girl at the front desk said she would let housekeeping know we had arrived so that they would prepare our room, asap. In fact, she said to check back in 30 mins or so. We went to get a cold drink, and, a bite to eat at the outdoor buffet, and, our room was ready when we finished. Within an hour of our arrival in Aruba, we were in our room, and, in our swim suits. When booking I requested a room in the A building, on an upper floor, with an ocean view. I received ALL of my requests. I read, over and over, that I would have to get up early and stake out the beach or pool to get a chair or umbrella. I didn't have a problem with either, and, I never went to get one before 9am. I read that I would have to stand in long lines to make dinner reservations. Again, I didn't experience this. In fact, the hub and I would get up whenever. Flip flop our way down to the beach or pool. Get our chairs and umbrellas situated. Head over to the breakfast buffet. After eating, make our way to the reservations desk, which by now is empty, and, make our dinner reservations. We were able to secure reservations, in 2 minutes, with no hassles. We only ate in the theme restaurants twice, at Nautilus Steakhouse, and, Milano, the Italian restaurant, but, enjoyed both meals very much. Any other meals we had on property were in the indoor buffet. I preferred the indoor buffet to the outdoor because Aruba is very windy, and, there are lots of birds. Don't leave your plate unattended, or, you might just see your lunch fly away! The staff was very attentive. They restocked our fridge everyday. We always had plenty of towels, and, we had turn down service everynight. Once we came in to find a large flower covered heart made out of towels that our housekeeper, Juana, made. What a nice little touch! We had late night room service, twice. The menu is limited, but, the club sandwich was good. There are 24 hour snacks in the Sports Bar too. A couple of times, when heading to our room for the night, we'd stop in there, and, grab a chicken salad sandwich, or, fruit salad to stick in the fridge in case of late night munchies. I advise you to bring your own insulated large cup, so you don't have to go back to the bar repeatedly. Although, if you're at the pool, waitresses come over to ask if you need anything all day long. Our room was spacious, clean, and, had a beautiful view, with a balcony. That rock hard bed thing is true, but, we got a mattress pad, and, were ok. We loved Riu, and, will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors in the A Building have beautiful views of both the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JCinSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forked River, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Riu. Our room was spacious and clean with an ocean view. The staff was courteous and helpful; when we needed something, they were at our room in minutes. The waitresses around the pool consistently asked us if we wanted a beverage. We enjoyed both the pool and beach during the day and the casino and outside bar at night. There is free Wi Fi Internet access in the lobby, which was very helpful. Each room has a balcony with room for two chairs (not every hotel has this). I really was not sure if I should give the Riu a rating of 4 or 5--I actually would have picked 4.5 if I had the option! The food was plentiful and always available; it was good but not great. We enjoyed their breakfast and lunch but went to restaurants in town for dinner. The mattress in our room was as hard as a rock. (We later found out we could have asked for a mattress cover to soften it.) As another reviewer wrote, to get a hut on the beach, you have to go between 4:30-5:00 a.m. to reserve it. We ended up renting an umbrella for $25 for the one day we wanted shade. You can get chairs by the pool if you're out there by 8 or 9 a.m. Zumba by the pool was great! The music at the pool was lively; however, it was very loud and always had a Spanish or Latin flair, which grew tiresome--a variety would have been nice. I would stay at the Riu again, but my husband would like to try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ocean view was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I traveled to Aruba in March accompanying friends. This resort was an excellent choice. The all inclusive made it convenient and comfortable to stay within the hotel area for relaxation & meals and having high quality of service & food available. I did not try any of the specialty restaurants but the food at every buffet service was excellent for choices and quality. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,596 reviews
0.5 km away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,092 reviews
3.8 km away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,822 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
627 reviews
5.1 km away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Oranjestad - Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
> * Opened: summer 2007> * Situated in Palm Beach on the island of Aruba> * Two 10-story buildings, one 8-story building> * Located on the beach> * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach> * 4 km / 2.48 Miles from Oranjestad> * 700 m / 2296.7 Ft. From various shops> * 10 km / 6.21 Miles from the airport> * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, West Indies, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing