We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great place to bring the family, lot of space :}” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caribbean Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caribbean Holiday Apartments
Ranked #7 of 15 St. John's B&B and Inns
Antigua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to bring the family, lot of space :}”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We came to Antigua with the whole family not sure if we could all stay together and feel comfortable, but this hotel fixed all that. We had enough space to live, a place to cook and a place to do laundry...what more can you asked for. I will come back anytime i return...love it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lavern b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
3
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brades Montserrat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Over the past year or so I have stated at VCH several times, on business-related trips of about one week duration each. The last trip was at the end of March this year (2011).

The staff picked me up -- at the Vere Bird Int'l Airport and at the Deep Water Harbour for different trips [about 15 - 20 mins travel time, off peak traffic hours, at the local speed limit, roads are LH drive, 2-lane asphalt top] -- and were uniformly courteous, friendly and supportive.

The first floor [UK count] apartments have been well laid out, with a kitchenette- dining- living area leading up a flight of stairs to a double bed and adjoining shower-bath, with cable TV. A/C is provided, but screened windows allow the trade winds to do a very good job of natural ventilation for those not happy with the artificial atmosphere provided by air conditioning. Just as is in the pictures in the hotel's own web site.

Temperatures in the EC are usually low-mid 80's F during day, sinking to 70's at night.

There is a parking area, there is a gym downstairs, and the 20 or 22 buses to and from the bus station in St Johns next to the Vere Bird statue/portrait -- painted in real life colours (how the old Greek statues really were) -- pass right by the front gate; just ask for the Gym over the Bridge.

A gas station with a convenience store is around the corner, on the road to the S. Across town, there are several reasonable supermarkets. Be prepared for Caribbean -- imported and dutied -- prices on grocery items. Be prepared for the same on gas prices.

The location, beyond "Golden Grove" [IIRC] and across from Big Creek, over the Chinese Friendship Bridge, is just outside of St Johns, about 1/2 mile from the State College. The road passing by the front leads on to the South part of Antigua.

The beach is a short hike away, though I have had no reason to use it.

(Maybe I should bring a travel rod with 6 or 10 lb thin diameter line and some 1/4 oz or so shad tail baits next time -- small, Walleye size will do, from experience on a next door island, 30 miles away; and in Barbados, 300 miles away -- and try for a jack or two; a sand-bug or a bit of shrimp should pick up a small pompano or croaker or small scaled threadfin or the like in the inshore wash or the first dropoff; panfish sized and fit for the pan too. That might be a useful early morning hike. The creek under the bridge may have interesting prospects, too.)

As a former graduate student who lived on the Mona Campus UWI Ja in a very similar apt [2nd floor, UK count] and as an owner of a Strata Plan 2-BR in New Kgn Ja of similar plan, this apt is suitable for the regional or international business traveller who wants a small and conveniently located hotel rm/apt to serve as a base for business operations, or for students in an offshore school.

Suitable for short trips or fairly extended stays for students at an offshore school or the like.

GEM of TKI

PS: By now, as you can imagine, the staff are friends not just arms-length business acquaintances. Typical of the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Ask for what is available and what is deisred
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank kairosfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

We came late at night and traveled with small children. Despite lateness we were picked up at airport cheerfully and kindly and given our rooms. Our breakfast was a mixture of traditional local and international fare and was absolutely delicious. The owners are the most warm and caring people that made us feel as though we were coming to stay with friends. The rooms were spotless, the beds comfortable, and the place had a wonderful "YES! We've made it to the Island" feel.
I would recommend it without hesitation and would certainly stay there again if I ever get another chance to go to Antigua.
The Hotel is located along one of the main roads on the southwest side of the Island, and if one doesn't rent a car ( we did), public transportation is easily accessable.
A wonderful place with wonderful people!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susannek11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

My experience at Valley Creek Hotel was relaxing and enjoyable. The staff was fantastic and pleasant always willing to help.
The rooms are great, especially the fact there was a full kitchen to cook a meal.
Location. location, location, smack in the middle, especially to the beaches.
Also thanks letting my mom use the facility for my surprise birthday party on 8/13.
We will definately be staying with you in the future recommend your hotel...
Thank you very much for making my stay and trip to Antigua memorable...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charmaine38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangaf, Kuwait
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Enjoyed my stay at Valley Creek. The rooms are set up as a home away from home, with everything I needed. I highly recommend anyone to stay there and will definitely stay there again. Close to everything, safe and most of all, you can get to over 10 different beaches within 15 minutes, not to mention the local food

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
7.9 km away
3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments
2.9 km away
Inn La Galleria
Inn La Galleria
#11 of 15 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
4.9 km away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,062 reviews
3.0 km away
Caribbean Inn
Caribbean Inn
#4 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
6.9 km away
LambLion Holiday Apartments
LambLion Holiday Apartments
#5 of 19 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Holiday Apartments

Property: Caribbean Holiday Apartments
Address: Big Creek Bridge, Valley Road, St. John's 00268, Antigua (Formerly Valley Creek Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribbean Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diary, it was a delightful experience with its contemporary Caribbean flavoured rooms that painted the roles of green hills, blue skies and white clouds on the window." Caribbean Holiday Apartment, hosts a variety of rooms which carters for guests coming from anywhere in the world. They have an Antiguan room, displaying a little of their Antiguan culture. A Mango Cottage, representing one of their national fruit. They are located 10 minutes away from some of the most beautiful and breath-taking beaches and restaurants in Antigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HRS, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Caribbean Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Holiday Apartments Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing