We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,829)
Filter reviews
3,829 results
Traveller rating
1,523
1,555
472
181
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,523
1,555
472
181
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bunker bar palm grill red parrot pizza ocean front stayed in building main area baby beach cunucu terrace chicken nuggets buffet restaurant onion rings a la carte restaurants dutch village beautiful beach sister resort concierge desk
Filter
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 3,829 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We just returned from our first time stay at Tamarijn with our 2 boys and had a great time. The hotel its self if nice and comfortable but not luxurious. The rooms are on the smaller side but we didn't really spend much time there anyway and the gorgeous views (from every room) facing the sunset and being steps from water made up for anything that I would maybe notice elsewhere. The resort is a low rise building sprawling across a long stretch of a beautiful beach, connecting you right to the Divi resort which you have full access to (pools, restaurants, bars, towels, activities, and games). The food is good and plentiful at both resorts: combined you have 2 buffet style restaurants (breakfast, lunch, and dinner), 5 a la carte (dinner only), and 2 bars which serve snacks (pizzas, sandwiches) all day. For the a la carte you need to make a reservation always 2 days ahead at the front desk and the line starts at 8AM so don't expect to eat at those on your first 2 nights unless they have an opening. The italian one (Paparazzi) was by far our favorite. You can walk between the resorts on the beach, a small boardwalk, or take a shuttle which runs all the time. They have activities going on at both resorts (beach soccer, zumba, yoga, swimming pool games, climbing wall - this one only opened few hours/week) so that kept us busy when we stayed in. They also have pool tables, ping-pong, giant chess, and couple other games along with bikes, kayaks, and snorkeling equipment. We missed a free bike/snorkle trip organized by the hotel only on Wednesdays which could have been fun. The schedules are not really posted in many places, probably reception desk only? The night time entertainment was ok, but nothing spectacular. The kareoke night was probably the most fun. However that is the only time we saw the pool areas somewhat crowded as that's where it takes place. During the day those areas stayed pretty empty with plenty of seats (the shaded ones do go early). The beach was never crowded. If you're like me and are deciding between the "main" Palm beach with all its huge resorts and the low-rise section where this place is, I'll compare the two. One day we walked to Palm beach with my husband to reminisce (we were there 14 years ago), thinking to see the "nicer" beach. All I can say is I was VERY happy to quickly return to our hotel. If you like the loud Miami, spring break vibe, with drunk kids and jet skis on top of you with murky waters, Palm beach is for you. However if you're looking for much more quiet, pristine beach with white sand and clear waters, stay by the low-rise area. If you like to walk or run, consider leaving your sneakers at home and run barefoot on the beach. I think jumping into the ocean after a great morning run was my favorite part of the day. As an alternative, they do have a gym with great ocean views. We did a few activities outside the hotel, like snorkeling boat tour. We chose against De Palm (which is the main company but most expensive) and went with a smaller one (forgot the name). They have a stand right by the DePalm pier on Palm beach with signs "why pay more?". The boat leaves at 1PM and cost $42 pp and $32 for kids, a little better than $69pp at DePalm, it was a lot of fun. Overall, I will definitely want to return at some point. Cons: the wifi is very spotty in all areas, the staff is hit and miss,

Room tip: The rooms on the second floor have more privacy and a balcony. The first floor rooms do not but you do walk right out onto the beach.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Eled17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We came to Aruba with my husband and 16 month old daughter, we arrive around 5pm and it was a very nice and smooth check in. Our room was a little bit far from the restaurants area but it was better this way. We went to eat dinner and the servers had little to no customer service skills but we thought they were maybe tired , but the same thing happen at breakfast, lunch and dinner at all restaurants for the whole week we stayed. We end up eating outside so we could get a better service. I don't know if their employees are overworked, underpaid or Hotel management doesn't care about customer service, so what happened with "One happy island" very disappointing because it's not a cheap place to stay so you expect better customer service. Hotel location and beach were perfect for us. Great sunsets.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
9  Thank cristinaaE866PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

After returning back to the Tamarijn for the 8th time, I was very impress with all the new work that has taken place improving the whole facilities and surroundings.
The restaurant once again was of the highest standard although Gingers and the Paparazzi could slightly change the menu but still can't complain about the food.
I would totally recommend the Tamarijn if you go with a young family as there is everything there for them (kids club, pool and table tennis and plenty of water activities).
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and after a long flight all you want to do is get to the hotel and relax, so when you get checked in on the coach and get you room keys and your wrist bands and you have to do is go straight to your room when you arrive at the hotel and your luggage is usually with you 5 minutes after that. The maids at the hotel work really hard and your rooms are clean throughout on a daily basis.
I will be returning to this paradise island of Aruba and staying as the Tamarijn next year.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Jai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Stayed in room 1918 first 2 weeks in July. Requested this block and the hotel obliged.
The room was fine and was kept spotless for the 2 weeks . The aircon was very efficient , there is a safe no problems whatsoever.

The beach is excellent , the sea warm and yes its windy . Its less noticeable in the lower number blocks as from 1800 (bunker bar area) to 2500 its a long stretch and definitely stronger . The beach is quieter here and not so competitive for the 6 am lounger grabbers.. there was always palapas to spare from 1800 to 2500 . The lower numbers rooms palapas were mostly all reserved by 8am as we walked to breakfast.
People whinge about the food but the reality is that its very good with steak, salmon , tuna , mahu fish, a carvery , rotisserie chickens , fresh pasta dishes etc available at all mealtimes... if you struggle to eat here you probably need to take a reality check. Yes it gets repetitive, mainly because you are never hungry from the moment you set foot in the place .
The drinks all inc are top shelf mainly and not watered down like 99% of other resorts and the bar staff work hard and Do not serve tippers only , as has been suggested on here. Big up to Diego and Jhon ( name badge fail) top guys who work incredibly hard.

The place has a few issues , people leaving food lying around and its not cleared up quick enough , dirty plates for hours at plate stations beside the bins , unacceptable .. it gives the place a dirty feel. The chairs in the buffett need to be cleaned or recovered they are a bit hit or miss.
We walked to the Divi a few times and there is no difference in quality of anything , the buffet is smaller and less choice and we didnt notice any difference in getting served or staff attitude... infact most of the Divi folks headed to the main bar in the Tam as its busier and more atmosphere.. hence it being busy and yes sometimes you have to wait almost 5 or 10 mins to get served .. shock horror .

All in all a nice place with nice staff and i wouldnt hesitate to come back.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Fourbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Older hotel but nice. one of the best beaches we saw. but it stops there. It s an all inclusive. food is ok at best. buffet seemed to have same thing every day. Bars open latter than i have seen at other resorts.(11:00 here) ,close early . some at 6:00pm. bartenders were slow and grumpy (expect Alan at the pool) they spent way too long flirting
House keeping did the bare minimum ,never got all of our towels, they never changed the sheets(i marked them).
The grounds people were the same. cigarette butts outside of our patio for entire week. they trimmed the trees put the cuttings in a bag, and left the bag under the tree for over 4 day, right next the outdoor activity area.

Pretty much no late night staff. I went for a walk after 3:00AM found one staff member and he was asleep at the desk

music every night at the main bar. problem is it is all easy listening puts you right to sleep and you can't dance to it. But the Pirate show next door was great.

oh and they use a tour group as concierge. Depalma tours group. this arrangement stinks. long lines bad service. and they close that by 8:00 pm ever night

Room tip: Taxi is cheaper than the hotel transfrer.$9.00 just about every where and thats for up to 5 people in the taxi
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews