We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,323)
Filter reviews
2,323 results
Traveller rating
644
881
429
206
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
881
429
206
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warri pier carib bar pier restaurant arawak terrace poolside room aqua aerobics dickenson bay three star rex resorts shirley heights beautiful beach some tlc great holiday coconut grove a bit tired steel band sister hotel
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 2,323 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

The rooms are extremely dated and need a total refurb but their were positives to our stay. Most of the staff were delightful and very helpful, although the manager was very rude to our group.
We did not arrive until 7pm and none of our rooms were ready as well as a big party of BA staff. They stopped doing our check in and checked all the BA staff in first. Fenton sorted it out for us and took us all to our rooms.
The food was amazing and could not criticise in any way. Also the drinks and cocktails were excellent.
There was a band one night but all the other activities didn’t happen.
The rooms really are terrible and one of our group had an extra single bed in the room when they arrived with piles of dirty linen on it! Some showers didn’t work and fans hanging off the ceiling. Linen was very worn and stained.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
4  Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlene M, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Dear Julia G,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent vacation and for taking the time to post a review. We are happy you found most of our staff to be delightful and very helpful as well as our food amazing with excellent cocktails; however we are disappointed with the start to your vacation and must apologize for the inconvenience caused by the delay in getting your group to the rooms. The Front Desk Supervisor with whom you communicated, ask that your party have a seat while they check-in the other guests, was out of necessity because, unfortunately, we had no record of your reservations. We are sorry you did not bring the concerns with the rooms to our attention which would allow us the opportunity to sort it out during your stay.

It appear as though you missed our live entertainment which included a steel band on Saturday night, Karaoke on Tuesday night and a dance band on Friday night. The other nights entertainment is done by our in-house DJ. Our daily activities are posted on notice boards around the property.

We trust you will give us another opportunity to serve you when next in our area.

Kind regards
Arlene Marsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

The reviews we read prior to our holiday were somewhat interesting and I can safely say that the negative reviews are very unfair! I can’t even imagine what kind of people must write them. Halcyon cove truly is a taste of authentic Antigua. If you want a comfortable, rustic and Caribbean experience in three star accommodation then look no further.

We stayed in a pool room view as requested. We were greeted on arrival with a cold flannel, rum punch and porter service. The room itself has everything you could need... a comfortable bed, chairs, balcony, air conditioning, tea making facilities, a fridge, free WiFi and a tv with some pretty decent channels. Although the bathroom was a bit dated with the occasional odd smell, the shower was good- there was only one day where we didn’t have hot water which was dealt with promptly. There was complementary soap, shampoo and a shower cap and towels were changed when needed. Free use of a safe proved invaluable (no pun intended!). Housekeeping was more than satisfactory. The only downside of the room was that mosquitoes seemed to accumulate rapidly in the bathroom, how they got in was unclear! This meant some regular mosquito massacres however the air conditioning seemed to keep them at bay and we rarely saw them in the main bedroom.

The food was outstanding. The main restaurant had a good choice of food and regularly served fantastic carveries. On Easter Sunday there was roast dinner, including pork and turkey. The meat was cooked to perfection. The lunch bar had a good selection of light foods as well as grilled meats. Warri pier was superb, it was a romantic experience dining on the pier and being able to watch the huge king mackerel leaping about from the sea. Although the dining was particularly busy over the Easter weekend, the rest of the time there was a very relaxed vibe and plenty of food and choice available. On Saturdays there is a BBQ at the beach bar accompanied by a steel band which was brilliant. Again, the only negative thing was the annoying mosquitos. Once or twice the hotel put out citronella candles which was very effective, if they were to do this every night then this would make things better. Mosquitos are obviously annoying, it is definitely not the fault of Halcyon that they exist however use of candles would help. I did get bitten quite badly but wonderful Roxanne gave me some Aloe Vera leaves to rub on the bites which was very effective. It turns out aloe is a bit of a miracle cure for most things! The small black birds and brown pigeons that previous reviewers have complained about were charming. Of course they would wait until people had eaten to collect any scraps, but they were not an annoyance by any means and it was interesting to watch some of their behaviours. They were not bold or aggressive although coming from the south coast of England, I guess I am used to sea gulls!

Entertainment was good fun, there were things going on most nights including live bands, karaoke and DJ. There were daytime activities you could also get involved in such as beach cricket, football and pool volleyball.

The gardens and pool area were beautifully kept, you could tell how hardworking the staff were. We had no issues with the towel exchange service. You could often see hummingbirds feeding from the flowers if you were patient enough. The beach is stunning... white sand and beautiful turquoise water, pure paradise. Yes there is seaweed but anyone who thinks this is a negative thing clearly doesn’t understand that all life depends on photosynthetic organisms and you would not have such a beautiful ocean/beach/planet without it. What a ridiculously human mentality it is that seaweed spoils our idea of perfection. The beach vendors were present on most days and were friendly, not annoying. Just trying to make a living and to let you know that they were there if you wanted anything. A simple ‘no thanks’ was all that was needed, but it was nice to have a conversation with the locals regardless as they have very interesting stories to tell. There seemed to be enough sun beds for all most of the time. You have to get up early for a sun shade but there is a shaded area towards the end of the beach which is not far. Sun beds were only really an issue over the busy Easter weekend... admittedly some of them are not in the best state but there are also brand new ones. Almost every day we had a new sun bed and most of the time we found shade if we needed it.

The drinks and cocktails from the beach bar were excellent. A wonderful accompaniment to a relaxing afternoon on the beach. Service was good. We were invited to the manager’s cocktail party at Warri pier on the Tuesday along with other guests who were celebrating special occasions (it was my fiancé’s birthday plus we were also celebrating our recent engagement). This was very pleasant, especially as the sun was setting.

We took a taxi to St John’s on Saturday, it was very reasonably priced and reliable. St. John’s itself was a great experience of some local culture, markets and a very huge impressive cruise ship. We also went to Shirley Heights on the shuttle service arranged by the hotel. The views are unbelievable and the night was quite possibly one of the best parties I have been to! There was a festival vibe including a steel orchestra, live band, great food, drinks, the nicest rum punch I have sampled yet and the most beautiful sunset. This trip is definitely not to be missed.

Special mentions to Rosa, Eggbert, Julian and Margareet for all round excellent customer service.

This holiday has been fantastic value for money. You get far more than what you pay for in my opinion, I would gladly come back to Halcyon again and I am so glad I got to experience authentic Antigua. Thank you Halcyon Cove!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
13  Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlene M, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Sophie S,

The Halcyon Cove by rex resorts Team takes this opportunity to thank you for choosing our resort for your recent vacation and for taking the time to post a detailed review of your stay on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know the holiday was fantastic value for money and wait your return visit with great anticipation.



Kind regards
Arlene Marsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We were here for about a week with another family and we had a lovely stay. Our room faced the pool with a walkout patio door. The room was clean, safe worked fine, air conditioner worked perfectly and our bathroom was clean. Our housekeeper did a great job with our room every day.The food was good with enough variety for the 6 of us. We had dinner one night at the warri pier and it was fine.The beach was great and the water was nice and I did get up at 6am to get up a umbrella spot on the beach. Overall, we had a wonderful stay at the Halcoyn cove and we will come back again.

Room Tip: pool view room
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank twongdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlene M, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Valued Guests,

It was indeed a pleasure being of service to you, we are delighted to know you had a wonderful stay and look forward with great anticipation to your return visit.

Kind regards
Arlene Marsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Hi we stayed here for 2 wks, beach is lovely although a lot of weed because of tidal surge the wk before. Room had a lovely view out to sea and was clean. Food was very average but ok except the lunch time set up was ridiculous and very limited. Staff mostly friendly but a few obviously didn’t like their job. This hotel could be really lovely, come on Rex group give it a makeover,u know it makes sense.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlene M, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Carolyn,

Greetings from the Team at Halcyon Cove by rex resorts. We are happy you enjoyed our lovely beach which is back to normal after that week of very unusual tidal surge as well as the view from the room. Your comments on the food and staff was discussed with the management team to ensure improvements.

It was a pleasure having you with us, we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back when next in Antigua.

Kind regards
Arlene Marsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

We were so glad we chose to stay at Halcyon Cove, we were a little concerned having read some of the reviews but we need not have worried.

Our room was an Ocean view which was large with a balcony overlooking the sea to one side and the pool to the other. The bathroom was a bit tired and in need of some painting and updating, but we only had one night out of 14 when there was no hot water. The room was kept clean with clean towels when we wanted.

The Arawak Terrace had a good choice for breakfast and dinner, lunch was at the Carib bar again a reasonable choice. Our first week we had a couple of days where there were long queues for the Arawak Terrace and we had quite a long wait before being seated, but they sorted this out by getting some extra staff. We ate at the Warri Pier twice which made a nice change from the buffet.

The beach is lovely and we would walk the length of the bay most days. When we arrived there was a lot of sea weed being washed up on the beach but the staff worked hard every day clearing the weed. The pool is small but adequate for the numbers as we never saw more than 6 people in it at any time. There are plenty of loungers on the beach and round the pool if you want a sun shade you have to get up early as people are claiming their spot at around 6.00am!! We always managed to find shade under a tree or by the wall at beach.

There was little in the way of entertainment and it was finished by 10.30pm - 11.00pm,which suited us
.
Most of the staff were happy and friendly, and always ready to help if needed. The resort is a 3 star, you can not expect 4 or 5 star for the price. Yes it does look a bit tired in places and could do with some upgrading, but it is a small relaxed resort, it was our first visit to Antigua and we would quite happily book the Halcyon Cove again.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank 59bin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaan T, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Our Team at Halcyon Cove is very glad you choose to stay with us and wish to thank you for posting a review of your stay on TripAdvisor, it was indeed a pleasure to be of service.

We are looking forward with pleasure to your next visit.

Kind regards
Arlene Marsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews