We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
17 people are viewing this hotel
Lowest price we found
Expedia.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,240)
Filter reviews
2,240 results
Traveller rating
1,699
371
97
50
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,699
371
97
50
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cove suites palm restaurant rock cottage pelican house all inclusive plan wedding gazebo all inclusive option infinity pool cold towels rum punch kids club the general manager beach front mini bar beach bar steel band main restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 2,240 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2019

This is a tough review to write, because we had an amazing holiday and I don't want to put a negative slant on our time in Antigua (which is the most stunning place ever, we will be back).

However, Blue Waters itself needs some work. We travel quite often and, while we're not demanding people by any stretch of the imagination, we know what makes a great hotel.

We stayed in the Cove Suites, which had its own pool (shared between six other rooms). The room itself is fine, but nothing special (we would expect better for $570 a night). Internally, the resort is tired, particularly the reception areas, where the sofas are worn/marked. Externally, it is a different story. The different pools, the grounds and the sea are honestly paradise, and for us, made our holiday.

Another point to make is that some (not all) of the staff make you feel like an inconvenience. Other guests (most of whom had been to Antigua lots), said the same thing, noting that they hadn't experienced such abrupt service before.

We also had a strange experience on arrival. We sat on the balcony chairs and my partner's shorts were completely ruined from bleach that had been used on the cushions. In fairness, they offered to replace the shorts but the cushion itself was never changed, so we couldn’t sit there again.

All in all, we have completely fallen in love with Antigua, but sorry to say that I don’t think we’ll return to Blue Waters. If you care about little details, it might not be the place for you.

Date of stay: October 2019
3  Thank acomm112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Resort & Spa - Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2019

Dear acomm112,

Thank you for sharing your candid review on TripAdvisor. The team is certainly disappointed to learn that you found the Cove suites and the lobby/reception area to be tired. Both areas underwent refurbishments over the last two years and we usually get excellent feedback on the enhancements in terms of the décor and contemporary charm.
We are equally just as disappointed that you encountered surly employees, the reality is our core strength has been the natural warmth and friendliness of our employees, the team at Blue Waters is truly our greatest asset and the reason so many guest return year after year.
Nonetheless we have been committed to investing in training and development to ensure continuous improvement and high levels of service.
We are delighted that you did enjoy our pools, grounds, the beautiful sea and found the outdoors to be truly paradise. Thanks again for sharing this feedback and we hope to have you return one day.

Regards,


Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2019 via mobile

We had a week at Blue Waters in October which was our first time in Antigua.

The hotel is ok; functional and clean. The food is ok, although nothing special to say the least.

The incredible island and the people from Antigua are some of the loveliest people you’ll meet (as most who’ve been will testify) In terms of Blue Waters though, it was disappointing for me. The STUNNING scenery and the people mean I couldn’t call it less than 4 stars, though.

There are a good 40-50% of the staff who don’t seem overly happy there, sometimes the service was more than underwhelming and the buildings and interior are tired. None of it feels like luxury until you look at the sea view.

Other little things are frustrating like calling all the pools ‘infinity pools’ when actually there’s a lot of overgrown grass and a huge bush in between the private pools and the sea view (meaning it is just a ‘full’ pool not an ‘infinity’ as you can’t see the sea from being in the private pool)

We had a lovely holiday and don’t regret going to Blue Waters in the slightest. As I said, it was ok. Would we go back - in the nicest way; absolutely not.

Date of stay: October 2019
2  Thank OJN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Resort & Spa - Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2019

Dear OJN8,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, this is truly appreciated. We are sorry to hear that the resort didn’t fully meet your expectations, however we have invested in modernising our resort over the last few years.
We actually closed in 2017 as part of this upgrade where many structural and product enhancements were made to our public areas, gym, spa, pools, rooms and suites. In addition many of our employees have been with us for many years and we all view them as part of a big family, we even have named bars (Carolyn’s & Veronica’s) and restaurants (Bartley's) after some of our long standing employees.
The goal is to create a culture of continuous improvement and we have set out to do so through continuous training of our employees and upgrades to our physical product.
Thanks for your comments and we are still extremely happy to hear that you had a lovely holiday without any regrets.

Regards,

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2019

Currently staying in the Hotel & the quality is superb. We’re in a one bedroom suite literally yards from the beach & the views are fantastic. Hotel feels pretty quiet just now so plenty sun beds available around the pools & on the beach.
Staff all over the hotel are very friendly & get to know your names & what you drink! Very personal service which is a credit to the hotel.
Beautiful location & if you’re after some peace , quiet & relaxation the hotel delivers on all fronts.
Eaten at all 3 restaurants & the choice & quality are very good.
If you are in a suite the concierge, Karen who is brilliant, books the restaurants for you in advance.
Mini bar in the room is a bonus & restocked every day.
All in all great hotel , great location & the staff really make the difference.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Howreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Resort & Spa - Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

Dear Howreal,

Thank you for posting your comments for us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at our resort and were able to experience the natural charms and services that makes us special.

We hope we can look forward to your return very soon!

Regards,


Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019

We celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary at Blue Waters, having got married there 30 Years ago. We had an amazing time, the staff were extremely attentive and the hotel is beautiful! Thoroughly recommended.

Room tip: Go for a beach front room
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rospin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Resort & Spa - Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

Dear Rospin123,

We were delighted to have hosted you for two very special occasions. May we congratulate you once again on such a wonderful milestone and for returning to us to share this memory. Your kind words are very much appreciated and we hope to see you again very soon.

Regards,

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2019

I have struggled for some time now since our last to come up with something novel to say about Blue Waters, given that notwithstanding our travels throughout the rest of the world (nine different countries so far this year!) we have returned every year since 2013, and I have written various reviews of this wonderful resort.
Perhaps, the fact that we have been six years in a row says more than mere words can about how much we enjoy the resort and the wonderful accommodation of the Cove Suites; the restaurants (especially The Cove); the beautiful grounds, and above all, the fabulous staff, who are undoubtedly Blue Water's greatest asset and make each visit so special.
We have booked to return for a seventh time next month!

Room tip: If your budget runs to it, go for The Cove Suites.
Date of stay: November 2018
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeBaronRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWTeam, Managing Director at Blue Waters Resort & Spa - Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

Dear LeBaronRouge,

Thank you for your long standing patronage to our resort, we look forward to each and every one of your return visits. Your kind words are very much appreciated and the team are looking forward to visit number 7!

Kind regards,


Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews